2018 recipients – Teaching Excellence

Certificates of Excellence

Certificates of Excellence recipients

Alberta

Donna Armstrong

Donna Armstrong

Students connect, create and celebrate with technology in this teacher's class: they produce advertising materials for businesses, live-stream sports tournaments, and create videos to help Grade 6 students transition to the school.


British Columbia

Craig Brumwell

Craig Brumwell

This teacher fully integrated technology into his teaching a decade ago; today, his students pursue First and Second World War history through their phones with his interactive mobile games.


Timothy Stephenson

Timothy Stephenson

Shaping his teaching to encourage students to engage in science 24 hours a day, this teacher uses SnapChat, Twitter and a very popular course on astronomy to get students talking about science and connecting it to their life.

Ontario

Rebecca DiLeo

Rebecca DiLeo

Students think, do and act with their hearts and minds in this teacher's "heArts" program; working with industry professionals, they design and sell their own clothing, spearhead awareness campaigns and look to the future.


Chris Mara

Chris Mara

First Nations students from a remote reserve are taking part of the conversation about STEM learning; this educator has inspired them to embrace robotics while remaining firmly rooted in—and ambassadors for—their culture.


Pieter Toth

Pieter Toth

This teacher is a natural at building strong, authentic relationships based on trust and honesty; with that bond formed, he then challenges students to work outside their comfort zone in class and the community.


Diana Wang-Martin

Diana_Wang-Martin

By challenging her students to achieve their best, this teacher helps her students grow into great leaders and communicators: her students organize huge conferences, win prizes in prestigious contests and receive large scholarships.

Prince Edward Island

Natalie MacNeill

Natalie MacNeill

This educator empowers her students by capitalizing on their natural curiosity and equipping them with the necessary tools to foster a love of learning; students ask the questions that intrigue them and work together to find answers.

Quebec

Félix Arguin and Guillaume Laporte

Félix Arguin and Guillaume Laporte

These unconventional teachers have made digital technologies and creativity an integral part of concrete, innovative classroom projects that have brought French and English studies to another level.

Yukon

Michel Emery

Michel Emery

Students learn from this long-time and innovative northern educator to think creatively beyond PowerPoint to present their ideas, tackle big projects with ease, and become caring global citizens.

View all recipients

Certificates of Achievement

Recipients of Certificates of Achievement

Alberta

Linda Hut

Linda Hut

For a week at time, students from across Edmonton come to this teacher's unique school at city hall; they engage with municipal experts, learn about infrastructure and are inspired during the rest of the year to grow as citizens.


Stacey Taylor

Stacey Taylor

Inclusion is a priority for this educator as she leads the way on changing attitudes about acceptance of students of all abilities and backgrounds, and gives these students a chance to show their learning in the way that suits them best.

British Columbia

Scott Alexander

Scott Alexander

Learning takes place where relevance, relationship and rigour intersect, says this passionate educator; he enhances his captivating stories with technology and encourages students to connect historical and current events.


Gavin Bowers

Gavin Bowers

Empowering his students to live up to the school motto, "Do your best through truth and courage," this long-time teacher uses technology and physical activity in all grades to get them thinking, questioning, exploring and evaluating.


Denean Lederer

Denean Lederer

Using diverse media, this teacher gives children multiple entry points to learning; she also has them take a full-body approach to language, writing letters in the sand with sticks and words with their shaving cream-covered fingers.


Candice Lee

Candice Lee

With her emphasis on inclusivity, diversity and multiculturalism, this educator has become a school focal point for cultural exploration; she wrote the school song for everyone to sing (accompanied by a full band of instruments).


Jo-Anna LeGrandeur

Jo-Anna LeGrandeur

The psychology program this teacher revitalized has grown exponentially in the face of declining enrolment; meanwhile, she brought educators from several schools together to help students succeed as they move into high school.

Manitoba

Meagan Chopek

Meagan Chopek

In both the Kindergarten class and the school library, children thrive under this teacher's watch, taking virtual field trips the world over, engaging with peers across the continent and designing a robot to go with a book they had read.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Kimberley Keating

Kimberley Keating

This thoughtful teacher designed the class schedule so her students have time each day to immerse themselves in the fundamentals of literacy and math; purposeful activities, such as raising salmon for release, engage children in learning.

Ontario

Loredana Barbato

Loredana Barbato

Hands-on projects that harness the latest technology and incorporate the arts and reading engage this experienced educator's students, providing low-floor entry points and a high ceiling for success.


Nicole Chen

Nicole Chen

Dreaming of being a teacher since she was 6, this dedicated educator now helps newcomers to Canada not only master English but also to find the leader inside them to inspire others to be their best.


Laurie Crawford

Laurie Crawford

This teacher uses technology to promote Aboriginal arts and culture and to give her students authentic and stimulating creative experiences filled with discovery.


Michael Jansen

Michael Jansen

This veteran teacher sets high expectations for academic rigour and deportment in his classes while opening the world of chemistry in a common-sense way that resonates with young men (the exploding microwave probably helps).


Jessica Kennedy

Jessica Kennedy

Drama challenges students of all abilities to express themselves, and to connect to local history; this teacher also uses recordings to solicit performance feedback and help fledging actors gain confidence before facing the crowd.


Hafiz Printer

Hafiz Printer

Healthy debate is welcome in this teacher's class as students seek to find their place in the world; running simulations turn the classroom into a desert or a hospital so students can put themselves into history.


Micky Renders

Micky Renders

Art plays a critical role in this teacher's class, as students who have not succeeded at school due to poverty, substance abuse and other challenges explore, express their feelings and heal by working in a variety of media.


Graham Seater

Graham Seater

Young authors blossom in this teacher's class, while inquiries into such topics as animals, buildings and outer space turn into full-blown multidimensional courses of study, complemented by plenty of hands-on activities.


Christopher Snow

Christopher Snow

This activist educator harnesses technology, both to show children how to answer big questions about global and social issues and to teach skills; he also encourages his students to consider what role they can play in bringing about change.


Charlotte Travis

Charlotte Travis

Rooting her practice in inquiry-based learning, the veteran educator gets her students outside to explore the natural world; with check-in circles students discuss accountability and responsibility, well-being and justice.

Prince Edward Island

Stacy Thain

Stacy Thain

Having taught herself French, this long-time educator now shares her expertise on preparing lessons in this language to her fellow educators; for years, students and the community benefited from her efforts to develop future leaders

Quebec

Sabrina Jafralie

Sabrina Jafralie

Taking a holistic approach to teaching, this thoughtful educator and community activist provides many ways for her diverse students to show their learning and encourages them to be increasingly innovative as they mature

View all recipients

Date modified:

Lauréats de 2018 – Excellence dans l'enseignement

Certificats d'excellence

Lauréats des certificats d'excellence

Alberta

Donna Armstrong

Donna Armstrong

Les élèves communiquent, créent et célèbrent au moyen de la technologie dans la classe de cette enseignante. Ils produisent du matériel publicitaire pour des entreprises, ils diffusent en continu direct des tournois sportifs et créent des vidéos pour faciliter le passage des élèves de 6e année à l'école secondaire.


Colombie-Britannique

Craig Brumwell

Craig Brumwell

Cet enseignant intègre pleinement la technologie à son enseignement depuis dix ans. Ses élèves explorent aujourd'hui l'histoire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale sur leur téléphone grâce à ses jeux mobiles interactifs.


Timothy Stephenson

Timothy Stephenson

Structurant son enseignement de manière à encourager les élèves à s'intéresser aux sciences à tout moment de la journée, cet enseignant utilise SnapChat, Twitter ainsi qu'un cours très populaire sur l'astronomie pour parler de sciences et les intégrer à la vie de ses élèves.

Ontario

Rebecca DiLeo

Rebecca DiLeo

Les élèves pensent et agissent avec leur cœur et leur esprit dans le cadre du programme « heArts » de cette enseignante. En collaboration avec des professionnels de l'industrie, ils conçoivent et vendent leurs propres vêtements, mènent des campagnes de sensibilisation et regardent vers l'avenir.


Chris Mara

Chris Mara

Les élèves des Premières Nations d'une réserve éloignée participent au dialogue sur l'apprentissage des STIM. Cet enseignant les a amenés à s'intéresser à la robotique tout en demeurant profondément enracinés dans leur culture et en continuant à la promouvoir.


Pieter Toth

Pieter Toth

Cet enseignant a le don de tisser des liens solides et authentiques fondés sur la confiance et l'honnêteté. Grâce à ces liens, il incite les élèves à sortir de leur zone de confort tant en classe que dans la collectivité.


Diana Wang-Martin

Diana Wang-Martin

En poussant ses élèves à faire de leur mieux, cette enseignante les aide à devenir de bons leaders et communicateurs. Ses élèves organisent de grands congrès, gagnent des prix dans le cadre de concours prestigieux et reçoivent d'importantes bourses d'études.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Natalie MacNeill

Natalie MacNeill

Cette enseignante habilite ses élèves en misant sur leur curiosité naturelle et en les dotant des outils nécessaires pour susciter l'amour de l'apprentissage. Les élèves posent les questions qui les interpellent et collaborent pour trouver les réponses.

Québec

Félix Arguin et Guillaume Laporte

Félix Arguin et Guillaume Laporte

Ces enseignants bousculent les conventions en intégrant les technologies numériques et la créativité pour mettre sur pied des projets concrets et novateurs qui amènent l'apprentissage du français et de l'anglais à un autre niveau.

Yukon

Michel Emery

Michel Emery

Les élèves apprennent de cet enseignant de longue date et innovateur du Nord à penser de façon créative au-delà de PowerPoint pour présenter leurs idées, à réaliser facilement de grands projets et à devenir des citoyens du monde bienveillants.

Voir tous les lauréats

Certificats d'honneur

Lauréats des certificats d'honneur

Alberta

Linda Hut

Linda Hut

Pendant une semaine à la fois, des élèves de la région d'Edmonton fréquentent l'école unique de cette enseignante à l'hôtel de ville. Cette expérience, au cours de laquelle ils discutent avec des experts municipaux et se renseignent sur l'infrastructure, les pousse à devenir de bons citoyens.


Stacey Taylor

Stacey Taylor

L'inclusion est une priorité pour cette éducatrice qui prend les devants pour changer les attitudes en ce qui concerne l'acceptation des élèves de toutes origines et aptitudes, en permettant à ces élèves de montrer leurs connaissances de la façon qui leur convient le mieux.

Colombie-Britannique

Scott Alexander

Scott Alexander

Selon cet enseignant passionné, l'apprentissage émane d'un croisement entre la pertinence, les rapports et la rigueur. Il rehausse ses récits captivants au moyen de la technologie et encourage ses élèves à mettre en lien les événements historiques et l'actualité.


Gavin Bowers

Gavin Bowers

Tout en aidant ses élèves à honorer la devise de l'école : « Fais de ton mieux avec véracité et courage », cet enseignant chevronné intègre la technologie et l'activité physique dans toutes ses classes pour amener les enfants à réfléchir, à se questionner, à explorer et à évaluer.


Denean Lederer

Denean Lederer

Grâce à différents médias, cette enseignante offre aux enfants de multiples points d'accès à l'apprentissage. Elle leur a également inculqué une méthode d'apprentissage des langues qui utilise tout le corps en leur faisant écrire des lettres avec un bâton dans le sable et des mots avec leurs doigts couverts de crème à raser.


Candice Lee

Candice Lee

Prônant l'inclusion, la diversité et le multiculturalisme, cette enseignante est devenue la référence de l'école en matière d'exploration culturelle. Elle a composé la chanson de l'école que tous interprètent accompagnés de tout un groupe d'instruments.


Jo-Anna LeGrandeur

Jo-Anna LeGrandeur

Le programme de psychologie revitalisé par cette enseignante a connu une croissance exponentielle en raison de la baisse des effectifs. Elle a mobilisé des enseignants de plusieurs écoles afin d'aider les élèves à réussir leur transition à l'école secondaire.

Manitoba

Meagan Chopek

Meagan Chopek

Que ce soit dans la classe de maternelle ou à la bibliothèque de l'école, les élèves s'épanouissent sous les bons soins de cette enseignante qui les fait voyager virtuellement partout dans le monde, dialoguer avec leurs pairs sur tout le continent et concevoir un robot d'après un livre qu'ils ont lu.  

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Kimberley Keating

Kimberley Keating

Cette enseignante attentionnée a organisé l'horaire de ses cours pour donner chaque jour le temps à ses élèves de se consacrer aux fondements de la littéracie et des mathématiques ainsi qu'à des activités utiles comme l'élevage du saumon pour la remise à l'eau, et ainsi amener les enfants à apprendre.

Ontario

Loredana Barbato

Loredana Barbato

Des projets pratiques qui exploitent les plus récentes technologies et incorporent les arts et la lecture mobilisent les élèves de cette enseignante expérimentée, tout en leur ouvrant de nombreuses portes et leur laissant une grande marge de manœuvre pour réussir.


Nicole Chen

Nicole Chen

Rêvant d'enseigner depuis l'âge de 6 ans, cette enseignante dévouée aide maintenant les nouveaux arrivants au Canada non seulement à maîtriser l'anglais, mais également à déployer le leader en eux afin qu'ils en inspirent d'autres à donner le meilleur d'eux-mêmes.


Laurie Crawford

Laurie Crawford

Une enseignante qui met les technologies au service des arts et de la culture autochtone pour offrir à ses élèves des expériences authentiques et stimulantes de création et de découverte.


Michael Jansen

Michael Jansen

Cet enseignant, qui compte de nombreuses années de service, fixe des attentes élevées en matière de rigueur et de conduite scolaires dans ses cours, tout en ouvrant le monde de la chimie d'une manière pragmatique qui suscite l'intérêt des jeunes hommes (l'explosion d'un micro-ondes y contribue probablement).


Jessica Kennedy

Jessica Kennedy

Le théâtre permet aux élèves, quelles que soient leurs aptitudes, de s'exprimer et d'exploiter l'histoire locale. Cette enseignante utilise également l'enregistrement pour obtenir une rétroaction sur les performances et pour aider les apprentis acteurs à gagner en confiance avant d'affronter le public.


Hafiz Printer

Hafiz Printer

Le débat constructif est encouragé dans la classe de cet enseignant, tandis que les élèves cherchent à trouver leur place dans le monde. Des simulations ont transformé la classe en désert ou en hôpital et permis aux élèves de se projeter dans l'histoire.


Micky Renders

Micky Renders

L'art joue un rôle essentiel dans la classe de cette enseignante, où les élèves qui n'ont pas réussi à l'école pour des raisons de pauvreté, de toxicomanie ou d'autres difficultés peuvent explorer, exprimer leurs émotions et guérir en travaillant dans divers médias.


Graham Seater

Graham Seater

Cet enseignant activiste exploite la technologie, tant pour montrer aux enfants comment répondre aux grandes questions sur des enjeux mondiaux et sociaux que pour leur enseigner des compétences. Il encourage également ses élèves à réfléchir au rôle qu'ils peuvent jouer en tant que vecteur du changement.


Christopher Snow

Christopher Snow

Cet enseignant activiste exploite la technologie, tant pour montrer aux enfants comment répondre aux grandes questions sur des enjeux mondiaux et sociaux que pour leur enseigner des compétences. Il encourage également ses élèves à réfléchir au rôle qu'ils peuvent jouer en tant que vecteur du changement.


Charlotte Travis

Charlotte Travis

Fondant sa pratique sur l'apprentissage par investigation, cette éducatrice expérimentée emmène ses élèves à l'extérieur pour qu'ils explorent le monde naturel. Les élèves discutent de responsabilité et d'imputabilité, de bien-être et de justice.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Stacy Thain

Stacy Thain

Ayant appris le français par elle-même, cette enseignante chevronnée partage maintenant avec ses collègues son expertise en matière de préparation de leçons dans cette langue. Pendant des années, les élèves et la collectivité ont bénéficié de ses efforts visant à développer les leaders de demain.

Québec

Sabrina Jafralie

Sabrina Jafralie

Grâce à une approche holistique de l'enseignement, cette enseignante attentionnée et activiste communautaire offre à ses élèves aux aptitudes diverses différents moyens de montrer ce qu'ils ont appris et les encourage à devenir de plus en plus novateurs en vieillissant.

Yukon

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :