Archived — Terry Thorsen

Year: 2003 – Province: Nova Scotia

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: Cobequid Educational Centre
34 Lorne Street
Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 3K3

Principal: Wayne Barrett
School Telephone: 902-896-5700
School Fax: 902-896-5707
School email: thorset@staff.ednet.ns.ca
School website: http://schools.ccrsb.ednet.ns.ca/cec/
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 10 and 12/mathematics

Teaching approach:

Motivates students to become independence, love of the intrinsic beauty of mathematics, the power of problem solving, appreciate the genius of creativity, adopt a strong work ethic, gain ability to be critical and wonder "what if," and make mathematics learning fun and challenging.

Encourages precision, clarity, deduction, induction, generalization and excellent study skills.

Outstanding achievements:

Mr. Thorsen developed a new "cafeteria style" method of testing and evaluating. By making available three levels of difficulty for each question, he challenges top math students and provides doable problems for others. Students can choose the level of question that matches their understanding of a topic but can still pass at the lowest level.

He also initiated a new mathematics course at the school designed for top level students coming in from grade 9. It ensures that these students have the skills and knowledge to advance to pre-calculus and be successful in science.

Mr. Thorsen pioneered new teaching methods and questions on tests and exams. His ideas have been published in the provincial mathematics journal and have been widely accepted and practiced by his colleagues throughout the province.

He coached and led students to achieve high ranks at both the Cayley and Fermat mathematics contests sponsored by the University of Waterloo. In the past two years, the school has garnered more than 25% of all the certificates of distinction in the province of Nova Scotia.

In Praise Of:

"Terry's abilities and desire to provide the best education possible to our students extends beyond the Mathematics department, as he has also been a leading proponent of a cross-discipline program of enrichment for our school, which is in its formative stages." - Vice-principal

"Mr. Thorsen has sparked an interest and a work ethic within me, both of which have helped me to achieve things that I would have never thought possible." - Former student

Date modified:

Archivé — Terry Thorsen

Année : 2003 – Province : Nouvelle-Écosse

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : Cobequid Educational Centre
34 Lorne Street
Truro
(Nouvelle-Écosse) B2N 3K3

Directeur : Wayne Barrett
Téléphone de l'école : 902-896-5700
Télécopieur de l'école : 902-896-5707
Courriel de l'école : thorset@staff.ednet.ns.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://schools.ccrsb.ednet.ns.ca/cec/
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 10e à la 12e année / mathématiques

Méthode d'enseignement :

Terry Thorsen motive les élèves à devenir indépendants, il leur apprend à aimer la beauté intrinsèque des mathématiques, le pouvoir de la résolution de problèmes, le génie de la créativité, l'importance d'une solide éthique de travail, la capacité d'exercer son esprit critique et de se poser la question « et si… ? », et il rend les mathématiques amusantes et stimulantes.

Il encourage aussi la précision, la clarté, la déduction, l'induction, la généralisation et offre une excellente façon d'étudier.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Terry Thorsen a développé une nouvelle méthode style « cafétéria » pour les tests et les évaluations. En offrant trois niveaux de difficulté pour chaque question, il stimule les meilleurs élèves en maths tout en proposant des problèmes faisables aux élèves moins doués. Les élèves peuvent choisir le niveau de difficulté de la question qui correspond à leur compréhension d'une notion, et passer le niveau le plus bas.

Il a aussi initié à l'école un nouveau cours de mathématiques conçu pour les meilleurs élèves arrivant en 9e année. Il veille à ce que ces élèves possèdent les compétences et le savoir nécessaire pour passer au pré-calcul infinitésimal et pour réussir en sciences.

Il a expérimenté de nouvelles méthodes d'enseignement et de nouvelles questions de tests et d'examens. Les idées de Terry Thorsen ont été publiées dans la revue de mathématiques provinciale et elles sont largement acceptées et appliquées par ses collègues dans la province.

Il a encadré et dirigé des élèves pour leur permettre de se classer parmi les meilleurs aux concours de mathématiques de Cayley et Fermat parrainés par l'Université de Waterloo. Depuis deux ans, l'école a obtenu plus de 25 p. 100 de tous les « certificats de distinction » de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Les capacités et le désir de Terry d'offrir la meilleure éducation possible à nos élèves s'étend au-delà du département de mathématiques, puisqu'il a aussi été l'un des principaux promoteurs d'un programme interdisciplinaire d'enrichissement pour notre école, qui en est à ses étapes formatives. » - Directeur adjoint

« M. Thorsen a fait naître en moi un intérêt et une éthique de travail qui m'ont aidé à faire des réalisations que je n'aurais jamais cru possibles. » - Ancien élève

Date de modification :