Language selection


Archived — Prime Minister Honours Teachers Who Help Students Build Skills for the Future

May 10, 2000
Ottawa, Ontario

Prime Minister Jean Chrétien today announced the 1999-2000 recipients of the Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence (PMA) at a gala event on Parliament Hill in honour of national level winners. Sixteen teachers from across Canada received national recognition from Prime Minister Chrétien who congratulated them on helping students develop the skills and attitudes required for a successful future.

"The world students enter when they leave school today is bigger, faster and more competitive than ever before," said the Prime Minister. "New technologies have conquered time and distance and change now occurs in the blink of an eye. The teachers we honour tonight have embraced this challenge. Through their creativity and tremendous enthusiasm for learning, they have prepared students not only to make it in the world, but also to help make it a better world."

This year's award recipients teach many different subjects to different grades and differing levels of ability. Subjects taught range from astronomy to auto mechanics. Many work with kids "at risk" and have been successful in helping these students stay in school and go on to further studies and careers. A common theme is the innovative use of information and communications technologies (ICT). Almost 75 per cent of the 1999-2000 recipients use some form of ICT to enrich their teaching practices.

The Prime Minister was joined at the ceremony by the Honourable Ron J. Duhamel, Secretary of State (Western Economic Diversification) and (Francophonie) along with representatives of the program's current corporate partners: Bell Canada, GE Canada, Kraft Canada, Microsoft Canada and the Royal Bank Financial Group. Dr. Duhamel thanked these corporations for their renewed commitment to the program and welcomed a new PMA partner, Canadian Learning Television.

The Prime Minister was also joined by Mariles Rettig, President of the Canadian Teachers' Federation, who stressed the importance of sharing what outstanding teachers have learned with other educators. She highlighted a new partnership with the Prime Minister's Awards called "Sharing Teaching Excellence." This resource bank will help schools, boards and other educational organizations bring in PMA or Roy C. Hill award recipients to share their best practices. The latest PMA Exemplary Practices publication was also released at the event.

A total of 66 awards were announced at the ceremony (16 national and 50 local). Awards are worth $5,000 at the national level and $1,000 at the local level. Funds are given to winning teachers' schools to be spent under the direction of the recipient. Highlights about the 1999-2000 PMA award winners are attached.

For more details, please contact the PMA Program Office at: 1-800-575-9200 or visit the PMA website.

PMO Press Office: 613-957-5555
Industry Canada: 613-998-7168

Date modified: