Archived — Martin Wilkinson

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: Collingwood Collegiate Institute
6 Cameron Street
Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 2J2

Principal: Russell Atkinson
School Telephone: 705-445-3161
School Fax: 705-444-9270
School website: http://cci.scdsb.on.ca
Teacher Email: mwilkinson@cci.scdsb.on.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 10 and 12/history, civics, political science

Teaching approach:

Inspiring today's youth, tomorrow's leaders.

Citizenship is something to do everyday, not something that can only be studied.

Everyone has something to contribute.

Outstanding achievements:

Mr. Wilkinson developed an interdisciplinary course package entitled World Class, focusing on global citizenship. Students took part in online activities with students in other countries, such as Germany and the United States.

He travelled to El Salvador with two of his World Class program graduates to aid a school that the World Class and Amnesty International groups helped establish. Sadly, the school was destroyed by an earthquake, but he started a massive relief drive for the victims, collecting blankets and clothing.

Mr. Wilkinson integrates technology in the classroom to engage all students using a variety of techniques. Students learn about the research process, writing historical essays and developing the skills to be lifelong learners. They practice problem solving while developing critical thinking skills.

He is an active member of the Ontario Secondary Schools Teacher's Federation and has participated in the Teacher Institute on Parliamentary Democracy. He made presentations at the Ontario History and Social Science Teacher's Association conference in 1991 and 2003.

In Praise Of:

"… Whether it is a small town in El Salvador or a community group in need closer to home, it is because of (Martin's) vision that students become active participants in our global village." - Colleague

"Dozens of us are actively involved in building stronger communities locally, and globally, and I know that Marty will continue to make it possible for many more to follow in our footsteps; he has made a career of it." - Research Assistant, Robarts Centre for Canadian Studies

Date modified:

Archivé — Martin Wilkinson

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : Collingwood Collegiate Institute
6 Cameron Street
Collingwood
(Ontario) L9Y 2J2

Directeur : Russell Atkinson
Téléphone de l'école : 705-445-3161
Télécopieur de l'école : 705-444-9270
Site Web de l'école : http://cci.scdsb.on.ca
Courriel de l'enseignante : mwilkinson@cci.scdsb.on.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 10e à la 12e année / histoire, éducation civique et science politique

Méthode d'enseignement :

Martin Wilkinson croit qu'il faut inspirer les jeunes d'aujourd'hui, qui sont les dirigeants de demain.

La citoyenneté s'exerce tous les jours, ce n'est pas seulement une matière à étudier.

Tout le monde a quelque chose à donner.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

M. Wilkinson a mis au point un cours interdisciplinaire intitulé « World Class » axé sur la citoyenneté du monde, dans lequel les élèves participent à des activités en ligne avec des élèves d'autres pays comme l'Allemagne et les États-Unis.

Il s'est rendu au Salvador avec deux de ses diplômés du programme World Class, pour aider une école que les groupes World Class et Amnistie internationale avaient contribué à mettre sur pied. Malheureusement, l'école a été détruite par un tremblement de terre. Mais il a amorcé une collecte massive de fonds d'aide aux victimes, en recueillant des couvertures et des vêtements.

Il intègre la technologie en classe, grâce à diverses techniques, pour faire participer tous les élèves. Les élèves apprennent comment effectuer des recherches, rédiger des comptes rendus historiques, ils se munissent des compétences qui leur permettront de continuer à apprendre toute leur vie et ils s'exercent à la résolution de problèmes, tout en développant une pensée critique.

M. Wilkinson est un membre actif de la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants des écoles secondaires de l'Ontario et il a participé au Teacher Institute on Parliamentary Democracy. Il a été présentateur aux conférences de l'Ontario History and Social Science Teacher's Association de 1991 et 2003.

Commentaires élogieux :

« … Que ce soit pour répondre aux besoins d'une petite ville du Salvador ou d'un groupe communautaire à proximité, c'est grâce à la vision de Martin que les élèves deviennent des participants actifs au sein de notre village mondial. » - Collègue

« Des douzaines d'entre nous cherchent activement à bâtir des communautés plus fortes à l'échelle locale et à l'échelle mondiale, je sais que Marty continuera à ouvrir la voie; il en a fait une carrière. » - Adjoint de recherche, Robarts Centre for Canadian Studies

Date de modification :