2018 Recipients – Teaching Excellence in STEM

Certificates of Excellence in STEM

Certificates of Excellence in STEM recipients

Ontario

Nicole Anthony

Nicole Anthony

This force of nature seeks to bring science to life for her inner-city students and make it personally meaningful and relevant to them by having them solve real-life problems; founder of the Metamorphosis Girls STEM conference.


Lee Martin

Lee Martin

Transformational educator creates community in his classroom and then ensures students have access to powerful tools to support their ideas; founded Computers4Change to bring advanced technology to schools.

View all recipients

Certificates of Achievement

Recipients of Certificates of Achievement

British Columbia

Lisa Hitch

Lisa Hitch

Taking off from her own burning curiosity, this educator uses inquiry-based methods to help students find the extraordinary in the ordinary, as she shares the journey with a single class from Grade 1 to Grade 8.


Daniel Massey

Daniel Massey

This fun-loving teacher integrates art, math, science, English and technology to create projects and tasks that directly address the age-old question, "When will I need this information in real life?"

Manitoba

Stephen Jones

Stephen Jones

This former medical researcher set up a state-of-the-art laboratory in a hospital to help youth develop meaningful connections with cutting-edge science and technology, rather than learn by rote-memorizing facts.

New Brunswick

Carolyn Barnhart

Carolyn Barnhart

While focusing on bringing technology into the classroom to enhance learning, the "Duracell Teacher Bunny" mentors teachers seeking to do the same and shows students the value of involvement—in school and the community.


Benjamin Kelly

Benjamin Kelly

Making it his mission to deliver unparalleled global opportunities in STEM education for his students, this pioneering educator has brought province-leading technology to his small, rural school.

Ontario

Tania Bumstead

Tania Bumstead

Seeing opportunity in being on the staff of a brand new school, this educator has been at the forefront of developing a culture of innovation, collaboration and communication at the rapidly expanding school.


Shaun Else

Shaun Else

In his classroom community, "Elsewhere," this teacher engages his students through technology, inquiry, problem solving and hands-on experiential learning, modelling lifelong learning and harnessing STEM activities so all can succeed.


Terence Prezens

Terence Prezens

This teacher's robotics club blossomed into a robust dual-stream computer science and engineering program at his all-boys school; now, his classroom serves as a design lab that also serves others.


Vince Racanelli

Vince Racanelli

At a large K–8 school, this educator ensures the success of culturally, racially and academically diverse learners, inspiring them with engaging hands-on projects, while helping them build strong skills.


Johanne Séguin

Johanne Séguin

A true leader in her field, this passionate teacher has inspired her students and her colleagues by proposing new technological tools that connect learning to the interests of young people and broaden their horizons.


Sarah Sils

Sarah Sils

Having spent a decade embedding STEM fundamentals throughout the curriculum at her school, this dedicated teacher has an unwavering commitment to young girls—educating and empowering them to be future leaders.

Quebec

Sheila Dunwoodie

Sheila Dunwoodie

High-tech and low-tech happily co-exist in this energetic teacher's classroom: students of all abilities plan, collaborate and problem solve, while mid-class dance breaks engage them and help them learn.


Adam Lecouffe-Desjardins

Adam Lecouffe-Desjardins

Always on the hunt for new ways of expanding the scope of his teaching, this teacher develops the computer skills of his students through dynamic projects that give them real-world experiences.

Saskatchewan

Carla Cooper

Carla Cooper

A leader in science education in Saskatchewan, this teacher's primary objective is to help students become scientifically literate, problem-based learners, challenging them to excel in local, provincial and national science fairs.


Denise Desjardins

Denise Desjardins

This teacher is challenging the status quo for education of First Nations children by engaging them in a classroom that is technology-rich, while infusing their Cree language and culture into all aspects of the curriculum.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Lauréats de 2018 – Excellence dans l'enseignement des STIM

Certificats d'excellence

Lauréats des certificats d'excellence

Ontario

Nicole Anthony

Nicole Anthony

Cette force de la nature cherche à rendre la science vivante pour ses élèves du centre-ville et la leur rendre sensée et pertinente en les faisant résoudre des problèmes réels. Elle est également fondatrice du congrès Metamorphosis Girls STEM.


Lee Martin

Lee Martin

Cet enseignant transformationnel crée un esprit communautaire dans sa classe, puis veille à ce que les élèves aient accès à de puissants outils pour appuyer leurs idées. Il a fondé le programme Computers4Change afin d'introduire les technologies de pointe dans les écoles.

Voir tous les lauréats

Certificats d'honneur

Lauréats des certificats d'honneur

Alberta

Lisa Hitch

Lisa Hitch

S'inspirant de sa propre curiosité ardente, cette enseignante utilise des méthodes d'apprentissage par investigation pour aider les élèves à faire des découvertes extraordinaires dans des situations ordinaires, en partageant son odyssée avec une seule classe composée d'élèves de la 1re à la 8e année.


Daniel Massey

Daniel Massey

Ce chaleureux enseignant combine les arts, les mathématiques, les sciences, l'anglais et la technologie pour créer des projets et des tâches qui répondent directement à l'éternelle question « À quoi cela me servira-t-il dans la vraie vie? »

Manitoba

Stephen Jones

Stephen Jones

Cet ancien chercheur médical a mis sur pied un laboratoire de pointe dans un hôpital pour aider les jeunes à faire des liens significatifs avec les sciences et les technologies de pointe, plutôt que d'apprendre par cœur des faits.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Carolyn Barnhart

Carolyn Barnhart

S'efforçant de faire entrer la technologie dans les salles de classe pour favoriser l'apprentissage, l' « enseignante-lapin-Duracell » fait figure de mentore auprès des enseignants qui cherchent à suivre son exemple, en plus d'enseigner aux élèves la valeur de l'engagement, à la fois à l'école et dans la collectivité.


Benjamin Kelly

Benjamin Kelly

Se donnant pour mission d'offrir à ses élèves des débouchés mondiaux uniques en matière de STIM, cet enseignant pionnier a fait entrer dans sa petite école rurale une technologie de pointe inégalée dans la province.

Ontario

Tania Bumstead

Tania Bumstead

Saisissant l'occasion de faire partie du personnel d'une toute nouvelle école, cette enseignante a joué un rôle de premier plan dans le développement d'une culture d'innovation, de collaboration et de communication dans une école en croissance rapide.


Shaun Else

Shaun Else

Dans sa classe, « Ailleurs », cet enseignant mobilise ses élèves grâce à la technologie, à l'investigation, à la résolution de problèmes et à un apprentissage pratique reposant sur l'expérience, en modélisant l'apprentissage continu et en exploitant les activités de STIM afin que tous puissent réussir.


Terence Prezens

Terence Prezens

Le club de robotique de cet enseignant s'est transformé en un programme mixte d'informatique et de génie informatique pour son école de garçons. Sa classe sert maintenant de laboratoire de conception ouvert à tous.


Vince Racanelli

Vince Racanelli

Ces enseignants bousculent les conventions en intégrant les technologies numériques et la créativité pour mettre sur pied des projets concrets et novateurs qui amènent l'apprentissage du français et de l'anglais à un autre niveau.


Johanne Séguin

Johanne Séguin

Véritable leader dans son milieu, cette enseignante passionnée stimule ses élèves et ses collègues en proposant de nouveaux outils technologiques qui arriment l'apprentissage aux intérêts des jeunes et élargissent leurs horizons.


Sarah Sils

Sarah Sils

Ayant passé une décennie à intégrer les principes de base des STIM au programme de son école, cette enseignante dévouée fait preuve d'un engagement indéfectible auprès des jeunes filles, en leur enseignant et en les habilitant à devenir les leaders de demain.

Québec

Sheila Dunwoodie

Sheila Dunwoodie

Férus et profanes de hautes technologies se côtoient dans la classe de cette énergique enseignante. Quelles que soient leurs aptitudes, les élèves planifient, collaborent et résolvent des problèmes, et profitent de pauses danse en milieu de journée qui favorise leur participation et leur apprentissage.


Adam Lecouffe-Desjardins

Adam Lecouffe-Desjardins

Toujours à la recherche de nouvelles façons d'élargir la portée de son enseignement, cet enseignant développe chez ses élèves un savoir-faire informatique qui s'inscrit dans des projets concrets et dynamiques.

Saskatchewan

Carla Cooper

Carla Cooper

Leader en enseignement des sciences en Saskatchewan, cette enseignante a pour principal objectif d'aider les élèves à devenir des apprenants scientifiquement cultivés capables de résoudre des problèmes, en les poussant à exceller dans le cadre d'expo-sciences locales, provinciales et nationales.


Denise Desjardins

Denise Desjardins

Cette enseignante lutte contre le statu quo à l'égard de l'éducation des enfants des Premières nations, en leur offrant une classe hautement technologique, tout en intégrant leur langue et leur culture crie dans tous les aspects du programme.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :