Archived — Glyn R. Davies

Year: 2003 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: Henry Anderson Elementary School
9460 Alberta Road
Richmond, British Columbia V6Y 1T6

Principal: Dr. D. Craig Worthing
School Telephone: 604-668-6355
School Fax: 604-668-6354
School email: anderson@richmond.sd38.bc.ca
School website: public.sd38.bc.ca:8004/~AndersonWeb
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 6-7/all subjects

Teaching approach:

Creates the most exciting, motivating learning and leadership environment possible to make school the ultimate life experience for students.

Outstanding achievements:

The theme projects Mr. Davies has integrated into the classroom have proven effective and inspiring in engaging students. They make living and learning inseparable. Student-created castles, undersea worlds, pirates, ancient Egyptian tombs, jungles, roller coaster theme parks, and a cartoon town create a three-dimensional learning environment.

He empowers his students by letting them choose a topic of interest and becoming the leading expert in the chosen field. Students are responsible for researching their topic, contacting community experts, sharing the knowledge with their classmates and applying their new-found expertise.

Mr. Davies' class completed a five-metre mini roller coaster for the school's foyer. Students took on the roles of theme park operators, job site organizers, engineers, team leaders, audio/visual directors, photography and video technicians, and computer simulator program creators.

In Praise Of:

"Mr. Davies' classroom has a place for everyone. Students with histories of disruptive and sometimes violent behaviours would disappear into his class and would often reappear at a later date as leaders in a curricular or extracurricular activity." - Former Supervising Principal

"Mr. Davies is a truly remarkable educator who is continuously reviewing what it means to be a teacher in the presence of children's lives. He is a man of measure." - Principal

Date modified:

Archivé — Glyn R. Davies

Année : 2003 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : Henry Anderson Elementary School
9460 Alberta Road
Richmond
(Colombie-Britannique) V6Y 1T6

Directeur : Dr. D. Craig Worthing
Téléphone de l'école : 604-668-6355
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-668-6354
Courriel de l'école : anderson@richmond.sd38.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : public.sd38.bc.ca:8004/~AndersonWeb
Années / Matières enseignées : 6e et 7e année / toutes les matières

Méthode d'enseignement :

Il cherche à créer l'environnement le plus passionnant, le plus motivant possible pour l'apprentissage et le leadership, ainsi qu'à faire de l'expérience scolaire la meilleure pour les élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Glyn Davies a intégré des projets thématiques dans sa classe, ce qui s'est révélé un moyen efficace et inspirant de montrer aux élèves que la vie et l'apprentissage sont inséparables. Parmi les projets, citons la construction de châteaux, de mondes sous-marins, de pirates, de tombes égyptiennes anciennes, de jungles, de parcs thématiques avec montagnes russes, et d'une ville dessinée, pour créer un environnement d'apprentissage tridimensionnel.

Il responsabilise ses élèves en leur permettant de choisir un sujet qui les intéresse et à devenir l'« expert » dans le domaine choisi. Les élèves sont responsables d'approfondir le sujet, de communiquer avec des experts de la communauté, de partager le savoir acquis avec leurs camarades de classe et d'appliquer leur nouveau savoir-faire au projet en question.

La classe de Glyn Davies a récemment terminé une mini-montagne russe de cinq mètres exposée dans le hall de l'école. Les élèves ont joué le rôle d'exploitant de parc thématique, d'organisateur du site, d'ingénieurs, de chefs d'équipe, de directeurs audio-visuels, de techniciens en photographie et vidéo et de créateurs de programme de simulation par ordinateur.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Dans la classe de M. Davies chacun a sa place. Les élèves connus pour leur comportement perturbateur et parfois violent ne se font plus remarquer et resurgissent souvent par la suite comme chefs de file d'activités scolaires ou parascolaires. » - Ancien surveillant général

« M. Davies est un enseignant véritablement remarquable qui réévalue continuellement ce que signifie enseigner dans la vie des enfants. C'est un homme de mesure. » - Directeur

Date de modification :