Archived — Miro Gawinski

Year: 2003 – Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: Crocus Plains Regional Secondary School
1930 First Street
Brandon, Manitoba R7A 6Y6

Principal: Barry Gooden
School Telephone: 204-729-3900
School Fax: 204-727-2162
School email: crocusplains@brandonsd.mb.ca
School website: www.brandonsd.mb.ca/crocus/
Teacher Email: miro.gawinski@brandonsd.mb.ca
Teacher Website: www.brandonsd.mb.ca/crocus/departments/DesignDrafting/
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 11-12/design drafting

Teaching approach:

Prepares students for post-secondary education and the workplaces of the future. Reflects the environment that students will face when they leave high school, either for post-secondary education or for employment.

Outstanding achievements:

Through the cooperative program, Gawinski has placed students in real projects, providing an opportunity to contribute to the design of several major projects in Brandon and other locations in Manitoba. These designs include the student lounge/cyber café at Brandon University and parks and playgrounds for the City of Thompson.

He has volunteered to organize New Media Master Classes for Western Manitoba, providing students in rural Manitoba with an opportunity to learn from new media professionals.

Mr. Gawinski is a leader in the use of technology for design and is often asked to provide industry training in the community. His program was the only one in rural Manitoba to be selected by the Canadian Information Processing Society to be part of their CIPS@School Program. Students received funding to plan three information and communications technology career activities, where hundreds of students had the opportunity to learn from graphic designers and engineers.

In Praise Of:

"His work ethic is untiring. His creativity is extensive. His success is unquestionable." - Coordinator, Manitoba Network for Science and Technology

"A teacher is someone who helps you learn, but an exceptional teacher is someone who inspires you to invent, challenge existing ideas, and excel. Miro is a teacher who I consider exceptional." - Student, University of Manitoba

Date modified:

Archivé — Miro Gawinski

Année : 2003 – Province : Manitoba

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : Crocus Plains Regional Secondary School
1930 First Street
Brandon
(Manitoba) R7A 6Y6

Directeur : Barry Gooden
Téléphone de l'école : 204-729-3900
Télécopieur de l'école : 204-727-2162
Courriel de l'école : crocusplains@brandonsd.mb.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.brandonsd.mb.ca/crocus/
Courriel de l'enseignante : miro.gawinski@brandonsd.mb.ca
Site Web de l'enseignante : www.brandonsd.mb.ca/crocus/departments/DesignDrafting/
Années / Matières enseignées : 11e et 12e année / dessin-conception

Méthode d'enseignement :

M. Gawinski prépare les élèves aux études postsecondaires et au milieu de travail de l'avenir. Ses pratiques d'enseignement correspondent à l'environnement auquel les élèves feront face lorsqu'ils quitteront le secondaire pour des études postsecondaires ou un emploi.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Grâce au programme d'enseignement coopératif, M. Gawinski a placé des élèves dans des « projets réels », leur permettant de concevoir plusieurs ouvrages importants à Brandon et à d'autres endroits au Manitoba. Par exemple, ces travaux comprennent la conception du salon des étudiants/cybercafé de l'Université de Brandon et la conception d'un parc et terrain de jeu pour la ville de Thompson.

Il s'est porté volontaire pour organiser des ateliers de maître sur les nouveaux médias pour l'Ouest du Manitoba, offrant aux élèves en région rurale du Manitoba l'occasion d'apprendre de spécialistes des nouveaux médias.

Il est un chef de file de l'utilisation de la technologie pour la conception et on lui demande souvent de donner de la formation concernant l'industrie dans la collectivité. Le programme de M. Gawinski a été le seul programme des régions rurales du Manitoba à avoir été choisi par l'Association canadienne de l'informatique (ACI) pour faire partie du programme CIPS@School. Les élèves ont reçu des fonds pour planifier trois activités de carrière en technologie de l'information et de la communication, où des centaines d'élèves ont eu l'occasion d'apprendre de concepteurs graphiques et d'ingénieurs.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Il est inlassable au travail. Il fait preuve d'une grande créativité. Son succès est incontestable. » - Coordonnateur, Manitoba Network for Science and Technology

« Un enseignant est une personne qui vous aide à apprendre, mais un excellent enseignant est une personne qui vous pousse à inventer, à remettre en question des concepts existants et à réussir. Miro est un enseignant que je considère exceptionnel. » - Étudiant, Université du Manitoba

Date de modification :