Archived — Recipient Bios

Year: 2002 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

Betty MacLure

School: Wainwright Elementary School
905-10 Street
Wainwright, Alberta  T9W 2R6

Principal: Bob Allen
School Telephone: 780-842-3361
School Fax: 780-842-6499
School website: www.btrd.ab.ca/wainelem
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 2, all subjects

Teaching approach:

  • Children can make connections easier when the learning becomes real for them.
  • Students must have the ability to communicate effectively. Communication involves not only sharing your ideas, but also hearing the ideas of others and gaining knowledge from the experience.

Outstanding achievements:

Views printed resources as only one source of information and actively seeks out other learning opportunities for her students, creating units of study that draw on the Internet, videos and guest speakers to "make connections" for her students.

Draws on the interactive learning potential of computers and the Internet whenever possible. Class participated in the People of the World telecollaborative project, discovering through the project that learning goes far beyond the walls of a school. Students have worldwide "key pals" and create PowerPoint slide shows about their community, complete with digital pictures and research information.

Formed an after-school enrichment club offering students, committed to the pursuit of learning, challenges in a variety of disciplines. Students cultivate their creativity and expand their learning through a variety of projects, from developing robotic bugs to building battery-operated wooden cars. The program now has a waiting list of students wishing to join and parents enrol their children at Wainwright Elementary to take part in it.

Her skill and passion for teaching benefits troubled and learning disabled students as well as gifted students.

Rave reviews:

"She takes her children from where they are and takes them as far as possible." Principal

Date modified:

Archivé — Bibliographies des lauréats

Année: 2002 – Province: Alberta

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

Betty MacLure

École: Wainwright Elementary School
905-10 Street
Wainwright, Alberta  T9W 2R6

Directeur: Bob Allen
Téléphone de l'école: 780-842-3361
Télécopieur de l'école: 780-842-6499
Site Web de l'école: www.btrd.ab.ca/wainelem
Années / Matières enseignées: Toutes les matières, en 2e année

Méthode d'enseignement:

  • Il est plus facile de faire des liens quand la matière enseignée prend une forme concrète.
  • Les élèves doivent pouvoir communiquer efficacement. Pour cela, il faut savoir exposer ses propres idées, mais aussi écouter celles des autres et tirer des leçons de notre expérience.

Réalisations exceptionnelles:

Elle considère que le matériel imprimé n'est qu'une source d'information possible, et elle cherche activement d'autres occasions d'apprentissage pour ses élèves; elle crée des unités d'apprentissage qui font appel à Internet et à la vidéo, et invite des conférenciers qui aident les élèves à « faire des liens ».

Elle se sert du potentiel d'apprentissage interactif de l'informatique et d'Internet chaque fois que possible. La classe a participé à un projet de collaboration à distance, « People of the World », et a ainsi découvert que l'apprentissage déborde les murs de la classe. Les élèves ont des correspondants « de clavier » des quatre coins de la planète et créent des présentations PowerPoint au sujet de leur collectivité, avec une information complète et des photos numériques.

Elle a mis sur pied un programme parascolaire d'enrichissement qui fournit aux élèves motivés des défis d'apprentissage dans toute une gamme de disciplines. Les élèves cultivent leur créativité et élargissent leur apprentissage par différents projets, qui vont de la création d'insectes robots à la fabrication de voitures en bois fonctionnant à piles. Il y a maintenant une liste d'attente pour ce programme, et certains parents choisissent l'école Wainwright Elementary dans le but exprès d'y inscrire leur enfant.

Son talent et sa passion pour l'enseignement profitent autant aux élèves en difficulté qu'aux élèves doués.

Commentaires élogieux:

« L'enseignement de Betty MacLure est axé sur les élèves, et non sur le programme. Elle prend les enfants là où ils sont et les emmène le plus loin possible. » Le directeur

Date de modification :