2019 Recipients — Teaching Excellence in STEM

Certificate of Excellence

Alberta


Tamarra Price Chambrinho

Tamarra Price Chambrinho

The "heart and soul" of her school's technology program, this long-time teacher brings technology opportunities to her remote community, while instilling leadership and mentoring skills, and fostering collaborative learning and digital literacy.

New Brunswick

Benjamin Kelly

Every student at this teacher's small rural school enrols in his STEM program, surveying with drones, building the first iOS apps in Atlantic Canada and connecting with the world through Skype, all while developing empathy and a sense of belonging.

Certificate of Achievement

Alberta

Andrea Catherine Bailey

Andrea Catherine Bailey

Science students take on projects such as designing, building and working with experts to refine exhibits for local science museum; students of all abilities benefit from this teacher's individualized approach to math and problem solving.

British Columbia

Kara Dawson

District leader brings cutting-edge technology to elementary schools in her area, introducing tools to support students who struggle in the traditional classroom and supporting educators so they can integrate STEM into their teaching.

Kelvin Dueck

Kelvin Dueck

If it takes jumping out of a plane to engage his students in science and math, this teacher will do it; on the ground, he makes physics fun and relevant: they rip a phone book in half, pilot a toy hovercraft and try out a bed of nails.

Manitoba

Arda Thomson

Arda Thomson

Bringing up the next generation of scientists and engineers, this educator introduces the scientific method and design process, focusing class work around tinkering and building; very young girls build structures and learn to use tools.

New Brunswick

Andrew Harris

Andrew Harris

Believing that creativity and collaboration are just as important as literacy and numeracy, this young educator blends Maker Ed with art, math, reading and writing; children learn to code, build robots and work with circuits—skills they'd typically learn only in later grades.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Nancy Alexandra Ryan

Nancy Alexandra Ryan

This environmental steward engages children with stories of her hobby farm, woodland, animals, and new technologies; children look after an extensive school garden, and learn about the local flora, fauna and geology on after-school hikes.

Ontario

Scott D. Currie

Scott D. Currie

Dedicated to pushing the boundaries of design, this teacher has students design and create products with a purpose and impact—including a new kitchen for the local food bank.

Aleda Klassen

Aleda Klassen

In a classroom that looks like a collaborative space at a tech start-up, this dedicated teacher harnesses technology to foster student success and facilitate assessment; hands-on approaches, and chocolate, engage reluctant math students.

Jacqueline Ross

Jacqueline Ross

This former research assistant grounds her teaching in her passion for research; via hands-on projects students test their digital literacy skills, figure out how to survive outdoors with no food, and collaborate to build models of an outdoor classroom.

Victor Samou Wong

Victor Samou Wong

Committed educator turned school into technology powerhouse, giving students from across the board the chance to use high-tech gear; he combines technology and art so they can express themselves and explore their cultural identity.

Quebec

Stéphane-Arbour

Stéphane Arbour

Managing a small television studio to broadcast school events; learning to repair electronic equipment to counter planned obsolescence; fund-raising to finance a competition: these are all projects this teacher has involved his students in to teach them to take on a challenge, see further ahead and make the most of their individual strengths.

Francys-Gauthier

Francys Gauthier

Moved by a contagious passion for STEM subjects, this teacher uses projects to push the boundaries of theoretical concepts by building on student-centred experimentation and learning. He also gathers mentors around him who contribute to the authenticity of the teaching projects he proposes.

<br>
Steve Julien

Steve Julien

A born educator, motivator and mentor, this teacher is passionate in his belief that caring, discipline and intellectual curiosity go hand in hand with experimentation and humour to create an engaging, stimulating learning space that encourages and supports his students' development and their ongoing desire to excel.

Christianne Loupelle

Christianne Loupelle

With her DIY approach to teaching STEM, this hands-on educator gets girls learning by doing; they are designing a playground, and put on an exhibition of paper dresses they designed and created to honour missing and murdered Indigenous girls and women.

Saskatchewan

Heather Faris

Heather Faris

Using personal stories, engaging demonstrations and even her pet snake to make learning meaningful, this teacher involves her students in real-life research and shares her strategies with other teachers so they can do the same.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Lauréats de 2019 — Excellence dans l'enseignement des STIM

Certificats d'excellence

Alberta

Tamarra Price Chambrinho

Tamarra Price Chambrinho

« Le cœur et l'âme » du programme de technologie de son école, cette enseignante de longue date offre à sa collectivité éloignée des possibilités technologiques, tout en inculquant des compétences en leadership et en favorisant l'apprentissage collaboratif et la littératie numérique.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Benjamin Kelly

Benjamin Kelly

Tous les élèves de la petite école rurale de cet enseignant s'inscrivent à son programme de STIM, ils pilotent des drones, construisent les premières applications iOS du Canada atlantique et se connectent au monde au moyen de Skipe, tout cela en développant un sentiment d'empathie et d'appartenance.

Certificats d'honneur

Alberta

Andrea Catherine Bailey

Andrea Catherine Bailey

Les élèves en science réalisent des projets de conception, de construction et de collaboration avec des experts en vue de peaufiner des expositions du musée local consacré à la science; les élèves, quelles que soient leurs capacités, bénéficient de l'approche individualisée de cette enseignante à l'égard des mathématiques et de la résolution de problèmes.

Colombie-Britannique

Kara Dawson

Cette chef de district introduit la technologie de pointe dans les écoles primaires de sa région, en proposant des outils pour aider les élèves qui éprouvent des difficultés dans une salle de classe traditionnelle et en aidant les éducateurs à intégrer les STIM dans leur enseignement.

Kelvin Dueck

Kelvin Dueck

S'il doit sauter en parachute pour susciter l'intérêt de ses élèves pour la science et les mathématiques, cet enseignant le fera; sur la terre ferme, il rend la physique amusante et pertinente : les élèves déchirent en deux un annuaire téléphonique, pilotent un aéroglisseur miniature et essaient un lit de clous.

Manitoba

Arda Thomson

Arda Thomson

Cette éducatrice initie la prochaine génération de scientifiques et d'ingénieurs à la méthode scientifique et au processus de conception en axant le travail classe sur le bricolage et la construction; des fillettes érigent des structures et apprennent à utiliser des outils.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Andrew Harris

Andrew Harris

Convaincu qu'il est tout aussi important d'apprendre à créer et à collaborer que d'apprendre à lire et à compter, ce jeune enseignant adapte la pédagogie de création à l'art, aux mathématiques, à la lecture et à l'écriture : les élèves apprennent à coder, à construire des robots et à travailler avec des circuits ‒ des compétences généralement enseignées plus tard.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Nancy Alexandra Ryan

Nancy Alexandra Ryan

Cette intendante de l'environnement mobilise les enfants en leur parlant de sa ferme d'agrément, de son boisé, de ses animaux, et nouvelles technologies ; les enfants s'occupent de l'immense jardin de l'école et étudient la flore, la faune et la géologie locales dans le cadre d'excursions parascolaires.

Ontario

Scott D. Currie

Scott D. Currie

Déterminé à repousser les limites de la conception, cet enseignant amène les élèves à concevoir et à créer des produits qui ont un but et une incidence, y compris une nouvelle cuisine pour la banque alimentaire locale.

Aleda Klassen

Aleda Klassen

Dans une classe aux allures de l'espace de collaboration d'une jeune entreprise technologique, cette enseignante dévouée utilise la technologie pour favoriser la réussite des élèves et faciliter l'évaluation; des approches pratiques, et du chocolat, suscitent l'intérêt des élèves pour les mathématiques.

Jacqueline Ross

Jacqueline Ross

Cette ancienne adjointe à la recherche fonde son enseignement sur sa passion pour la recherche; dans le cadre de projets pratiques, les élèves testent leurs compétences en littératie numérique, découvrent comment survivre à l'extérieur sans nourriture et collaborent à la création de modèles de classe en plein air.

Victor Samou Wong

Victor Samou Wong

Cet enseignant engagé a transformé l'école en centre d'innovation technologique en permettant aux élèves du conseil scolaire d'utiliser des appareils hautement sophistiqués; il allie la technologie et l'art pour permettre aux élèves de s'exprimer et d'explorer leur identité culturelle.

Québec

Stéphane-Arbour

Stéphane Arbour

Gérer un petit studio de télévision pour diffuser les activités scolaires; apprendre à réparer du matériel électronique pour contrer l'obsolescence programmée; collecter des fonds pour financer une compétition : ce sont tous là des projets dans lesquels cet enseignant engage ses élèves afin qu'ils apprennent à se mettre au défi, à voir plus loin et à exploiter leurs forces respectives.

Francys-Gauthier

Francys Gauthier

Mu par une passion contagieuse pour les STIM, cet enseignant multiplie les projets afin de repousser les limites des concepts théoriques en misant sur l'expérimentation qui met les élèves au cœur de leur apprentissage. Il rassemble aussi autour de lui des mentors qui contribuent à l'aspect authentique des projets pédagogiques qu'il met de l'avant.

Steve Julien

Steve Julien

Vulgarisateur né, motivateur et mentor, cet enseignant est un passionné qui croit en une approche où bienveillance, discipline et curiosité intellectuelle se marient à l'expérimentation et à l'humour pour créer un espace d'apprentissage engageant, stimulant qui encourage et soutient l'épanouissement de ses élèves et à leur désir de constant dépassement.

Christianne Loupelle

Christianne Loupelle

Grâce à son approche « faire soi-mêm. » pour l'enseignement des STIM, cette enseignante pratique aide les filles à apprendre par l'action; elles conçoivent un terrain de jeux et réalisent une exposition de robes de papier qu'elles ont conçues et fabriquées en hommage aux femmes et aux jeunes filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Saskatchewan

Heather Faris

Heather Faris

En recourant à des récits personnels, à des démonstrations animées et même à son serpent de compagnie pour donner un sens à l'apprentissage, cette enseignante fait vivre à ses élèves des expériences de recherche réelles et partage ses stratégies avec d'autres enseignants pour qu'ils fassent de même.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :