2016 Recipients

Certificate of Excellence

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

British Columbia

Jim Crescenzo

Jim Crescenzo

Once an aspiring actor, Jim Crescenzo chose teaching over a rising career in show business turning his classroom into a multi-disciplinary studio, where students are the stars of the show. Jim conducts extensive community outreach and fundraising activities to build multi-media classroom spaces with stages and studios for film, television and theatre. Partners have included Lions Gate Entertainment, Vancouver Film Studios and even the Vancouver Canucks.


Johanna Gordon-Walker

Johanna Gordon-Walker

Supporting Emerging Aboriginal Stewards program teacher Johanna Gordon-Walker takes a boat to work and lives off the grid, empowering youth by showing them the importance of connecting culture to the outdoors. She has brokered partnerships with five post-secondary institutions, leveraging opportunities for her students to participate in marine-based and archeological science activities such as counting salmon or participating on inter-tidal scavenger hunts.

Northwest Territories

Erica Thompson

Erica Thompson

Individual talents are celebrated as Northern teacher Erica Thompson weaves the importance of community traditions and practices throughout practical learning. For example, she used a Caribou hunt led by Elders to teach her students about body systems. Erica also initiates and leads a variety of extra-curricular activities like photography and digital media clubs, tours to Europe, and serves as a snowshoe coach for Team Northwest Territories at the Arctic Games in Greenland.

Nova Scotia

Robert Hammer

Robert Hammer

Dropping eggs from the height of the school roof, measuring trees and running as fast as they can – in a small school in rural Nova Scotia, Robert Hammer's students discover how much better they learn when they get to use their hands, or even their feet, to solve problems. Students say, "It's Hammer time", as they are inspired by a math teacher who literally runs an extra mile to show how math skills are useful in the real world.

Ontario

Beth Alexander

Beth Alexander

Bill Nye, Ada Lovelace and the Energizer Bunny have nothing on Beth Alexander and her innovative science lessons that focus on getting young girls more involved in STEM. From a life-size model that allows students to climb inside a computer, to a lab exploring the chemistry of candy, Beth consistently goes above and beyond the call of duty to transform school into a magical place for her students.


Don Ball

Don Ball

Thinking globally and acting locally, Don Ball encourages his students to challenge conventions and to think critically about the social issues around them. Don organizes a biannual cross-curricular travel program for science and visual arts students to Latin American countries and Inuit communities in Canada. His students complete community service projects while exploring the art, culture and ecology of the areas.


Kathy Cepo

Kathy Cepo

Sixteen -year veteran high school chemistry teacher Kathy Cepo started a competitive robotics team in her rural Ontario community, that in five years has inspired 84% of graduates on her team to pursue STEM related fields. Kathy also partnered with Just Cause Education Outreach to develop curriculum for robotics programs for students in Uganda. Workshops are run on the ground in Uganda, while Cepo runs them in tandem with her students.


Thomas Doherty

Thomas Doherty

A strong enthusiasm to share his Métis heritage with his students, a respect for the land and a regard for the Ojibwa culture and language; Thomas Doherty embraces a cross-curricular approach that is consistently tied back to Indigenous teachings. For example, in a presentation about ice safety, Doherty had his students apply their knowledge on an ice fishing expedition with local Elders, later bringing their catch to the local homeless shelter.


Rahim Essabhai

Rahim Essabhai

"Legacy is not what you leave for people but what you leave in people". This is the mantra that guides this business teacher as he leads his students to create projects that are not just for profit, but to give back to a community. Rahim has also led students to provide assistance internationally, raising funds to build a school in Nicaragua, and to creating partnerships with businesses to improve the local community.

Quebec

Manon St-Hilaire

Manon St-Hilaire

Learning to know, knowing to understand, and understanding to act. Manon St--Hilaire has chosen to make civic engagement and educational projects the cornerstone of her professional activities. Dedication, creativity and integrity are the three words that best describe Ms. St-Hilaire. She fosters a climate of trust in her classroom that promotes discussion and that facilitates comprehension by using a concrete educational approach where students can learn through stimulating, real-world situations.

Saskatchewan

Andrea Regier

Andrea Regier

From creative games and music in the classroom, to challenging educational experiences in state-of-the-art research facilities, Andrea Regier has her students reaching great heights. Andrea's approach has been described as refreshing, engaging and innovative. With thematic music always playing in the background, she understands the importance of motivational tools and games to teach complex scientific concepts and theories.

View all recipients

Certificate of Achievement

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

Alberta

Donna Armstrong

Donna Armstrong

Trust, respect and performance form the three pillars of this teacher's classroom – where students are not just studying communications technology, but also applying it in real and relevant contexts.


Mark Mercer

Mark Mercer

Striving for inclusion, this computer science teacher creates a class culture of faith and trust where computers are the how and what we use to function and connect with each other in an ever-changing world.


Laura Gale

Laura Gale

Kindergarten teacher sits behind the wheel of students' abilities and knowledge and lets their interests and curiosities drive the journey as they visit fascinating places together.


Bruce Cable

Bruce Cable

This teacher creates music with his students and creatively integrates a multi-disciplinary approach to show them different viewpoints, by inviting members of local and national level music communities into his classroom.

British Columbia

Janet Ruest

Janet Ruest

High school teacher fosters the growth of curiosity and a thirst for knowledge, encouraging students to evaluate issues by examining the moral and ethical decisions made in the past.


Annie Ohana

Annie Ohana

A champion for her community and a believer in an interdisciplinary approach, this teacher infuses Indigenous learning into her classroom, asking her students how science and math can bring out the creative power of language.


Greg Skerratt

Greg Skerratt

Skateboard ramp building and custom long boards: in a classroom filled with the sounds of humming machines, active minds and hands at work, this teacher shows students what a career in trades could look like, as well as how to be a better citizen.


Thomas Harding

Thomas Harding

Local park keepers, visits to the marine station and forest exploration: an empty classroom characterizes this science teacher's approach as he takes his students outside and connects the content he teaches to the real world.

New Brunswick

Chantal Lafargue

Chantal Lafargue

Passion for language fuels this teacher to spearhead partnerships with community and outside agencies to develop countless opportunities for her students, and to provide support for incoming Syrian refugees and their families.

Newfoundland

John Walsh

John Walsh

It's full STEAM ahead when this teacher takes the conductor seat and brings a hands-on and well-rounded approach to teaching science to his students.


Kristy Boland

Kristy Boland

Enthusiasm and positive energy resonate beyond this teacher's classroom walls as she demonstrates first hand that hard work can be fun through locally-recognized events like Mole Day.

Northwest Territories

Alexandra Winchester

Alexandra Winchester

"Light's On! Drugs and Alcohol Off" - dubbed Inuvik's best kept secret, this dedicated art teacher keeps students off the street and founded a travelling art club that has her isolated rural students experiencing the world.

Ontario

Grantley Blenman

Grantley Blenman

Physics teacher assumes untraditional interdisciplinary approach that brings together STEM and industry, allowing students to learn from former graduates, specialists and community members.


Sheryl Parker Susan Grace Sewell-Charles

Sheryl Parker and Susan Grace Sewell-Charles

Teacher duo heads multi-grade, family-based outdoor Adventure Class that emphasizes connections to the environment, global citizenship and local community.


Rocky Ieraci

Rocky Ieraci

"A man for all seasons", accordion playing teacher has paved the road for computer science in schools and inspired countless students to achieve their passions.


John Senisi

John Senisi

Integrating arts subject matter across other disciplines, this teacher shies from convention and encourages students to create community and business-education partnerships that allow them to succeed in the real world.


Chris D'Arcy

Chris D'Arcy

Described by students and colleagues as a mentor, builder and risk taker, after 40 years of experience this teacher still makes sure that no lesson is ever delivered the same way.


Diana Wang-Martin

Diana Wang-Martin

Online simulations, 3D modelling, electronic probes and countless large and small scale conferences, this teacher is a STEM enthusiast who stops at nothing to ensure the success of her students.


Nadia Pasquini

Nadia Pasquini

This teacher does not call her students, "students" – she calls them family; with a passion for community, she demonstrates the value of youth-led initiatives and the lasting impact they can have on others.


Peter Cudmore

Peter Cudmore

Preparing students for a digital-based innovation economy, this science teacher turns courses into video games as students can gain points and progress to the next level.


James Mitchell

James Mitchell

From zombie games to jelly beans, no matter the material, this high school math teacher finds engaging and exciting ways to make learning relevant.

Quebec

Karine St-Cyr

Karine St-Cyr

Lawyer, radio host, author, credit union director, or policewoman: this dynamic teacher presents a wide range of resources to her pupils in order to foster an awareness of their future reality.


Vincent Bilodeau

Vincent Bilodeau

Star Académie, Disney Performing Arts on Stage, Festival Jass-Pop de Québec, the possibilities are endless thanks the passion of this music teacher.

Saskatchewan

Marc Gobeil

Marc Gobeil

Those are sounds of success coming from this music teacher's classroom, where digital design meets physical craftsmanship, and creative teaching techniques with Indigenous youth inspired a visit from Prime Minister Trudeau.


Margot Arnold

Margot Arnold

"When you're green you grow and when you're red you rot": Entrepreneurship teacher pushes students to step outside their comfort zone to surpass their goals and reach their dreams.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Lauréats 2017 - Prix du premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

Certificats d'excellence

Lauréats des certificats d'excellence

Colombie-Britannique

Jim Crescenzo

Jim Crescenzo

Jim Crescenzo, qui a déjà aspiré à devenir acteur, a choisi l'enseignement, plutôt qu'une carrière prometteuse dans le domaine du spectacle. Il transforme une simple salle de classe en studio multidisciplinaire où les élèves deviennent les vedettes. Jim mène de vastes activités de sensibilisation et de financement en vue de construire des salles de classe multimédias comprenant des scènes et des studios pour le cinéma, la télévision et le théâtre. Lions Gate Entertainment, Vancouver Film Studios, Thunderbird Films, et même les Vancouver Canucks ont été de ses partenaires.


Johanna Gordon-Walker

Johanna Gordon-Walker

Johanna Gordon-Walker, une enseignante qui appuie le programme Soutenir des intendants autochtones émergents, se rend à l'école par bateau, vit dans une habitation hors réseau. Elle favorise la prise en charge des élèves en leur faisant comprendre l'importance de lier la culture et l'apprentissage à la nature. Johanna a conclu des partenariats avec cinq établissements postsecondaires afin de permettre à ses élèves de participer à des activités scientifiques archéologiques et en relation avec le milieu marin, comme le dénombrement de saumons et les chasses au trésor intertidales.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Robert Hammer

Robert Hammer

Laisser tomber des œufs à hauteur du toit de l'école, mesurer la taille des arbres et courir le plus vite possible – dans une modeste école rurale de Nouvelle-Écosse, les élèves découvrent à quel point ils sont en mesure de mieux comprendre une leçon lorsqu'ils ont l'occasion de mettre la main ou encore le pied à la pâte pour résoudre des problèmes. Les élèves disent « It's Hammer time », inspirés par un enseignant de mathématiques littéralement prêt à faire des pieds et des mains pour leur montrer que des compétences en mathématiques sont utiles dans la vie de tous les jours.

Ontario

Beth Alexander

Beth Alexander

Bill Nye, Ada Lovelace et le lapin Energizer ne sauraient rivaliser avec cette enseignante de sciences qui vise à stimuler l'intérêt des jeunes filles pour les sciences, la technologie, le génie et les mathématiques. Qu'elle propose un modèle grandeur nature permettant aux jeunes de pénétrer à l'intérieur d'un ordinateur ou un laboratoire visant à explorer la chimie des friandises, Beth Alexander se surpasse toujours pour que l'école soit un lieu magique pour ses élèves.


Don Ball

Don Ball

En pensant globalement et en agissant localement, Don Ball encourage ses élèves à remettre en question les conventions et à poser un regard critique sur les enjeux sociaux qui les entourent. Don organise un programme de voyage pluridisciplinaire semestriel pour les élèves en sciences et en arts visuels dans des pays d'Amérique latine et des collectivités inuites du Canada. Ses élèves mènent à bien des projets communautaires tout en se penchant sur les arts, la culture et l'écologie des régions visitées.


Kathy Cepo

Kathy Cepo

Professeur de chimie depuis seize ans, Kathy Cepo a monté une équipe de robotique de compétition dans une collectivité rurale de l'Ontario qui, en cinq ans, a inspiré 84 % des diplômés de son équipe à s'inscrire dans une discipline relevant de la filière STIM. Kathy est aussi partenaire de Just Cause Education Outreach pour élaborer le curriculum des programmes de robotique pour les étudiants en Ouganda. Des ateliers sont offerts sur place en Ouganda tandis que Madame Cepo les dirige en tandem avec ses étudiants.


Thomas Doherty

Thomas Doherty

Un grand enthousiasme pour le partage de son héritage métis avec ses élèves, un respect pour la terre et un égard pour la culture et la langue ojibwée, Thomas Doherty adopte une approche intégrée d'apprentissage grâce à laquelle il fait systématiquement des liens avec les enseignements autochtones. Dans une présentation concernant la sécurité sur la glace, par exemple, Doherty a demandé à ses élèves d'appliquer leurs connaissances lors d'une expédition de pêche sur glace avec les Aînés locaux pour ensuite donner leur prise à un refuge pour les sans-abri.


Rahim Essabhai

Rahim Essabhai

« L'héritage n'est pas ce que vous laissez pour les gens, mais ce que vous laissez en eux. » C'est là le mantra qui guide cet enseignant de commerce qui demande à ses élèves de concevoir des projets qui ne servent pas seulement à générer des profits, mais aussi à redonner à la communauté. Rahim a également mené ses élèves à fournir de l'aide internationale en recueillant des fonds pour faire construire une école au Nicaragua, et à établir des partenariats avec des entreprises afin d'améliorer la vie dans la collectivité locale.

Québec

Manon St-Hilaire

Manon St-Hilaire

Apprendre pour connaître, connaître pour comprendre, comprendre pour agir. Cette enseignante a choisi de placer l'engagement civique et la pédagogie par projets au cœur de sa pratique professionnelle. Dévouement, créativité et intégrité sont les trois mots qui qualifient le mieux Manon St-Hilaire. Dans sa classe, elle instaure un climat de confiance propice aux discussions et elle facilite la compréhension en rendant concret l'apprentissage en l'intégrant dans une situation réelle et motivante.

Saskatchewan

Andrea Regier

Andrea Regier

Des jeux créatifs et de l'écoute de musique en salle de classe à des expériences éducatives stimulantes dans des centres de recherche de pointe, Andrea Regier permet à ses élèves d'atteindre des sommets. La méthode d'Andrea est rafraîchissante, stimulante et novatrice. En faisant constamment jouer de la musique thématique, elle comprend l'importance des outils et des jeux de motivation pour enseigner des concepts et des théories complexes.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Erica Thompson

Erica Thompson

Erica Thompson, enseignante dans le Nord, souligne les talents individuels et intègre l'importance des traditions de la communauté à un apprentissage pratique. À titre d'exemple, elle a organisé une chasse au caribou avec des Aînés pour enseigner aux élèves les systèmes de l'organisme. Erica a également mis sur pied et dirige des activités parascolaires comme des clubs de photographie et de médias numériques, et des visites guidées en Europe; elle agit également à titre d'entraîneur pour l'équipe de raquette des T.-N.-O. aux Jeux d'hiver de l'Arctique au Groenland.

Voir tous les lauréats

Certificats d'honneur

Lauréats des certificats d'honneur

Alberta

Donna Armstrong

Donna Armstrong

La salle de classe de cette enseignante repose d'abord et avant tout sur la confiance, le respect et le rendement. Les élèves n'étudient pas seulement la technologie des communications, mais l'appliquent également dans des contextes réels et pertinents.


Mark Mercer

Mark Mercer

Cet enseignant d'informatique, qui vise à inclure tous ses élèves, instaure en classe une culture de confiance au sein de laquelle les ordinateurs représentent le moyen qu'on utilise pour fonctionner et établir des liens entre nous dans un monde en constante évolution.


Laura Gale

Laura Gale

Cette enseignante de maternelle cède le terrain aux habiletés et aux connaissances de ses élèves et laisse les intérêts et la curiosité de ces derniers diriger l'apprentissage lorsqu'ils visitent ensemble des endroits fascinants.


Bruce Cable

Bruce Cable

Cet enseignant crée de la musique avec ses élèves et fait preuve de créativité en ayant recours à une méthode multidisciplinaire qui lui permet de mettre en lumière différents points de vue en invitant dans sa classe des membres de la scène musicale locale et nationale.

Colombie-Britannique

Janet Ruest

Janet Ruest

Privilégiant le développement de la curiosité et la soif de savoir, cette enseignante du secondaire encourage ses élèves à se pencher sur des enjeux en examinant les décisions morales et éthiques prises dans le passé.


Annie Ohana

Annie Ohana

Cette enseignante, une championne pour sa communauté qui croit à une méthode interdisciplinaire, intègre le savoir autochtone dans sa salle de classe en demandant aux élèves comment les sciences et les mathématiques peuvent favoriser le pouvoir créatif de la langue.


Greg Skerratt

Greg Skerratt

La construction d'une rampe pour pratiquer la planche à roulettes et les planches traditionnelles personnalisées : dans une salle de classe vibrant au son des machines, des cerveaux actifs et des mains affairées, cet enseignant montre aux élèves à quoi peut ressembler une carrière dans les métiers et comment devenir de meilleurs citoyens.


Thomas Harding

Thomas Harding

Des gardiens de parc locaux, des visites à la station marine et de l'exploration en forêt : la méthode de cet enseignant de sciences, qui organise des sorties pour ses étudiants et qui établit des liens entre la matière enseignée et le monde réel, se caractérise par une salle de classe vide.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Chantal Lafargue

Chantal Lafargue

La passion pour la langue incite cette enseignante à établir des partenariats avec sa communauté et des organisations externes afin d'offrir d'innombrables occasions à ses élèves et de fournir un appui aux réfugiés syriens et à leur famille.

Ontario

Grantley Blenman

Grantley Blenman

Cet enseignant de physique adopte une méthode interdisciplinaire non traditionnelle qui réunit les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, du génie et des mathématiques et l'industrie, permettant aux élèves d'apprendre d'anciens diplômés, de spécialistes et de membres de la communauté.


Sheryl Parker Susan Grace Sewell-Charles

Sheryl Parker et Susan Grace Sewell-Charles

Ce duo d'enseignantes dirige une classe aventure, qui s'adresse à plusieurs niveaux et qui est axée sur la famille et la nature. Ce programme établit des liens avec l'environnement, la citoyenneté mondiale et la communauté locale.


Rocky Ieraci

Rocky Ieraci

« Un homme de toutes les situations » : cet enseignant qui joue de l'accordéon a pavé la voie pour que l'informatique soit enseignée dans les écoles et a inspiré de nombreux élèves à aller au bout de leurs passions.


John Senisi

John Senisi

En intégrant les arts à d'autres disciplines, cet enseignant fait fi des conventions et encourage ses élèves à établir des partenariats avec la communauté et le milieu des affaires afin de favoriser leur réussite dans la vie.


Chris D'Arcy

Chris D'Arcy

Décrit par ses élèves et ses collègues comme un mentor, un bâtisseur et un preneur de risques, cet enseignant s'assure encore, après 40 années d'expérience, de ne pas présenter les leçons de la même façon.


Diana Wang-Martin

Diana Wang-Martin

En proposant des simulations en ligne, des modèles en trois dimensions, des sondes électroniques et de nombreuses conférences de grande envergure, cette enseignante mordue des sciences, de la technologie, du génie et des mathématiques ne recule devant rien pour assurer la réussite de ses élèves.


Nadia Pasquini

Nadia Pasquini

Cette enseignante n'appelle pas ses élèves des « élèves »; elle fait référence à ces derniers comme à des membres de sa famille. Passionnée par sa communauté, elle met en lumière la valeur des initiatives menées par des jeunes et l'impact durable qu'elles peuvent avoir sur les autres.


Peter Cudmore

Peter Cudmore

En préparant ses élèves à réussir dans une économie d'innovation axée sur le numérique, cet enseignant de sciences transforme ses cours en jeux vidéo alors que les élèves gagnent des points et passent au niveau suivant.


James Mitchell

James Mitchell

En se servant de jeux de morts-vivants ou de jujubes, cet enseignant de mathématiques au niveau secondaire trouve, peu importe le moyen, des façons stimulantes et excitantes de rendre l'apprentissage pertinent.

Québec

Karine St-Cyr

Karine St-Cyr

Avocate, animateur de radio, auteure, directeur d'une Caisse populaire ou policière… Cette enseignante dynamique fait connaître un éventail de ressources aux élèves dans le but de susciter un éveil à leur future réalité.


Vincent Bilodeau

Vincent Bilodeau

Star Odyssée, Disney Performing Arts on Stage, Festival Jass-Pop de Québec : les possibilités sont infinies grâce à la passion de cet enseignant de musique.

Saskatchewan

Marc Gobeil

Marc Gobeil

Le succès retentit de la salle de classe de cet enseignant de musique, où la conception numérique se mêle au savoir-faire traditionnel et où les techniques d'enseignement créatives avec les jeunes autochtones ont mené à une visite du premier ministre Trudeau.


Margot Arnold

Margot Arnold

« Quand vous êtes vert, vous poussez et quand vous êtes rouge, vous pourrissez » : cette enseignante d'entreprenariat encourage ses élèves à sortir de leur zone de confort afin de dépasser leurs objectifs et de réaliser leurs rêves.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

John Walsh

John Walsh

On avance à toute vapeur quand cet enseignant occupe le siège du chef de train et qu'il propose à ses élèves une méthode pratique et globale pour l'apprentissage des sciences.


Kristy Boland

Kristy Boland

L'enthousiasme et l'énergie positive se font ressentir entre les murs de la salle de classe de cette enseignante lorsqu'elle montre concrètement, à l'aide d'événements reconnus à l'échelle locale comme la Journée de la Mole, que le travail acharné peut être amusant.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Alexandra Winchester

Alexandra Winchester

« Éteindre les feux des drogues et de l'alcool » – Décrite comme le secret le mieux gardé d'Inuvik, cette enseignante en arts, qui fait preuve de dévouement, garde ses élèves loin de la rue. Elle a fondé un club artistique ambulant qui permet à ses élèves grandissant en milieu rural de faire l'expérience du monde.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :