Archived — Bill Howe

Year: 2003 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: Victoria School of Performing and Visual Arts
10210 - 108 Avenue NW
Edmonton, Alberta T5H 1A8

Principal: Ingrid Neitsch
School Telephone: 780-426-3010
School Fax: 780-498-8727
School website: http://victoria-school.ca
Teacher Email: Bill.Howe@epsb.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 10-12/English, philosophy, political philosophy

Teaching approach:

Ensures that the potential of every student is met and the curiosity of every student is sparked.

Encourages growth in all areas and uses visual and performing arts to fully understand literature.

Outstanding achievements:

Mr. Howe instituted a Buffet Friday to make his classes feel more like a community. Students with English classes on Fridays are welcome to bring snacks and treats to share with the class.

He is the founder and leader of the Victoria Social Justice Club, where students are invited to discuss issues. He organizes events for the Social Justice Group, which consists of 35-40 students. Under his guidance and support, the group has raised thousands of dollars for the construction of schools in Nicaragua, and has educated other students on issues such as domestic violence.

One hundred percent of his students have reached the "acceptable standard" in both their final grades and their achievement exams. He ensures that no student is left behind, and no one is ever left with the feeling that their ideas are less important or less valued than any others.

In Praise Of:

"This man has opened his personal life to these students by allowing them access to him at all hours, regardless of his personal time commitments. I don't believe the man has had a lunch break on his own since he started teaching." - Parent

"In his work, mentoring student teachers or writing a column for Law Now or drafting his Thesis on the moral imagination, Bill bears witness to a commitment to education and the infinite potential we all have for learning." - Assistant Principal

Date modified:

Archivé — Bill Howe

Année : 2003 – Province : Alberta

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : Victoria School of Performing and Visual Arts
10210 - 108 Avenue NW
Edmonton
(Alberta) T5H 1A8

Directeur : Ingrid Neitsch
Téléphone de l'école : 780-426-3010
Télécopieur de l'école : 780-498-8727
Site Web de l'école : http://victoria-school.ca
Courriel de l'enseignante : Bill.Howe@epsb.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 10e à la 12e année / anglais, philosophie, philosophie politique

Méthode d'enseignement :

Bill Howe veut que chaque élève réalise son plein potentiel et il cherche à piquer la curiosité de chacun d'entre eux.

Il veut aussi favoriser la croissance dans tous les domaines et pense que les arts visuels et les arts du spectacle sont nécessaires pour bien comprendre la littérature.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

M. Howe a institué un « buffet du vendredi » pour donner à ses cours une atmosphère plus communautaire. Les élèves qui ont un cours d'anglais le vendredi sont invités à apporter des goûters et des friandises, pour les partager avec la classe.

Il est directeur-fondateur du Victoria Social Justice Club, où les élèves sont invités à discuter de questions sociales. Il organise des activités pour le groupe de justice sociale, qui comprend 35-40 élèves. Sous sa direction et avec son soutien, le groupe a recueilli des milliers de dollars pour la construction d'écoles au Nicaragua, et il a fait connaître à d'autres élèves des dossiers comme la violence conjugale.

Tous ses élèves ont obtenu le niveau standard acceptable dans leur bulletin final et leurs évaluations. Il veille à ce qu'aucun élève ne prenne du retard ou n'aie l'impression que ses idées sont moins importantes ou utiles que celles des autres.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Cet homme a ouvert sa vie privée à ces élèves en leur permettant de communiquer avec lui à n'importe quelle heure, peu importe ses engagements personnels. Je ne crois pas que cet homme ait pris une pause-repas seul depuis qu'il a commencé à enseigner. » - Parent

« Dans le cadre de son travail, en encadrant les élèves, les professeurs, en préparant une chronique pour Law Now ou en rédigeant sa thèse sur l'imagination morale, Bill témoigne de son engagement à l'égard de l'éducation et de notre potentiel d'apprentissage illimité. » - Directeur adjoint

Date de modification :