Archived — Celiza Ribeiro

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: St. Therese of the Child Jesus School
6930 Forest Park Drive
Mississauga, Ontario L5N 6X7

Principal: Claire Devlin
School Telephone: 905-785-0066
School Fax: 905-785-0075
Teacher Email: celiza.ribeiro@dpcdsb.org
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 1, 4-5 and 8/special education

Teaching approach:

We must believe in change, must know it is possible, or we wouldn't be teaching - because education is a constant process of change.

Every single time you teach something, it is ingested, something is done with it, and a new human being emerges.

Outstanding achievements:

Ms. Ribeiro serves as a Special Education Resource teacher, developing curriculum and assisting students with academic learning difficulties, language problems, social and behavioural issues. She also serves as an academic resource to those children in the regular program.

Her resource room is designed with the student as the focus and maximum efficiency as the goal. She develops trust, encourages students to accept their individual learning styles and establishes a sense of calm before they begin to work. She examines every child's learning profile for effective planning.

Ms. Ribeiro also led the school's special education team and school staff in developing and implementing practices that emphasize teacher accountability, student ability level programming, objective assessment and evaluation, and honest parent reporting and consulting.

She was instrumental in setting up many literary activities, including the Primary Literacy Room, which involved leading a team of teachers in purchasing equipment and literary resources, as well as organizing thousands of books in an easy access format. The result is a top notch resource for teachers. Ribeiro is also a member of the school's learning team, which is analyzing and revising the school's assessment and evaluation practices.

In Praise Of:

"Overall, Celiza is the kind of teacher that keeps special services members hopeful and confidant that positive change is possible for all individuals, particularly those students who face additional challenges." - School Psychologist

"Celiza demonstrates daily the role of a reflective professional who has the care of her students at the heart of all that she does. Her giving of self is an amazing phenomena to witness." - Colleague

Date modified:

Archivé — Celiza Ribeiro

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : St. Therese of the Child Jesus School
6930 Forest Park Drive
Mississauga
(Ontario) L5N 6X7

Directeur : Claire Devlin
Téléphone de l'école : 905-785-0066
Télécopieur de l'école : 905-785-0075
Courriel de l'enseignante : celiza.ribeiro@dpcdsb.org
Années / Matières enseignées : 1re, 4e, 5e et 8e année / éducation spécialisée

Méthode d'enseignement :

Mme Ribeiro dit qu'à titre d'enseignants, nous devons croire au changement, nous devons savoir que le changement est possible, sinon nous n'enseignerions pas B puisque l'enseignement est un processus de changement constant.

Chaque fois que quelque chose est enseigné à quelqu'un, c'est absorbé, c'est terminé et un nouvel être humain émerge.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Mme Ribeiro est l'enseignante spécialisée dans les ressources en éducation spécialisée qui prépare des programmes et aide les élèves qui ont des difficultés scolaires, des problèmes d'élocution, des difficultés sur le plan social et comportemental, tout en étant une personne-ressource scolaire pour les enfants du programme régulier.

Sa salle de ressources est conçue en fonction de l'élève et d'une efficacité maximale. Elle crée un climat de confiance pour permettre aux élèves de commencer à accepter leur style d'apprentissage différent et pour créer une atmosphère de tranquillité avant qu'ils ne commencent à travailler. Elle examine le profil d'apprentissage de chaque enfant en vue d'une planification efficace.

Elle a aussi dirigé l'équipe d'éducation spécialisée de l'école et aidé le personnel de l'école à créer et à mettre en œuvre des pratiques qui insistent sur la reddition des comptes par les enseignants, la programmation en fonction de la capacité des élèves, l'évaluation des objectifs, ainsi que sur des rapports honnêtes avec les parents et leur consultation.

Elle contribue à organiser de nombreuses activités littéraires, y compris la salle de littéracie primaire, pour laquelle elle a amené une équipe d'enseignants à acheter de l'équipement, des ressources littéraires et organisé des milliers de livres, afin de les rendre facilement accessibles, ce qui constitue une ressource de haut niveau pour les enseignants. Celiza Ribeiro fait aussi partie de l'équipe d'apprentissage de l'école, qui analyse et révise les pratiques d'évaluation.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Dans l'ensemble, Celiza est le genre d'enseignante qui entretient l'espoir des membres des services spéciaux et les rend confiants que tous les individus peuvent changer pour le mieux, en particulier les élèves qui font face à des défis supplémentaires. » - Psychologue de l'école

« Celiza montre tous les jours qu'elle est une professionnelle réfléchie qui a ses élèves à cœur dans tout ce qu'elle fait. Le don qu'elle fait d'elle-même est un phénomène fascinant. » - Collègue

Date de modification :