Archived — Bernadette Berthelotte

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: W.F. Herman Secondary School
1930 Rossini Blvd.
Windsor, Ontario N8W 4P5

Principal: Tom Halliwill
School Telephone: 519-944-4700
School Fax: 519-944-3809
School website: www.hermangriffins.com
Teacher Email: bernadette_berthelotte@gecdsb.on.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 9-12/instrumental music

Teaching approach:

Uses music to teach tolerance, cultural awareness, cultural diversity, accommodation of special needs and camaraderie.

Mentors students to reach their goals.

Early is on time and on time is late.

Outstanding achievements:

The music program has grown from one part-time grade 9 instrumental class to a full time program with many instrumental classes from Grades 9-12. Berthelotte is responsible for organizing a yearly feeder school tour that shows prospective students what the music program has to offer. Grade 12 students are responsible for behind-the-scenes activities such as advertising and promotion.

She introduced daily "listening journals" where students research, listen to and write about a piece of music that is outside their usual experience. Students traditionally write about how the piece makes them feel, or how the piece reminds them of something. The journals are used as an evaluation tool.

Ms. Berthelotte also spearheaded a parent/teacher committee to raise funds for music program activities, equipment, upgrades and tours.

She has strong ties to the Windsor Symphony Orchestra, which provides students with an opportunity to learn from professional musicians, attend performances and be conducted by the Symphony's head conductor.

In Praise Of:

"… in my opinion, the music program at Herman is the best it has ever been as a result of Bernadette's commitment and on-going efforts." - Assistant Professor, College of Education, University of South Carolina

"I feel that my life has been enriched by Ms. Berthelotte and all that she has done. I met her as a music teacher, but now she is a mentor, an inspiration, and a good friend." - Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Bernadette Berthelotte

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : W.F. Herman Secondary School
1930 Rossini Blvd.
Windsor
(Ontario) N8W 4P5

Directeur : Tom Halliwill
Téléphone de l'école : 519-944-4700
Télécopieur de l'école : 519-944-3809
Site Web de l'école : www.hermangriffins.com
Courriel de l'enseignante : bernadette_berthelotte@gecdsb.on.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 9e à la 12e année / musique instrumentale

Méthode d'enseignement :

Mme Berthelotte est convaincue que le programme de musique doit servir à enseigner la tolérance, la sensibilisation culturelle, la diversité culturelle, les besoins spéciaux, l'adaptation aux besoins et la camaraderie.

Elle encadre les élèves pour leur permettre d'atteindre leurs objectifs - « être d'avance, c'est être à l'heure et être à l'heure, c'est être en retard ».

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Le programme de musique est passé d'un cours d'instrument de 9e année à un programme à temps plein avec de nombreux cours de musique instrumentale de 9e-12e années. Mme Berthelotte est chargée d'organiser tous les ans une visite pour montrer aux élèves potentiels ce que le programme de musique offre. Les élèves de 12e année sont responsables des activités d'arrière-plan, comme la publicité et la promotion.

Elle a introduit des journaux d'écoute dans lesquels les élèves approfondissent, écoutent et décrivent un morceau de musique auquel ils ne seraient pas normalement exposés. Les élèves décrivent en général ce que leur a inspiré le morceau ou ce que le morceau leur rappelle. À titre d'activité quotidienne, les journaux servent d'outils d'évaluation.

Elle dirige aussi un comité parent-enseignant pour recueillir des fonds destinés aux activités liées au programme de musique, à l'équipement, à la mise à niveau et aux visites.

Elle entretient des liens solides avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Windsor, qui offre aux élèves l'occasion d'apprendre auprès de musiciens professionnels, d'assister aux spectacles et de jouer sous la direction du chef d'orchestre.

Commentaires élogieux :

« … à mon avis, le programme de musique de l'école Herman est meilleur que jamais grâce à l'engagement et aux efforts incessants de Bernadette. » - Professeure adjointe, College of Education, University of South Carolina

« J'ai l'impression que ma vie a été enrichie par Mme Berthelotte et tout ce qu'elle a fait. Je l'ai rencontrée à titre de professeure de musique, mais c'est maintenant un mentor, une inspiration, et une bonne amie. » - Élève

Date de modification :