Julie Hachey

Year: 2017 — Province: New Brunswick

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Julie Hachey

Centre de jour l'Éveil
18 avenue Antonine-Maillet
Moncton, New Brunswick E1A 3E9

Telephone: 506-858-4270
Email: eveil@umoncton.ca

Type of setting: Francophone preschool

Julie Hachey is a francophone educator in a minority setting who encourages the children to develop a sense of belonging and who helps them discover opportunities available to them in French.

Philosophy of care

Her approach is to stimulate their curiosity by helping them to develop many abilities. She encourages her staff to apply the "I imagine…" strategy as laid out in the Quality preschooler services of New Brunswick.

Support of child development

  • Invites nursing students to the classroom so they can give health-related presentations to the children – such as "How to wash your hands". Music students have also been invited so they can show the children their musical instruments.
  • The "Parlons sciences/Let's talk science" group has organized presentations related to magnetism, waves, liquids and various animal habitats.
  • During Francophone Pride Week, Julie organizes many activities relating to the francophone and Acadian identities: an outing to see a French NFB film and invites four young authors form the region.
  • She promotes the French language among entitled preschoolers by using the continuum language path and by providing their families with the tools necessary to a successful education and identity-building.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Participates in the community garden on the University campus during the summer months to introduce the children to the art of gardening and good nutrition.
  • Ms. Hachey is involved in many projects, among them, the South Francophone Childhood Network, as well as the Education Cursus Committee, a 90-hour course which will be made available to other teachers in the province.
  • She is very active in Continuing Education, for which she won a $1,000 prize from the School District in order to attend a 2-week training session in Quebec City, with the Canadian Association for French Education to better understand concepts related to identity-building in preschool education.

Rave reviews

"Julie Hachey, who has a B.Ed. in early childhood education, knows the importance of reading for preschoolers. She is always on the lookout for books and authors who make preschoolers want to explore the world. She animates and plans literary activities at school which will provoke the imagination and the children's curiosity. It's easy to see that once they're at school, they've already acquired a taste for reading and really know the contents of their book. They also have acquired the ability in pre-reading that will prepare them for reading."

Former colleague

"This young woman is a rare pearl in the early childhood education world and we're very lucky that she's among the workers responsible for supporting the development of our two little girls."

Parent
Date modified:

Julie Hachey

Année : 2017 — Province : Nouveau Brunswick

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Julie Hachey

Centre de Jour l'Éveil
18 avenue Antonine-Maillet
Moncton, New Brunswick E1A 3E9

Téléphone : 506-858-4270
Courriel : eveil@umoncton.ca

Type d'établissement : Service de garde préscolaire francophone

Julie Hachey est une directrice francophone d'un service de garde en milieu minoritaire qui encourage les enfants à développer un sentiment d'appartenance à leur culture en plus de leur faire découvrir les possibilités qui s'offrent à eux en français.

Philosophie de la garde

L'approche planifiée de Mme Hachey stimule la curiosité des enfants en les aidant à développer de nombreuses compétences. Elle encourage son personnel à appliquer la stratégie « J'imagine… » de la Qualité des services de garde éducatifs francophones du Nouveau Brunswick.

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • Accueille des étudiants de différentes facultés du campus de l'Université de Moncton dont les étudiants en sciences infirmières et en nutrition pour que ceux-ci puissent animer des activités aux enfants par rapport à la santé — comme par exemple, « Comment se laver les mains » ou encore une activité de découverte sur une bonne alimentation dans le cadre du mois de la nutrition.
  • Invite le groupe « Parlons sciences/Let's talk science » qui anime des démonstrations liées aux liquides et aux différents habitats des animaux.
  • Lors de la semaine provinciale de la fierté française, Julie organise plusieurs activités liées à l'identité francophone et acadienne des enfants : sortie au cinéma pour visionner un film francophone de l'ONF et invitation de quatre auteures jeunesse de la région
  • Favorise l'approche de la francisation préscolaire chez les enfants ayant-droits en utilisant le continuum du cheminement langagier tout en outillant les familles pour viser la réussite éducative, le mieux-être et la construction identitaire;

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Participe au jardin communautaire du campus universitaire pendant l'été afin d'initier les enfants à l'art du jardinage et d'une saine alimentation.
  • La directrice s'implique dans plusieurs projets dont le Réseau de la petite enfance francophone Sud ainsi qu'au comité de révision du curriculum éducatif, cours de 90 heures, qui sera bientôt offert aux éducatrices de la province.
  • S'investit beaucoup dans la formation continue. Elle s'est d'ailleurs méritée une bourse de 1000$ du district scolaire pour pouvoir suivre une formation de deux semaines à Québec avec l'Association canadienne d'éducation de la langue française (ACELF) pour mieux s'outiller sur le concept de la construction identitaire dans le domaine de l'éducation à la petite enfance.

Commentaires élogieux

« Julie Hachey, qui détient un baccalauréat en éducation primaire, connait l'importance de la lecture chez les enfants d'âge préscolaire. Elle est toujours à la recherche de livres, et d'auteurs à faire découvrir aux enfants qui fréquentent la garderie. Elle anime ou planifie des activités littéraires qui font imaginer, inventer ou piquer la curiosité des enfants. Il est facile de voir qu'une fois qu'ils entrent à l'école, ils ont développé un goût à la lecture et qu'ils connaissent bien un livre. Ils détiennent aussi des habiletés de pré-lecture qui les préparent à la lecture. »

Ancienne collègue

« Cette jeune femme est une perle rare dans le monde de la petite enfance et nous sommes très chanceux de la compter parmi les intervenants responsables de soutenir le développement de nos deux petites filles. »

Parent
Date de modification :