Archived — Recipient Bios

Year: 2002 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

Pat Bourne

School: Raymond Elementary School
Box 120
Raymond, Alberta  T0K 2S0

Principal: Randy Broadhead
School Telephone: 403-752-3004
School Fax: 403-752-4885
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 1-2, mathematics, language arts, science, social studies, physical education, art, technology

Teaching approach:

  • Make sure that each child is given an opportunity to develop self-discipline as well as a strong background in the basic building blocks for mastery of language and math skills.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Concerned for the welfare of every child, Bourne offers a consistent daily routine of teaching, modelling and both guided and independent practice of a range of academic and social skills. Maintains a balance of structure and flexibility that encourages creative problem solving and regular drill and practice.
  • Makes innovative and consistent use of technology in the classroom using a computer network to access software or Internet, then displays information on a TV screen to prepare children for daily computer assignments; schedules regular computer time for each student.
  • Pioneered use of Visual Phonics and PhonoGraphix software in the school to build language arts skills. Volunteered to attend training sessions and professional workshops, visited classrooms of other teachers using the software, piloted the programs in her own classroom for one year, then spent a summer preparing books, charts and other resources for fellow teachers at the school.

Shares her enthusiasm and expertise with fellow teachers through professional development sessions and in-school mentoring; pre-kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers work together as a teams to ensure students' success. Grade 3 students show higher than average results on provincial testing.

Rave reviews:

"She is an educator who can mould the curriculum to the needs of individual children. She is not afraid to go out of her 'comfort zone' for the well-being and learning moment of a child." Parent

"If I had the choice of any teacher to teach my children, Mrs. Bourne would be my first choice." Parent

Date modified:

Archivé — Bibliographies des lauréats

Année: 2002 – Province: Alberta

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

Pat Bourne

École: Raymond Elementary School
Box 120
Raymond, Alberta  T0K 2S0

Directeur: Randy Broadhead
Téléphone de l'école: 403-752-3004
Télécopieur de l'école: 403-752-4885
Années / Matières enseignées: Mathématiques, anglais, sciences, sciences sociales, éducation physique, arts et technologie, en 1re et 2e année

Méthode d'enseignement:

  • Veiller à ce que chaque enfant ait l'occasion de développer sa propre discipline et d'acquérir une base solide pour la maîtrise de la langue et des mathématiques.

Réalisations exceptionnelles:

  • Soucieuse du bien-être des enfants, Pat Bourne leur propose une routine quotidienne d'enseignement, de modèles de comportement, et de pratique guidée et indépendante de leurs compétences scolaires et sociales. Elle maintient un équilibre entre structure et souplesse qui stimule la créativité dans la résolution de problèmes, ainsi que la constance dans la pratique.
  • Elle emploie la technologie de manière novatrice et constante, en se servant notamment du réseau informatique pour accéder aux logiciels et à Internet, puis en affichant l'information sur un écran de télévision pour préparer les enfants à faire les devoirs d'informatique et pour établir un horaire quotidien d'utilisation de l'ordinateur pour chaque enfant.
  • Elle a lancé l'utilisation des logiciels Visual Phonics et PhonoGraphix à l'école pour l'apprentissage de la langue. Elle s'est portée volontaire pour assister aux séances de formation et aux ateliers professionnels; elle a visité la classe d'autres enseignants qui utilisaient ces logiciels; elle a fait l'essai de programmes dans sa propre classe pendant un an, puis elle a passé l'été à préparer des manuels, des tableaux et d'autres documents à l'intention de ses collègues de l'école.

Elle communique son enthousiasme et son savoir-faire à ses collègues en animant des ateliers de perfectionnement et des séances de tutorat à l'école; les enseignants de la prématernelle à la 3e année travaillent en équipe pour assurer le succès des élèves. Les élèves de 3e année obtiennent des résultats supérieurs à la moyenne aux tests provinciaux.

Commentaires élogieux:

« Elle est une éducatrice qui peut adapter le programme aux besoins individuels des enfants. Elle ne craint pas de prendre des risques pour assurer le bien-être des enfants et profiter des occasions d'apprendre. » Un parent

« Si je pouvais choisir un enseignant pour mon enfant, Mme Bourne serait mon premier choix. » Un parent

Date de modification :