Archived — Craig Brenan

Year: 2003 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: Victoria School for the Performing and Visual Arts
10210 - 108 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta T5H 1A8

Principal: Ingrid Neitsch
School Telephone: 780-426-3010
School Fax: 780-498-8727
School website: www.victoria-school.ca
Teacher Email: craig.brenan@epsb.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 8-12/music, social studies

Teaching approach:

A stimulating learning environment influences students to develop higher standards for themselves.

Students discover freedom through expression, strength and perseverance.

Outstanding achievements:

Mr. Brenan combines diverse interests such as fine arts (drama, dance, visual arts and literature), humanities (history and politics) and the sciences (physics and mathematics).

He uses music as a vehicle for communication, developing keen listening skills, since listening is as vital to a musician as expression.

He employs problem-solving games such as the 60-Second Club, in which students are required to play all 12 major scales in under a minute, and Band Olympics, in which students work in teams. He encourages students in their own research to further ignite their passion for music. He ensures that students don't just play music, but understand how music works and why they play it.

Mr. Brenan's musical activities stretch far beyond the classroom into private lessons, province-wide conferences, instrument choirs, provincial ensembles, and the Yardbird Suite Jazz Club, where he volunteers.

In Praise Of:

"Craig encourages his students to think differently about music; they have come to see it as a vibrant and exciting aspect of their lives and pursue it with more enthusiasm and commitment than they have in the past." - Colleague, Victoria School of Performing and Visual Arts

"Being in his class has changed my outlook on life and it has changed the direction I want to take my musical career. I know he has done the same for many of my peers, through his positive attitude and broad knowledge base." - Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Craig Brenan

Année : 2003 – Province : Alberta

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : Victoria School for the Performing and Visual Arts
10210 - 108 Avenue
Edmonton
(Alberta) T5H 1A8

Directeur : Ingrid Neitsch
Téléphone de l'école : 780-426-3010
Télécopieur de l'école : 780-498-8727
Site Web de l'école : www.victoria-school.ca
Courriel de l'enseignante : craig.brenan@epsb.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 8e à la 12e année / musique, sciences humaines

Méthode d'enseignement :

Craig Brenan souhaite créer un environnement d'apprentissage stimulant pour inciter les élèves à se fixer des normes plus élevées.

Les élèves peuvent découvrir la liberté par l'expression, la force et la persévérance.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

M. Brenan conjugue divers intérêts comme les beaux-arts (théâtre, danse, arts visuels et littérature), les lettres (contextes historique et politique de la musique) et les sciences (physique et mathématiques en rapport avec la musique).

Il se sert de la musique comme outil de communication en développant l'écoute et en montrant que l'écoute est aussi importante que l'expression pour un musicien.

Il fait appel à des jeux de résolution de problèmes comme le « club des 60 secondes » qui consiste pour les élèves à jouer les 12 gammes majeures en moins d'une minute ou les « olympiques des groupes musicaux » où les élèves travaillent en équipe. Il encourage les élèves à faire leurs propres recherches pour entretenir leur passion de la musique; il veille à ce que les élèves ne fassent pas que jouer la musique, mais à ce qu'ils comprennent comment fonctionne la musique et pourquoi ils la jouent.

Les activités musicales de M. Brenan s'étendent bien au-delà de la salle de classe, à des leçons privées, à des conférences à l'échelle de la province, à des chœurs d'instruments, à des ensembles provinciaux et à du bénévolat au Yardbird Suite Jazz Club.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Craig encourage ses élèves à penser différemment à la musique; il leur a permis de la considérer comme un aspect dynamique et passionnant de leur vie et de l'approfondir avec encore plus d'enthousiasme. » - Collègue, Victoria School of Performing and Visual Arts

« Ce cours a changé ma façon de voir la vie et orienté différemment ma carrière musicale. Je sais que c'est aussi le cas pour un grand nombre de mes pairs, grâce à l'attitude positive et aux vastes connaissances de l'enseignant. » - Élève

Date de modification :