Archived — April Nelson

Year: 2003 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: Rocky Mountain Elementary School
2400 Balmer Drive, PO Box 460
Elkford, British Columbia V0B 1H0

Principal: Hughie Twa
School Telephone: 250-865-4625
School Fax: 250-865-4451
School email: hugh.twa@sd5.gc.ca
Teacher Email: april.nelson@sd5.bc.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 2-3/language arts, social studies, science, math, physical education, art, technology, personal planning, music

Teaching approach:

Uses a holistic approach with an emphasis on student participation in their own learning.

Accepts, values and, wherever possible, builds upon all ideas.

Outstanding achievements:

Ms. Nelson spearheaded and leads school-wide social responsibility programs called Second Step (kindergarten to grade 3) and Steps to Respect (grades 4-7).

She makes learning very meaningful for students by drawing on their past knowledge and experiences. Thinking and processing skills are emphasized. Students love receiving "brain gems" (shiny bathroom beads) when they have made an important thinking connection. The approach allows everyone to achieve success.

She is involved in many extra-curricular activities such as coaching badminton, volleyball, cross country and basketball, sponsoring safety patrol, organizing and supervising primary noon hour activities, co-sponsoring the student council, and coordinating both the school's Winter Carnival and reading program.

In Praise Of:

"It was clearly evident that there was always a love of learning and a love of teaching: two basic ingredients for teacher excellence (in Mrs. Nelson's class)." - Retired Superintendent of Schools, S.D. No. 5 Southeast Kootenay

"Each student is treated with Mrs. Nelson's special elixir of fairness and kindness, with huge dashes of exploring unknown worlds, sprinkled with skills to become independent thinkers." - Youth Care Worker

Date modified:

Archivé — April Nelson

Année : 2003 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : Rocky Mountain Elementary School
2400 Balmer Drive, CP 460
Elkford (Colombie-Britannique) V0B 1H0

Directeur : Hughie Twa
Téléphone de l'école : 250-865-4625
Télécopieur de l'école : 250-865-4451
Courriel de l'école : hugh.twa@sd5.gc.ca
Courriel de l'enseignante : april.nelson@sd5.bc.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : 2e et 3e année / arts du langage, sciences humaines, sciences, mathématiques, éducation physique, art, technologie, organisation personnelle et musique

Méthode d'enseignement :

Mme Nelson fait appel à une approche globale en insistant sur la participation de l'élève à son propre apprentissage.

Toutes les idées sont acceptées, valorisées et, dans la mesure du possible, développées.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

April Nelson a lancé et dirige à l'école un vaste programme de responsabilité sociale appelé « Second Step » (de la maternelle à la 3e année) et « Steps to Respect » (de la 4e à la 7e année).

Elle donne un sens à l'apprentissage en faisant appel aux connaissances et aux expériences déjà acquises. Elle insiste sur la réflexion et le traitement de l'information - les élèves adorent recevoir des « pierres précieuses » (perles de bain brillantes) lorsqu'ils ont fait un lien important. Cette approche permet à tout le monde de réussir.

Elle participe à de nombreuses activités parascolaires comme l'entraînement au badminton, au volley-ball, à la course de fond et au basket-ball, le parrainage de la patrouille de sécurité, l'organisation et la supervision des principales activités offertes le midi, le co-parrainage du conseil étudiant et la coordination du carnaval d'hiver et du programme de lecture de l'école.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Il est clair que la passion d'apprendre et la passion d'enseigner existeront toujours : il s'agit de deux ingrédients de base de l'excellence des enseignants (dans la classe de Mme Nelson). » - Surintendant des écoles à la retraite, S.D. No. 5 Southeast Kootenay

« Chaque élève reçoit de Mme Nelson) un élixir particulier d'équité et de gentillesse, arrosé généreusement de mondes inconnus et parsemé des compétences nécessaires pour devenir des penseurs indépendants. » - Travailleuse auprès des jeunes

Date de modification :