Archived — 2013 Exemplary Practices

Exemplary Practices 2013
Welcome Image banner showcasing various students and excellence winners

2013 marked the 20th anniversary of the Prime Minister's Awards (PMA) for Teaching Excellence. Running in parallel, since 2002, the PMAs for Excellence in Early Childhood Education (ECE) have honoured remarkable educators from across Canada. This incredible journey has involved over 1,600 award recipients from all provinces and territories, five prime ministers, more than 1,200 schools and centres, thousands of students, and an unquantifiable amount of passion and dedication that has already been passed on to another generation. Highlights of this two decades-long celebration of excellence in education can be found in a short video.

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence honour outstanding and innovative elementary and secondary school teachers in all disciplines who instil in their students a love of learning and who utilize information and communications technologies to better equip them with the knowledge and skills needed to excel in a 21st century society and economy. The Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Early Childhood Education honour exceptional ECEs who excel at fostering the early development and socialization of the children in their care, and at helping build the foundation young children need to make the best possible start in life. Each recipient's biography highlights the innovative practices of some of Canada's most inspirational educators.

Educators may receive one of two Prime Minister's Awards: the Certificate of Excellence (national) and the Certificate of Achievement (regional). Certificate of Excellence winners are brought to Ottawa to receive their award from the Prime Minister and to participate in a variety of activities, perhaps most importantly, to share their innovative ideas and best teaching practices.

This sharing takes place in a forum open to other educators called "Teacher Talk". Topics for discussion are drawn from recipient's nomination packages and are based on what they feel are their best and most transferable teaching practices. Reflecting the growing trend in Canada toward integration, recipients of both the PMA for Teaching Excellence and for Excellence in Early Childhood Education took part in the same forum this year. Topics for 2013 were: Using Technology to Connect and Empower; Teaching to Inspire and Engage; Enabling Success in all Students; The Language of Learning; and, Teaching beyond the Classroom. Summaries of these best practices, as well as links for the resources these educators use regularly in their classrooms and childcare centres can be found in this publication.

As unique as each of the 2013 recipients are, what they all share in common is a tremendous passion for teaching and an incredible commitment to the students and children in their care. The final speaker of the day, teaching excellence recipient Gina Wong, summed up her fellow speaker's stories with the following found poem drawn from their presentations:

Everything worth doing is worth doing well.
Teachers are facilitators and co-learners.
Teaching is more than the outcomes.
If they don't learn the way you teach, teach the way they learn.
Give respect to get respect.
Inspire and explore to promote cognitive discussions.
Do not be afraid to try something new: take big bold risks in your own learning.
See the kids in front of you.
Kids have inspired me to connect more with others and to bring fun things to them.
"There but for the grace of God go I".
My learning is incorporated into my students' learning.
Educational empowerment by putting needs of students first.

Create a living classroom by creating a sense of belonging.
Every child has a soul - celebrate the moments that take your breath away.
A place to share language lives in a multicultural and multilingual society.
Find their voice through their lived experience.
They gave me the confidence.
Teach from the heart to touch the hearts of the students.
Learning goes beyond the classroom and creates memories.
Value the voice in the learning and the vehicles of learning.
Make a change in the community.
Find passion in their lives and joy in the journey.

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence and Excellence in Early Childhood Education are administered by Industry Canada in partnership with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada, Health Canada, The Public Health Agency of Canada, and with the generous support of the RBC Foundation. For information about this program, its partners and recipients, please contact the program office.

Articles Gabriel Roman Ayyavoo

Gabriel Roman Ayyavoo

Exploratory Learning in the 21st Century: Inspiring Cognitive Presence in Education
As a nature lover, I endured the territorial wing smack by Pteropodidae, the black flying fox (bat) in Malaysia and survived the defensive bite by giant venous scolopendra (centipedes) on an island in the South China Sea. In my Cuban dives, nematocyst stings by millepora complanata (fire corals) increased my painful appreciation for aquatic camouflage. …Continue reading.


Richard Baker

Richard Baker

Teachers, Things You Already Know
500 words to outline best teaching practices, is a tough task. After 35 years of teaching from grade three through to grade 11, there are a few things that come to mind. My reflections will not be new to you, but may help to validate what you already do in your classrooms. You are the expert. You know that even well thought-out plans may have to be scrapped to deal with what faces you at 1:57 p.m. in your classroom. …Continue reading.


Leigh Brown

Leigh Brown

Teaching in the Oral Tradition
What are we going to do for "I Love to Read" month? This simple question started our whole school on a journey of exploration that took five months, and ended with many of our students becoming published authors. As part of our school's cultural mandate, students and staff participate regularly in Aboriginal traditional ceremonies, including pipe ceremonies, sweat lodges, and sharing circles. …Continue reading.


Gérald Charron

Gérald Charron

My passion, the project method of teaching
What I especially like about being a teacher is that not only do I get to educate the adults of tomorrow, I learn right along with them. The project method of teaching satisfies my desire to acquire knowledge and skills with my students. Every challenge is an opportunity to better myself, and I love instilling this taste for adventure in my students. …Continue reading.


Aviva Dunsiger

Aviva Dunsiger

Education for All: Closing the Achievement Gap with the Use of Technology
How do you reach students that struggle? As a teacher, I'm committed to teaching all students how to learn, and that often includes students that have experienced academic difficulties in the past. The purposeful use of technology allows me to close the achievement gap and ensure academic success for every student. …Continue reading.


Angelina Fabien

Angelina Fabien

It's a matter of heart…
I am a Chipewyan Language Instructor at Deninu School, a small K to 12 school located in Fort Resolution, Northwest Territories. When I was first hired, none of my students spoke the Chipewyan language, the ancestral language of the community. Fort Resolution was home to one of Canada's first Residential Schools and through this experience, many of the parents and grandparents of my students had lost their language. …Continue reading.


Adrian French

Adrian French

Building Historical Empathy and Engagement in the Classroom
How could a high school student ever begin to empathize with a soldier in the trenches of the First World War? This question drove me to explore the potential of a cross-curricular approach for my high school students. A project-based approach to curriculum can build historical empathy and increases engagement in his classroom. …Continue reading.


Viviane Gaudreault

Viviane Gaudreault

Infusing Authentic Self-Acceptance - and a Risk Taking I Can Do Creative Cooperative Spirit in the Young Developing Student - Are We Up to the Task?
The teaching pedagogy topic that I have selected addresses childhood emotional development and the need for preparing the young student to effectively operate in an unfamiliar competitive environment with others, and in a manner that enables each student, with a fully acknowledged entitlement, to explore themselves, their particular abilities, and learning opportunities in their rapidly changing and stressful world. …Continue reading.


James Brian Jackson

James Brian Jackson

Get Them Out of Their Seats
The things that we want our students to remember from their years in school aren't always the lessons that we share with them with the teacher at the front and the kids taking notes and answering questions. While the writing and the reflection is important, the things they really hang onto are the times they have been engaged away from their desk. …Continue reading.


Vernon Kee

Vernon Kee

How to Do More without Burning Out
They say teachers are most likely to quit from burnout in the first five years of their career. Usually these teachers are the ones who take on too much, either from the great needs they see in their community or in their own drive to do their best. As one who constantly pushes the boundary for burnout, I can definitely say that the following three things have helped me survive my first five years of teaching: …Continue reading.


Janey (Min-Wah) Lee

Janey (Min-Wah) Lee

Engaging Hard to Reach Inner City Learners
Fifteen years ago I started teaching at Thunderbird Elementary School, a needy inner city school on Vancouver's east side, and directly across the street from the largest social housing project in British Columbia. Students come from immigrant families, are refugees, or come from single parent households. Many are on social assistance and living in poverty. …Continue reading.


Margaret Murphy

Margaret Murphy

Inspiring Students to Achieve Their Full Potential
My goal as a teacher was to inspire youth to achieve their greatest potential within a community of dedicated mentors who could guide their way. I taught in an unusual classroom—a teaching cafeteria—in 1989 there were 12 special needs students and a kitchen staff preparing lunch for 80 people. …Continue reading.


Maria Nickel

Maria Nickel

Space Jam - Dare to Think Mighty Dreams
How does a teacher inspire a generation of science enthusiasts through real-life, hands-on space science? My answer is a space jam of unique, learning, exploration and being a real scientist in real time. My focus will be on the programs I run at school: the Space Knights Space Club and the Student Spaceflight Experiment Program. …Continue reading.


Kristen Sawyers

Kristen Sawyers

Learning Through Hands-on Experiences for Students and the Teacher
Teaching in Nunavut has afforded me many unique opportunities and experiences as an educator. Incorporating Inuit traditions, and culture through the Inuuqatigiit curriculum, have shown me the value of teaching beyond the classroom walls. My professional practice has evolved to incorporate land-based learning, project-based learning, and volunteer travel. …Continue reading.


Gregory Smith

Gregory Smith

Cross-cultural Connections in the Digital Age
Facebook, Twitter, e-mail, and blogging are all are ways in which our students use the Internet everyday to make connections within their own circle of family and friends. But how much are they used to make connections with the world outside? We assume that this technology has led to a more global village where our children are more aware of world events and more accepting and understanding of various cultures. Is this really what is happening? …Continue reading.


Gina Wong

Gina Wong

Building Foundations: Global Citizenship begins in Kindergarten
All students can be successful in their learning. Young children can be active citizens who can contribute to their community and beyond. Young children are encouraged to take ownership of their learning and to share their knowledge with the whole class through class presentations, in small groups as emerging readers, and with individuals through peer feedback in writing. …Continue reading.

Resources

Online tools/communities

Organizations

Software and Applications

  • AudioBoo
  • Dragon Dictation
  • Facetime
  • KidPix
  • Pixie 3
  • PixnTell
  • Toontastic
  • Word Q

Blogs

Partners

RBC Foundation
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Date modified:

Archivé — Pratiques exemplaires 2013

Pratiques exemplaires 2013
Bienvenue Bannière avec diverses images d'étudiants et lauréats

L'année 2013 a marqué le 20e anniversaire des Prix du Premier ministre (PPM) pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement. Depuis 2002, parallèlement à ce programme, les PPM pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance (EPE) ont rendu hommage à des éducateurs remarquables de partout au Canada. Ces vingt merveilleuses années ont vu défiler 1 600 lauréats de toutes les provinces et territoires, cinq premiers ministres, plus de 1 200 écoles et centres, des milliers d'élèves, sans compter la passion et le dévouement inestimables qui ont déjà été transmis à une autre génération. Découvrez les faits saillants de ces deux décennies de célébration de l'excellence en éducation dans notre vidéoclip sommaire.

Les Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement rendent hommage à des enseignants exceptionnels et innovateurs de toutes les disciplines, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, qui insufflent à leurs élèves le goût d'apprendre et qui utilisent les technologies de l'information et des communications pour mieux les préparer en les aidant à acquérir les compétences dont ils auront besoin pour exceller dans une société et une économie du XXIe siècle. Les Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance rendent hommage aux éducateurs exceptionnels de la petite enfance qui excellent dans l'art de favoriser le développement et la socialisation des jeunes enfants qui leur sont confiés et dans l'art d'aider les enfants à acquérir les connaissances de base dont ils auront besoin au cours de leur vie. La biographie des lauréats décrit les activités novatrices de certains des éducateurs les plus inspirants du Canada.

Les éducateurs sont admissibles à l'un des deux prix du premier ministre : le Certificat d'excellence (à l'échelle nationale) et le Certificat d'honneur (à l'échelle régionale). Les lauréats d'un Certificat d'excellence sont invités à Ottawa pour y recevoir leur prix du premier ministre et pour participer à de nombreuses activités et, c'est probablement là le plus important, pour partager leurs idées novatrices et leurs pratiques exemplaires de l'enseignement.

Ce partage s'effectue sous forme de tribune ouverte aux autres éducateurs appelée « Paroles d'enseignants ». Les sujets de discussion sont tirés de la trousse de mise en candidature des lauréats et s'inspirent de ce qu'ils estiment leurs meilleures pratiques d'enseignement. Cette année, pour suivre la tendance croissante de la notion d'intégration au Canada, les lauréats des PPM pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement et pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance ont participé à la même tribune. En 2013, les sujets de discussion étaient les suivants : utiliser la technologie pour tisser des liens et renforcer l'autonomie, enseigner pour inspirer et mobiliser, favoriser la réussite chez tous les élèves, la langue de l'apprentissage et enseigner au-delà de la salle de classe. Vous trouverez dans la présente publication un résumé des pratiques exemplaires ainsi que des liens vers les ressources qu'utilisent régulièrement les éducateurs dans leur classe et dans leur centre de la petite enfance.

Malgré l'unicité de chacun des lauréats de 2013, ils partagent tous une grande passion pour l'enseignement et font preuve d'un engagement exceptionnel à l'égard des élèves et des enfants qui leur sont confiés. La dernière intervenante de la journée, la lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence Gina Wong, s'est inspiré du vécu de ses collègues pour créer le poème suivant :

Tout ce qui mérite d'être fait mérite d'être bien fait.
Les enseignants sont des facilitateurs et des apprenants.
L'enseignement est plus qu'une question de résultats.
S'ils n'apprennent pas ce que tu leur enseignes, enseigne de la façon dont ils apprennent.
Le respect appelle le respect.
Inspire et explore pour favoriser des discussions cognitives.
Il ne faut pas craindre d'essayer de nouvelles choses : prends de bons gros risques pour ton propre apprentissage.
Porte attention aux enfants devant toi.
Les enfants m'incitent à nouer des liens avec les autres et à leur présenter des choses amusantes.
« Cela aurait pu être moi. »
Ton propre apprentissage est lié à celui de tes élèves. L'autonomisation par l'éducation met les besoins des élèves à l'avant-plan.

Crée une classe vivante en créant un sentiment d'appartenance.
Chaque enfant a une âme - célèbre les moments mémorables.
Une société multiculturelle et multilingue se doit de garder les langues vivantes.
Veille à ce qu'ils trouvent leur voix dans leur propre vécu.
Ils te donnent confiance.
Enseigne avec ton cœur et tu toucheras le cœur de tes élèves.
Enseigne au-delà de la classe et tu créeras des souvenirs.
Valorise la voix dans ton enseignement et les moyens d'apprentissage.
Fais une différence dans la communauté.
Insuffle la passion dans leur vie et met de la joie dans leur cheminement.

Les Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement et pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance sont administrés par Industrie Canada en partenariat avec Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada, Santé Canada, l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, et grâce au généreux soutien de la Fondation RBC. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce programme, ses partenaires et les lauréats, veuillez rejoindre le bureau des Prix du Premier ministre.

Articles Gabriel Roman Ayyavoo

Gabriel Roman Ayyavoo

L'apprentissage exploratoire au XXIe siècle : inspirer la présence cognitive en éducation
En tant qu'amant de la nature, j'ai été exposé au coup d'aile territorial des Pteropodidés, les chauves-souris « black flying fox » de Malaisie, et survécu à la morsure défensive des scolopendres géantes (centipèdes) sur une île en mer de Chine méridionale. Au cours de mes excursions de plongée cubaines, des piqûres de néamatocystes du corail de feu Millepora m'ont fait découvrir dans des circonstances douloureuses le camouflage aquatique. …Continuez la lecture


Richard Baker

Richard Baker

Ce que tout enseignant devrait savoir
Décrire en 500 mots les pratiques exemplaires d'un enseignant n'est pas une mince tâche. Après 35 ans d'enseignement de la 3e à la 11e année, quelques exemples me viennent à l'esprit. Mes remarques ne vous apprendront rien, mais pourraient vous aider à valider ce que vous faites déjà dans votre classe. C'est vous l'expert. Vous n'êtes pas sans savoir que même les plans les mieux conçus risquent de devoir être abandonnés pour faire face à un imprévu à 13 h 57. …Continuez la lecture


Leigh Brown

Leigh Brown

L'apprentissage de la tradition orale
Que ferons-nous pour le mois de la lecture? Cette simple question a lancé l'école tout entière dans un voyage d'exploration qui a duré cinq mois et au terme duquel plusieurs de nos élèves sont devenus des auteurs publiés. Conformément au mandat de l'école, les élèves et le personnel participent régulièrement à des cérémonies autochtones traditionnelles, dont la cérémonie du calumet, la cérémonie de la suerie et les cercles de partage, au cours desquelles ils ont l'occasion d'apprendre de la même manière que nos ancêtres ont appris depuis des temps immémoriaux. …Continuez la lecture


Gérald Charron

Gérald Charron

La pédagogie par projets, toute une passion!
Ce que j'apprécie dans ma profession d'enseignant, c'est qu'en plus de former nos adultes de demain, nous pouvons nous-mêmes apprendre à travers eux. La pédagogie par projets me permet de réaliser cette passion d'acquérir des connaissances et des compétences avec mes élèves. J'aime relever les défis qui m'amènent à me surpasser. J'adore inculquer ce goût de l'aventure aux élèves. …Continuez la lecture


Aviva Dunsiger

Aviva Dunsiger

L'éducation pour tous : réduire l'écart de rendement grâce à la technologie
Comment enseigner à des élèves qui éprouvent des difficultés? En tant qu'enseignante, je m'engage à enseigner à tous les élèves comment apprendre, et il s'agit souvent d'élèves qui ont déjà été aux prises avec des difficultés scolaires. L'utilisation appropriée de la technologie me permet de réduire l'écart de rendement et d'assurer la réussite scolaire de chaque élève. …Continuez la lecture


Angelina Fabien

Angelina Fabien

Tout est une question de cœur…
J'enseigne la langue chippewyan à la Deninu School, un petit établissement allant de la maternelle à la 12e année situé à Fort Resolution, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Lorsque j'ai été engagée, aucun de mes élèves ne parlait le chippewyan, la langue ancestrale de la communauté. C'est à Fort Resolution que se trouvait l'un des premiers pensionnats du Canada, ce qui explique que les parents et grands-parents de mes élèves ont perdu leur langue. …Continuez la lecture


Adrian French

Adrian French

Développer l'empathie historique et favoriser la participation en classe
Comment un élève du secondaire peut-il s'identifier à un soldat qui était dans les tranchées lors de la Première Guerre mondiale? Cette question m'a amené à étudier les possibilités d'une méthode d'enseignement interdisciplinaire pour mes élèves du secondaire. Une approche par projet peut développer l'empathie historique et accroître la participation des élèves en classe. …Continuez la lecture


Viviane Gaudreault

Viviane Gaudreault

Insuffler une véritable estime de soi – et un esprit de coopération créatif chez le jeune élève en développement — Sommes-nous à la hauteur?
La pédagogie de l'enseignement que j'ai choisie vise le développement affectif de l'enfant et se penche sur la nécessité de préparer les jeunes élèves à traiter efficacement avec les autres dans un environnement compétitif inconnu, afin de permettre à tous, selon un droit pleinement reconnu, de s'explorer eux-mêmes, d'explorer leurs propres capacités et les occasions d'apprentissage dans leur monde en évolution rapide et stressant. …Continuez la lecture


James Brian Jackson

James Brian Jackson

Qu'ils se lèvent de leur chaise
Les choses que nous souhaitons que nos élèves retiennent d'année en année à l'école ne sont pas toujours les leçons que l'enseignant donne à l'avant aux enfants qui prennent des notes et répondent à des questions. Malgré l'importance de l'écriture et de la réflexion, ce qu'ils retiennent ce sont les moments passés loin de leur pupitre. Voici quelques exemples qui ont fonctionné pour moi. …Continuez la lecture


Vernon Kee

Vernon Kee

En faire plus sans s'épuiser
On dit que les enseignants sont plus susceptibles de démissionner par épuisement dans les cinq premières années de leur carrière. Généralement, ce sont des enseignants qui en font trop, soit en raison des grands besoins qu'ils constatent dans leur communauté ou de leurs propres exigences d'en faire toujours plus. Étant moi-même constamment à la limite de l'épuisement, je peux affirmer que les trois choses suivantes m'ont aidé à traverser mes cinq premières années d'enseignement : …Continuez la lecture


Janey (Min-Wah) Lee

Janey (Min-Wah) Lee

Interpeller les apprenants du centre-ville difficiles à atteindre
Il y a quinze ans, je commençais ma carrière d'enseignante à l'école élémentaire Thunderbird – une école défavorisée du quartier est du centre de Vancouver située directement en face du plus grand projet de logement social de la Colombie-Britannique. Les élèves sont issus de familles immigrantes, réfugiées ou monoparentales. Plusieurs sont prestataires de l'aide social et vivent dans la pauvreté. …Continuez la lecture


Margaret Murphy

Margaret Murphy

Inspirer les élèves pour le permettre d'atteindre leur plein potentiel
En tant qu'enseignante, j'avais pour but d'inspirer les jeunes afin qu'ils puissent développer au mieux leurs capacités au sein d'une communauté de mentors dévoués qui pourraient les guider. En 1989, j'enseignais dans une classe inhabituelle – une cafétéria – avec 12 élèves ayant des besoins particuliers et une brigade de cuisine qui préparait le repas du midi pour 80 personnes. …Continuez la lecture


Maria Nickel

Maria Nickel

Combinaison spatiale — Oser rêver grand
Comment une enseignante peut-elle inspirer une génération d'amateurs de sciences en donnant des exemples pratiques de science spatiale tirés de la vie de tous les jours? Ma réponse est une combinaison spatiale unique d'apprentissage, d'exploration et de simulation d'un véritable scientifique en temps réel. Je me concentrerai sur les programmes que j'exécute à l'école : le « Space Knights Space Club » et le « Student Spaceflight Experiment Program ». …Continuez la lecture


Kristen Sawyers

Kristen Sawyers

L'apprentissage par des expériences pratiques pour les élèves et l'enseignant
L'enseignement au Nunavut m'a offert de nombreuses possibilités et expériences uniques dans ma carrière d'éducatrice. L'intégration des traditions inuites et de la culture par le biais du programme Inuuqatigiit m'ont démontré la valeur de l'enseignement à l'extérieur des murs de la classe. Mes méthodes professionnelles ont évolué et comportent maintenant des volets d'apprentissage par l'expérience sur le terrain, par projets et par des voyages humanitaires. …Continuez la lecture


Gregory Smith

Gregory Smith

Les échanges interculturels à l'âge numérique
Facebook, Twitter, le courrier électronique et les blogues sont autant de moyens pour nos élèves d'utiliser quotidiennement Internet pour établir des liens avec leurs propres familles et cercles d'amis. Mais dans quelle mesure les utilisent-ils pour établir des liens avec le monde extérieur? Nous présumons que cette technologie a donné lieu à un village plus global où nos enfants sont plus au courant de l'actualité mondiale et sont plus à même d'accepter et de comprendre les différentes cultures. Est-ce réellement le cas? …Continuez la lecture


Gina Wong

Gina Wong

Jeter les bases : la citoyenneté mondiale commence à la maternelle
Tous les élèves peuvent réussir leur apprentissage. Les jeunes enfants peuvent être des citoyens actifs qui contribuent à leur communauté et à la société en général. Les jeunes enfants sont encouragés à s'approprier leur apprentissage et à partager leurs connaissances en tant que nouveaux lecteurs lors de présentations par petits groupes à toute la classe et en tant que rédacteurs dans le cadre de rencontres individuelles de rétroaction par des pairs. …Continuez la lecture

Ressources

Outils en ligne/communautés

Organismes

Logiciels et applications

  • AudioBoo
  • Dragon Dictation
  • Facetime
  • KidPix
  • Pixie 3
  • PixnTell
  • Toontastic
  • Word Q

Blogues

Partenaires

RBC Fondation
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Agence spatiale canadienne

Date de modification :