2019 Recipients – Teaching Excellence

Certificates of Excellence

2019 Recipients – Teaching Excellence

Alberta

Said El Mejdani

Said El Mejdani

One coding session led to a course and then a full computer science program led by this dedicated teacher; students created first-ever computing community events and prepare for technology-related jobs in the energy and other sectors.


Steven David Schultz

Steven David Schultz

From robotics to beekeeping, this "great listener" shares his wide-ranging passions with students and engages them through hands-on projects and activities that have inspired a surge of interest in STEM fields in central Alberta.


British Columbia

Michael Wilson Ross

Michael Wilson Ross

Young people build community and find their place in the world through comprehensive outdoor experiences program; hiking glaciers and sailing tall ships connects to the Grade 11 curriculum while fostering social and emotional growth.


Manitoba

Benjamin Alvin Paul

Benjamin Alvin Paul

Working in a diverse urban school, this teacher fosters inclusivity, enhances literacy across the school and gets teenagers outside, with a fishing rod in their hand.


Ontario

Louise Leclair-Bélanger

Louise Leclair-Bélanger

Nothing is impossible for this teacher who is always prepared to dive into projects her students propose. She encourages curiosity, risk-taking and active learning through projects that frequently arise from the classroom setting so that her students always seek to develop their skills and excel.


Lynn Wilkins

Lynn Wilkins

Respecting all students' strengths, needs and interests, this teacher develops elaborate hands-on projects—students in five grades at two schools formed companies to go to Mars—to foster inquiry and integrate technology.


Prince Edward Island

Frances Ann Squire

Frances Ann Squire

This award-winning children's author and published poet strives to bring out similar creativity in her students; they participate in literary competitions, display their art in local galleries and share their poetry with the public in a café.

Quebec

Sylvain Gauvreau

Sylvain Gauvreau

Concerned about both the very low graduation rate and the lack of interest among girls in science and technology, this teacher has made it his mission to develop a teaching style that speaks to his students' interests and reality, leading them to discover new passions through activities based on real-life and participation.

Saskatchewan

Karen Kennedy-Allin

Karen Kennedy-Allin

Caring about students until they care, this veteran teacher adapts her approach to various learning styles, stresses innovative thinking and learning though trial and error through hands-on projects and formative evaluations.

Yukon

Marie Bélanger

Marie Bélanger

Cartoons starring her students; production of video capsules; setting up a flexible classroom: this teacher spares no imagination or creativity to make her teaching dynamic and engage her students in concrete projects that often extend beyond the walls of their school.

Certificates of Achievement

Recipients of Certificates of Achievement

Alberta

Carol Bilawchuk

Carol Bilawchuk

Innovative learning activities see children explore their senses by making slime at Halloween, building an earthworm habitat to learn about creatures that consume natural waste, "selling" classmates on books they like and designing maps.


Brendan E. Hagan

Brendan E. Hagan

The primary goal of this teacher's wildly popular band program is to show he will support them all the way to whatever they want to achieve; he instils respect for teamwork and has students work with professionals.

British Columbia

Van Chau

Van Chau

Encouraging independence, punctuality, perseverance and grit, this inspiring teacher uses games and hands-on activities to build critical and creative-thinking skills, and ensure students can do, know and understand the curriculum.


Jennifer Henrichsen

Jennifer Henrichsen

Through outdoor adventures, year-long mastery projects and opportunities to contribute to the community and even math class, this teacher inspires middle-schoolers for lifelong learning and success.


Mary Elizabeth McCaw

Mary Elizabeth McCaw

This active educator models being an active learner in her unique outdoor Kindergarten; students learn about science out in nature and under a microscope; they write and present original stories inspired by their outdoor learning.


Stephanie Musgrove

Stephanie Musgrove

Children in this teacher's multicultural class learn about where they come from and get to take home the Briefcase of Science to do an experiment with their family; class activities—even taking attendance—spark creativity and curiosity.

Manitoba

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn

This proud Canadian of Ukrainian heritage has led the way in introducing Manitoba students to the Holodomor Genocide; students published a book on the event, with a related website and media resources; she spearheaded her school's involvement in a national Canada 150 educational event.


Greg Speiser

Greg Speiser

Always seeking ways to transform his teaching, this reflective educator gives students a solid conceptual foundation and then lets them lead their own learning through self-paced enquiries and group problem solving.


New Brunswick

Marc McWilliams

Marc McWilliams

30 years in the profession have in no way diminished this teacher's passion. Whether using robotics to change his students' attitude toward math, or coaching the school's volleyball team to help youngsters flourish, he supports students in a climate of mutual respect that encourages them to excel.


Northwest Territories

Deb Horen

Deb Horen

Students—the majority of whom are Indigenous—leave this teacher's classroom knowing how to code, sew moccasins, write persuasive essays and set a rabbit snare; they also come to feel acceptance, compassion and pride in their culture.


Nova Scotia

Melanie Kennedy

Melanie Kennedy

This teacher encourages a culture of respect, kindness and empathy in her classroom; students share their ideas with their peers and the world through performance.


Ontario

Catherine Chin Yet

Catherine Chin Yet

Seeking out community partnerships and experts to give students access to diverse voices and experiences, this servant leader helps youth of all abilities express themselves and care for each other's health and well-being.


Pareen Gill

Pareen Gill

For this thoughtful teacher, developing her young students' characters matters as much as academics; they learn how the brain works, practise mindfulness to self-regulate and focus better in class, and get opportunities to be leaders.


Douglas Hogue

Douglas Hogue

Approaching his young students from the "human side of teaching" has led this educator to use technology to level the playing field for children, explore the link between behaviour and success, and ensure children get plenty of outdoor time.


Kim Lussier

Kim Lussier

This teacher's flexible classroom and seating options suit learners of all styles, who collaborate on experiential projects and learn to use digital tools; at home, they fill their "I wonder…" journals with the results of their own research.


Julie Meloche

Julie Meloche

This teacher creates a culture of caring and inclusion in her classroom: social justice, leadership, and community service are some of the themes that help her students become complete citizens who are engaged and sensitive, who will then be able to transfer what they've learned to their community.


Craig Morrison

Craig Morrison

Running a small design and skateboard building business, this artistic educator warmly welcomes youth who do not fit into the regular school system; they learn with creative professionals, developing skills and increasing in confidence.


Terrance Alonza Saunders

Terrance Alonza Saunders

Having taught multiple generations in a neighbourhood with a high child-poverty rate, this inclusive educator ensures projects are relevant and gives students plenty of chances to build self-esteem and confidence through drama and dance.


Calvin D. Van Eek

Calvin D. Van Eek

A thoughtful listener, this compassionate educator, works to instil the same skill in his students, while working to understand where are coming from, prioritizing their mental health and setting them up with skill and knowledge for life.


Quebec

Jean-Philippe Bolduc

Jean-Philippe Bolduc

This teacher's goal is to bring students to thoughtful awareness through critical thinking and ethics, using activities where mistakes are encouraged and supported and where science and technology are learning tools that are both fun and rooted in the daily reality of our changing world.


Sarah Newton

Sarah Newton

Applying her extensive knowledge and experience, this teacher marries creativity and the basics through hands-on activities so children have fun learning but are also prepared for future academic challenges and real-life situations.


Marianne Rhéaume

Marianne Rhéaume

This teacher is always looking for new approaches and innovative activities to keep her students in a stimulating environment that encourages them to look at school as a living, concrete place of learning, open to our world that is constantly socially and technologically evolving.


Saskatchewan

Susan Brown

Susan Brown

This knowledgeable but humble educator creatively steps in to improve literacy—developing kits to prompt summer reading, broadcasting reading to build aural comprehension, and using vocabulary and word-matching games.


Michael Kurpjuweit

Michael Kurpjuweit

Digital tools in this talented musician's room help beginning players sound better and develop confidence, while all students learn about diversity through music from various cultures and perform at venues around the city.


Jeff Moore

Jeff Moore

Students explore poetry in nature, do science on the trail, go rock climbing and ice fishing, and learn Canadian history at local sites in a course created by a passionate environmentalist, earning five Grade 11 credits along the way.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Lauréats de 2019 – Excellence dans l’enseignement

Certificats d'excellence

Lauréats de 2019 – Excellence dans l'enseignement

Alberta

Said El Mejdani

Said El Mejdani

Une séance de codage a mené à un cours, puis à un programme informatique complet dirigé par cet enseignant dévoué; les élèves ont mis sur pied les tout premiers événements de la communauté informatique et se préparent aux emplois technologiques dans le secteur de l'énergie et dans d'autres secteurs.


Steven David Schultz

Steven David Schultz

De la robotique à l'apiculture, cet enseignant qui sait écouter partage ses passions diverses avec ses élèves et capte leur attention par le biais de projets et d'activités pratiques qui ont provoqué une vague d'intérêt pour les domaines des STIM dans le centre de l'Alberta.


Colombie -Britannique

Michael Wilson Ross

Michael Wilson Ross

Les jeunes créent un esprit de communauté et trouvent leur place dans le monde grâce à un programme complet d'activités de plein air; l'escalade de glaciers et la navigation de grands voiliers s'inscrivent dans le programme de 11e année et favorisent le développement social et affectif.


Manitoba

Benjamin Alvin Paul

Benjamin Alvin Paul

Travaillant dans une école urbaine diversifiée, cet enseignant favorise l'inclusion, améliore la littératie partout dans l'école, du nouvel apprenant de la langue anglaise à l'étudiant universitaire, et fait sortir les adolescents à l'extérieur, une canne à pêche à la main.


Ontario

Louise Leclair-Bélanger

Louise Leclair-Bélanger

Rien n'est impossible avec cette enseignante qui est toujours prête à sauter à pieds joints dans les projets proposés par ses élèves. Elle encourage la curiosité, la prise de risque et l'apprentissage actif afin que ses élèves, à travers des projets qui sortent souvent du cadre de la classe, cherchent toujours à développer leurs aptitudes et à se dépasser.


Lynn Wilkins

Lynn Wilkins

Respectant les forces, les besoins et les champs d'intérêt de tous les élèves, cette enseignante développe des projets pratiques élaborés–––des élèves de 5 niveaux de deux écoles ont mis sur pied des entreprises pour aller sur Mars ‒ pour favoriser la recherche et intégrer la technologie.


Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Frances Ann Squire

Frances Ann Squire

Cette autrice primée de littérature jeunesse et poétesse publiée s'efforce de stimuler ce genre de créativité chez ses élèves; ils participent à des concours littéraires, exposent leurs œuvres dans des galeries locales et partagent leurs poèmes avec le public dans un café.

Québec

Sylvain Gauvreau

Sylvain Gauvreau

Préoccupé tant par le trop faible taux de diplomation des jeunes que par le manque d'intérêt des filles pour la science et la technologie, cet enseignant s'est donné pour mission de développer une approche pédagogique qui s'inscrit dans les intérêts et la réalité de ses élèves, les amenant ainsi à se découvrir de nouvelles passions à travers des activités orientées vers l'authenticité et la participation.

Saskatchewan

Karen Kennedy-Allin

Karen Kennedy-Allin

S'efforçant de susciter l'intérêt des élèves, cette enseignante chevronnée adapte son approche en fonction des différents styles d'apprentissages, met l'accent sur la pensée innovatrice et l'apprentissage par essais et erreurs au moyen de projets pratiques et d'évaluations formatives.

Yukon

Marie Bélanger

Marie Bélanger

Création de bandes dessinées mettant ses élèves en vedette  ; production de capsules vidéo ; aménagement d'une salle de classe flexible : cette enseignante ne tarit pas d'imagination et de créativité pour rendre les apprentissages dynamiques et engager ses élèves dans des projets concrets qui dépassent souvent les murs de leur école.

Lauréats de 2019 – Excellence dans l'enseignement

Certificats d'honneur

Alberta

Carol Bilawchuk

Carol Bilawchuk

Dans le cadre d'activités d'apprentissage novatrices, les élèves explorent leurs sens en fabriquant du slime pour l'Halloween, en construisant un habitat pour les vers de terre pour étudier les créatures qui consomment des déchets naturels, invitent leurs camarades à découvrir des livres qu'ils aiment et conçoivent des cartes.


Brendan E. Hagan

Brendan E. Hagan

L'objectif premier du programme d'harmonie extrêmement populaire de cet enseignant consiste à démontrer qu'il les appuiera jusqu'au bout des objectifs qu'ils se seront fixés; il inculque le respect pour le travail d'équipe et amène les élèves à travailler avec des professionnels.

Colombie-Britannique

Van Chau

Van Chau

Encourageant l'indépendance, la ponctualité, la persévérance et la détermination, cette enseignante inspirante utilise des jeux et des activités pratiques pour développer le sens critique et la créativité de ses élèves et veille à ce qu'ils suivent, connaissent et comprennent le programme.


Jennifer Henrichsen

Jennifer Henrichsen

Que ce soit par le biais d'aventures en plein air, de projets et d'occasions de contribution à la collectivité qui durent toute l'année et même d'un cours de mathématiques, cette enseignante incite les élèves du premier cycle secondaire à apprendre et à réussir tout au long de leur vie.


Mary Elizabeth McCaw

Mary Elizabeth McCaw

Cette enseignante active se veut un exemple d'apprenant actif dans sa propre maternelle en plein air; les élèves étudient la science en pleine nature et au microscope; ils écrivent et racontent des histoires originales inspirées de leur apprentissage à l'extérieur.


Stephanie Musgrove

Stephanie Musgrove

Dans la classe multiculturelle de cette enseignante, les enfants étudient leurs origines et peuvent apporter à la maison un cartable scientifique pour faire une expérience avec leur famille; les activités en classe, même la prise de présence, suscitent la créativité et la curiosité.

Manitoba

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn

Cette fière Canadienne d'origine ukrainienne a été la première à parler du génocide de l'Holodomor aux élèves du Manitoba; les élèves ont publié un ouvrage sur l'événement et déployé un site Web et des ressources médiatiques. On lui doit la participation de son école à une activité éducative nationale dans le cadre de Canada 150.


Greg Speiser

Greg Speiser

Cherchant continuellement à transformer ses méthodes d'enseignement, cet enseignant perspicace donne aux élèves de solides fondements conceptuels puis les laisse diriger leur propre apprentissage au moyen d'enquêtes à leur propre rythme et de séances de résolution de problèmes en groupe.


Nouveau-Brunswick

Marc McWilliams

Marc McWilliams

30 ans de métier n'ont en rien altéré la flamme qui anime cet enseignant. Que ce soit en passant par la robotique pour modifier l'attitude de ses élèves face aux mathématiques, ou en soutenant l'équipe de volleyball de l'école afin d'aider les jeunes à s'épanouir, il accompagne les élèves dans un climat de respect mutuel qui les incite à se dépasser.


Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Deb Horen

Deb Horen

Les élèves, des Autochtones pour la plupart, quittent la classe de cette enseignante en sachant comment coder, coudre des mocassins, rédiger des essais convaincants et poser un collet à lièvre; ils en viennent également à sentir l'acceptation, la compassion et la fierté à l'égard de leur culture.


Nouvelle-Écosse

Melanie Kennedy

Melanie Kennedy

Cette enseignante encourage la culture du respect, de la gentillesse et de l'empathie dans sa classe; les élèves partagent leurs idées avec leurs camarades et avec le monde grâce à leurs prestations.


Ontario

Catherine Chin Yet

Catherine Chin Yet

En établissant des partenariats avec la collectivité et des experts pour offrir aux élèves un accès à divers points de vue et à diverses expériences, cette leader au service des autres aide les jeunes, quelles que soient leurs capacités, à s'exprimer et à se soucier de la santé et du bien-être d'autrui.


Pareen Gill

Pareen Gill

Pour cette enseignante attentionnée, il est tout aussi important de développer le caractère de ses jeunes élèves que leurs connaissances scolaires; ils étudient le fonctionnement du cerveau, pratiquent la méditation pour s'autoréguler et mieux se concentrer en classe et ont l'occasion d'être des chefs de file.


Douglas Hogue

Douglas Hogue

Mettant de l'avant « l'aspect humain de l'enseignement », cet éducateur utilise la technologie pour donner les mêmes chances à tous les enfants, explore le lien entre le comportement et la réussite et veille à ce que les enfants passent beaucoup de temps à l'extérieur.


Kim Lussier

Kim Lussier

Cette enseignante a créé une classe flexible qui permet aux élèves de choisir leur siège et qui convient à tous les types d'apprenants. Ils peuvent ainsi collaborer à des projets expérimentaux et apprendre à utiliser des outils numériques; à la maison, ils notent dans leur journal « Je me demande… » les résultats de leur propre recherche.


Julie Meloche

Julie Meloche

Cette enseignante cherche à créer une culture de bienveillance et d'inclusion au sein de sa classe : justice sociale, leadership, service communautaire font partie des thèmes qui aident ses élèves à devenir des citoyens à part entière, engagés et sensibles, qui sauront ensuite transposer leurs apprentissages dans leur communauté.


Craig Morrison

Craig Morrison

Exploitant une petite entreprise de conception et de fabrication de planches à roulettes, cet enseignant artistique accueille chaleureusement les jeunes qui ne trouvent pas leur place dans le système scolaire ordinaire; ils apprennent auprès de professionnels créatifs, développent des compétences et augmentent leur confiance.


Terrance Alonza Saunders

Terrance Alonza Saunders

Ayant enseigné à de nombreuses générations dans un quartier affichant un taux élevé de pauvreté infantile, cet éducateur inclusif fait en sorte que ses projets soient pertinents et donnent aux élèves beaucoup d'occasions de bâtir leur estime personnelle et leur confiance par le théâtre et la danse.


Calvin D. Van Eek

Calvin D. Van Eek

Auditeur réfléchi, cet enseignant bienveillant s'efforce de développer la même compétence chez ses élèves, tout en tentant de comprendre d'où ils viennent, de mettre au premier plan leur santé mentale et de leur inculquer des compétences et des connaissances pour la vie.


Québec

Jean-Philippe Bolduc

Jean-Philippe Bolduc

Cet enseignant a à cœur d'amener ses élèves à réaliser des prises de conscience réfléchies, critiques et éthiques à travers des activités où l'erreur est encouragée et soutenue, et où les sciences et la technologie sont des outils au service d'un apprentissage à la fois ludique et ancré dans la réalité du quotidien de notre monde en changement.


Sarah Newton

Sarah Newton

Grâce à ses connaissances approfondies et à sa vaste expérience, cette enseignante allie créativité et notions élémentaires dans le cadre d'activités pratiques pour faire en sorte que les enfants apprennent en s'amusant tout en se préparant à affronter les défis scolaires et situations réelles à venir.


Marianne Rhéaume

Marianne Rhéaume

Cette enseignante est toujours à la recherche de nouvelles façons de faire et d'activités innovantes afin de maintenir ses élèves dans un environnement stimulant qui les incite à approcher l'école comme un lieu d'apprentissage vivant, concret et ouvert sur notre monde en constante évolution sociale et technologique.


Saskatchewan

Susan Brown

Susan Brown

Cette enseignante avertie, quoiqu'humble, intervient de manière créative dans l'amélioration de la littératie. Elle développe des trousses pour inciter à la lecture estivale, diffuse des livres parlés pour améliorer la compréhension orale et utilise des jeux de vocabulaire et d'association de mots.


Michael Kurpjuweit

Michael Kurpjuweit

La classe de ce musicien talentueux est équipée d'outils numériques qui aident les joueurs débutants à sonner mieux et à prendre confiance, et permet à tous les élèves de s'initier à la diversité en écoutant de la musique de différentes cultures et en se produisant à différents endroits de la ville.


Jeff Moore

Jeff Moore

Les élèves étudient la poésie dans la nature, font de la science en forêt, de l'escalade et de la pêche sur la glace et étudient l'histoire du Canada en visitant des lieux locaux dans le cadre d'un cours créé par un environnementaliste passionné, ce qui leur permet d'acquérir cinq crédits de 11e année.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :