Archived — Donna Neilson

Year: 2003 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: Rockridge Secondary School
5350 Headland Drive
West Vancouver, British Columbia V7W 3H2

Principal: Thomas Longridge
School Telephone: 604-981-1300
School Fax: 604-981-1301
School website: www.sd45.bc.ca/rockridge
Teacher Email: donnaneilson@shaw.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 9, 11-12 / mathematics, English

Teaching approach:

All children want to learn and be the best they can be.

Teachers must take ownership of, and responsibility for, moving students to higher levels of achievement.

Students respond positively to structured and collaborative learning strategies.

Outstanding achievements:

Mrs. Neilson uses innovative teaching practices in the classroom to help students be more creative, independent and curious. A firm believer in giving students the tools to excel, Mrs. Neilson was instrumental in bringing new provincial writing and reading performance standards to the school and District. Her leadership in this area is now inspiring other schools to adopt these standards.

She also encourages team planning for each grade level, including sharing curriculum materials, and coordinating the planning and administration of assessment materials. She also brings a team approach to the classroom with students cooperating on challenging assignments in order to build self-confidence and improve performance of all.

Always willing to help others, Mrs. Neilson is much sought after as a mentor to new teachers. She shares with them the best of her teaching experience - from connecting with students to best practices on lesson planning, delivery, assessment and evaluation.

In Praise Of:

"Through creativity, direct and honest approach, discussions, insistence on correct, completed assignments, and her readiness to help, she brought her students to know the joy of English while providing them with the tools for correct expression." - Parent

"The greatest thing a teacher can do is teach to the individual rather than generically teaching the entire class. This is precisely what Mrs. Neilson does: she caters to the individual's needs and takes time to help faltering students before they develop a problem." - Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Donna Neilson

Année : 2003 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : Rockridge Secondary School
5350 Headland Drive
West Vancouver
(Colombie-Britannique) V7W 3H2

Directeur : Thomas Longridge
Téléphone de l'école : 604-981-1300
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-981-1301
Site Web de l'école : www.sd45.bc.ca/rockridge
Courriel de l'enseignante : donnaneilson@shaw.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : 9e, 11e et 12e année / mathématiques et anglais

Méthode d'enseignement :

Tous les enfants veulent apprendre et développer leur plein potentiel.

Les enseignants doivent prendre la charge et la responsabilité d'amener les élèves à des niveaux de rendement supérieurs.

Les étudiants réagissent positivement aux stratégies d'apprentissage collaboratives et structurées.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Mme Neilson utilise des pratiques d'enseignement innovatrices dans la classe pour aider les élèves à faire preuve d'une plus grande créativité, indépendance et curiosité. Croyant fermement à donner aux élèves les outils pour exceller, Mme Neilson a joué un rôle déterminant dans l'adoption par l'école et du District de nouvelles normes provinciales en rédaction et en lecture. Son leadership dans ce domaine inspire maintenant d'autres écoles à adopter ces normes.

Elle encourage également la planification d'équipes pour chaque niveau, y compris le partage du matériel d'enseignement, de même que la coordination de la planification et de l'administration du matériel d'évaluation. Par ailleurs, elle croit à l'esprit d'équipe dans la classe, ou les étudiants travaillent ensemble sur des exercices exigeants afin d'accroître la confiance en soi et d'améliorer le rendement de tous.

Toujours prête à aider les autres, Mme Neilson est très en demande à titre de mentor auprès des nouveaux enseignants. Elle partage avec eux son expérience de l'enseignement, que ce soit sur la façon d'établir le contact avec les élèves ou de mettre en pratique les meilleures pratiques sur la planification, l'exécution et l'évaluation des leçons.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Par une approche créative, directe et honnête, des discussions, l'insistance sur des devoirs bien faits et sa volonté à aider, elle amène ses élèves à connaître les joies de l'anglais tout en leur fournissant les outils pour s'exprimer comme il se doit. » - Un parent

« La meilleure chose qu'un enseignant ou une enseignante peut faire est d'enseigner à l'individu au lieu d'enseigner à la classe en général. C'est précisément ce que Mme Neilson fait : elle répond aux besoins de chaque individu et prend le temps d'aider les élèves en difficulté avant qu'ils n'éprouvent des difficultés. » - Un élève

Date de modification :