Archived — Peggy Hoffman

Year: 2003 – Province: Quebec

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

School: École secondaire Bialik
6500, chemin Kildare
Côte St-Luc
, Quebec H4W 3B8

Principal: Elaine Wisenthal Milech
School Telephone: 514-481-2736
School Fax: 514-483-6391
School email: ddk@bialikmtl.ca
School website: www.bialikmtl.ca
Teacher Website: www.bialikmtl.ca/~p.hoffman
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 3-5/English

Teaching approach:

Encourages students to express personal viewpoints and to use personal reflection as they develop their critical thinking and analytical skills.

Motivates students to develop and enhance their self-expression, whether in oral or written format.

Outstanding achievements:

Hoffman pioneered the Portrait Poetry project, where students use poetry to reflect on and express their thoughts about someone who is close to them. The poem is complemented with one visual piece and one verbal piece to complete the portrait. The three-part portrait is then framed and presented to the class.

She introduces students to social and psychological issues in literature and discusses how literature reflects society and culture. She encourages remedial students to participate in the "book club" held daily during lunch hour, and is always available to students or small groups at these meetings.

Ms. Hoffman also created a website, Bialik Reads, where students submit critiques on novels, providing an ever-growing list of recommended reading for students, parents and the community. She initiated the production of a student literary journal.

She is the director of the school play, organized and coached the school's first SmartAsk team, a Novella writing competition held at the school during an eight-hour period on a Sunday, and is head of the English Language Arts Department.

In Praise Of:

"Seeing the goals of education through Peggy's eyes and actions is enlightening and refreshing, humbling and inspirational. If teaching is an art, Peggy is a master from whom I have the pleasure of learning." - Vice Principal

"She has developed many relationships with her students over the years, as she has been both mentor and role model to many." - Parent

Date modified:

Archivé — Peggy Hoffman

Année : 2003 – Province : Québec

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

École : École secondaire Bialik
6500, chemin Kildare
Côte St-Luc (Québec) H4W 3B8

Directeur : Elaine Wisenthal Milech
Téléphone de l'école : 514-481-2736
Télécopieur de l'école : 514-483-6391
Courriel de l'école : ddk@bialikmtl.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.bialikmtl.ca
Site Web de l'enseignante : www.bialikmtl.ca/~p.hoffman
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 9e à la 11e année / anglais

Méthode d'enseignement :

Mme Hoffman encourage les élèves à exprimer leurs points de vue et à utiliser la réflexion personnelle pour développer leur pensée critique et leurs compétences analytiques.

Elle motive les élèves à mieux s'exprimer, soit oralement soit par écrit.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Mme Hoffman a dirigé le projet de « poésie portrait », où les élèves utilisent la poésie pour réfléchir et exprimer leurs pensées sur une personne qui leur est chère. Le poème est accompagné d'une pièce visuelle et d'une pièce vocale pour compléter le portrait. Le portrait en trois parties est ensuite encadré et présenté à la classe.

Elle initie les élèves aux enjeux sociaux et psychologiques dans la littérature et explique comment la littérature est un reflet de la société et de la culture. Elle encourage les élèves en récupération à participer au « club de lecture » qui a lieu pendant les heures du déjeuner et elle est toujours disponible pour les élèves ou les petits groupes dans le cadre de réunions quotidiennes qu'elle tient pendant le déjeuner.

Elle a également créé un site Web -- Bialik Reads -- où les élèves soumettent des critiques de romans, offrant ainsi une liste grandissante de lectures recommandées pour les élèves, les parents et la communauté. Elle a lancé la production d'une revue d'alphabétisation des élèves.

Mme Hoffman est la metteure en scène de la pièce de théâtre de l'école; elle a organisé et entraîné la première équipe de SmartAsk, un concours de rédaction de nouvelles tenu à l'école pendant une période de huit heures le dimanche, et elle est responsable du département d'anglais.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Le fait de voir les objectifs de l'éducation du point de vue de Peggy, et traduits par ses gestes, est édifiant, rafraîchissant et stimulant; c'est une leçon d'humilité. Si l'enseignement est un art, Peggy est un maître de qui j'ai le plaisir d'apprendre. » - Directrice adjointe

« Elle a établi de nombreuses relations avec ses élèves au fil des années, puisqu'elle a été à la fois mentor et modèle pour plusieurs. » - Parent

Date de modification :