Archived — Andrew Hickey

Year: 2003 – Province: Newfoundland and Labrador

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: Holy Heart High School
55 Bonaventure Avenue
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3Z3

Principal: David Cooper
School Telephone: 709-754-1600
School Fax: 709-754-0855
School website: www.hhm.k12.nf.ca
Teacher Email: andrewhickey@esdnl.ca
Teacher Website: www.hhm.k12.nf.ca/faculty.php?readbio=ahickey
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 11-12 / earth systems, environmental, cooperative education

Teaching approach:

Emphasizes communication, respect, cooperation, responsibility and the development of the whole person in teaching practices.

Education is all encompassing and should include experiences in and out of school.

Provides hands-on experience to reach the largest possible number of students.

Outstanding achievements:

Mr. Hickey often uses hands-on learning activities to stimulate students' imaginations and creative abilities. For example, he spearheaded a school mural project, based on the theme of exploring the earth's geological history. Students from every grade participated - researching the earth's history, choosing a specific era, and then designing and painting murals throughout the school.

He also initiated a number of website projects, which gave students opportunities to use videos, digital cameras, audio, scanners and various types of software, to tell the story of unique aspects of Canada's natural resources.

Lessons are built around everyday items to ensure that all students can grasp complex scientific ideas. Under his creative eye, M & M candies become a way to explain radioactive isotypes, and moose stew and caribou sausages become a way to discuss conservation management.

An outdoor enthusiast, Mr. Hickey initiated an outdoor excursion program at the school. The annual trip to Gros Morne National Park provides all students with the opportunity to explore the natural wonders and conduct scientific field studies within the incredible world heritage site. And to ensure that everyone takes part, he organizes fundraisers to help students cover the cost of the trip.

In Praise Of:

"Andrew Hickey is an exceptional teacher whose hard work and enthusiasm has resulted in outstanding learning experiences for his students." - Education Specialist

"Mr. Hickey recognizes each student's unique assets and makes each student feel appreciated and accomplished, both inside and outside the classroom." - Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Andrew Hickey

Année : 2003 – Province : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : Holy Heart High School
55 Bonaventure Avenue
St. John's
(Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) A1C 3Z3

Directeur : David Cooper
Téléphone de l'école : 709-754-1600
Télécopieur de l'école : 709-754-0855
Site Web de l'école : www.hhm.k12.nf.ca
Courriel de l'enseignant : andrewhickey@esdnl.ca
Site Web de l'enseignant : www.hhm.k12.nf.ca/faculty.php?readbio=ahickey
Années / Matières enseignées : 11e et 12e année / systèmes de la terre, environnemental, enseignement coopératif

Méthode d'enseignement :

Mettre l'accent sur la communication, le respect, la collaboration, la responsabilité et le développement de la personne dans son ensemble dans les méthodes d'enseignement.

L'éducation est un tout et devrait inclure les expériences vécues tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de l'école.

Offrir de l'expérience pratique afin d'atteindre le plus grand nombre d'élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

M. Hickey se sert souvent d'activités d'apprentissage pratique pour stimuler l'imagination et les aptitudes créatives des élèves. Par exemple, il a mené un projet de murales à l'école, qui se base sur le thème de l'exploration de l'histoire géologique de la terre. Les élèves de tous les niveaux y ont participé - en effectuant des recherches sur l'histoire de la terre, en choisissant une ère particulière, et en concevant et en peignant des murales dans toute l'école.

Il a également lancé plusieurs projets de sites Internet, qui donnaient l'occasion aux élèves de se servir de vidéos, d'appareils photo numériques, de l'audio, des scanneurs et divers types de logiciels, afin de raconter des aspects uniques des ressources naturelles du Canada.

Les leçons portent sur des faits quotidiens afin de s'assurer que tous les élèves comprennent les idées scientifiques complexes. Sous sa gouverne créative, les bonbons M & M peuvent expliquer les isotypes radioactifs de même que le ragoût d'orignal et les saucisses de caribou deviennent une façon de discuter la gestion de la conservation.

Amateur de plein air, M. Hickey a mis sur pied un programme d'excursion à l'école. Le voyage annuel au parc national Gros Morne donne l'occasion à tous les élèves d'explorer les merveilles naturelles et d'entreprendre des études sur le terrain de ce lieu patrimonial mondial incroyable. Et pour s'assurer que tout le monde y prend part, il organise des levées de fonds pour aider les élèves à couvrir les frais du voyage.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Andrew Hickey est un enseignant exceptionnel dont le travail et l'enthousiasme ont donné lieu à des expériences d'apprentissage remarquables pour ses élèves. » - Une spécialiste en éducation

« M. Hickey reconnaît les aspects uniques de chacun de ses élèves et fait en sorte que chaque élève se sent apprécié et épanoui tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de la classe. » - Un élève

Date de modification :