Archived — Mary McBride

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: Banting Memorial High School
Box 3000, 203 Victoria Street E.
Alliston, Ontario L9R 1W7

Principal: John Fallis
School Telephone: 705-435-6288
School Fax: 705-435-3868
School email: banting@scdsb.on.ca
School website: http://ban.scdsb.on.ca
Teacher Website: http://TeacherWeb.com/on/bmhs/mcbride
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 9-12 / Latin, Ancient Greek, French

Teaching approach:

Education can broaden students' horizons and help them lead more rewarding lives.

Always respects student effort and gives prompt feedback.

Active participation and excellent attendance are vital to success in learning a language.

Outstanding achievements:

Passionate about the classics, Ms. McBride shares her enthusiasm with students. In her words, "Learning another language is fun. It expands your knowledge of English, and it enriches your acquaintance with another culture."

Ms. McBride makes Latin, Ancient Greek and French come alive through field trips to museums and cultural centres, exchanges with American Latin students and European travel. She provides an understanding of the cultural history as well as the language.

She teams up struggling students with stronger classmates to ensure that everyone can actively participate. As well, she is always available for extra help during lunches and after school. Ms. McBride is also passionate about helping students excel. Every year, she puts a team together to compete at the Classics Conference at Brock University. Last year, the school placed third overall for its strong efforts in academics, athletics and creative contests.

Ms. McBride has written thousands of study questions to help prepare her students for contests. She introduced the Junior Classical League and Certamen (a contest that tests classical knowledge using buzzers) in Ontario.

Ms. McBride's website directs her students to other sites which include interactive quizzes.

She has also collected more than 1000 specialized classical books. These materials are an invaluable resource for current students, graduate students and fellow teachers.She recognizes students for their hard work and achievements, including providing prizes for excellent attendance as well as for outstanding academic achievement.

In Praise Of:

"There can be no greater tribute to one's success than to be perceived as a passionate learner and to communicate passion to others. It is the essence of that we set out to do. Ms. McBride has been fulfilling that ideal for generations of students over a lifetime." - Assistant Professor, retired

"She teaches life and how to embrace it to the fullest. Ms. McBride has done this by making herself available to her students to discuss not only schoolwork, but also day-to-day life on an informal basis. Her ability to connect with her students in this matter is truly remarkable!" - Parent

Date modified:

Archivé — Mary McBride

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : Banting Memorial High School
Box
3000, 203 Victoria Street E.
Alliston
(Ontario) L9R 1W7

Directeur : John Fallis
Téléphone de l'école : 705-435-6288
Télécopieur de l'école : 705-435-3868
Courriel de l'école : banting@scdsb.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://ban.scdsb.on.ca
Site Web de l'enseignante : http://TeacherWeb.com/on/bmhs/mcbride
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 9e à la 12e année / latin, ancien grec, français

Méthode d'enseignement :

L'éducation peut élargir les horizons des élèves et les aider à mener une vie plus satisfaisante.

Elle respecte toujours l'effort que fait un élève et fournit des commentaires incitatifs.

La participation active et l'excellente assiduité sont essentielles pour apprendre une langue.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Grande passionnée des études anciennes, Mme McBride partage son enthousiasme avec ses élèves. Selon elle, « apprendre une autre langue est amusant. Cela élargit sa connaissance de l'anglais et enrichit la base d'une autre culture. »

Mme McBride fait en sorte que le latin, l'ancien grec et le français prennent vie grâce à des excursions dans des musées et des centres culturels, aux échanges avec des étudiants d'Amérique latine et aux voyages en Europe. Elle permet d'élargir le sens social de des élève grâce a l'information sur l'histoire culturelle et les langues.

Elle jumelle des élèves qui ont de la difficulté avec des condisciples plus forts afin de s'assurer que tout le monde participe activement. Par ailleurs, elle est toujours disponible pour donner un coup de main durant l'heure du dîner ou après les classes. Aider les élèves à exceller lui tient particulièrement à cœur. Chaque année, elle met sur pied une équipe pour participer au concours organisé dans le cadre du congrès sur les études anciennes (Classics Conference) de l'Université Brock. L'an dernier, l'école s'est classée au troisième rang en raison de ses valeureux efforts dans les domaines scolaires, athlétiques et en concours créatifs.

Mme McBride a écrit des milliers de questions d'études afin de préparer ses élèves à des concours. Elle apporte en Ontario le Junior Classical League and Certamen (concours qui évalue - à l'aide d'une sonnette - les connaissances classiques des élèves). Le site Internet de Mme McBride dirige aussi les élèves à d'autres sites qui fournissent des concours interactifs.

Elle a également fait collection de plus de 1000 bottins classiques. Ces documents sont une source précieuse pour les élèves actuels, les diplîmés et les enseignants. Elle reconnaît en outre les élèves pour leur travail et leurs accomplissements, notamment en remettant des prix mensuels par l'excellente assiduité ainsi que pour une participation exemplaire.

Commentaires élogieux :

« On ne peut recevoir meilleur hommage de sa réussite qu'en étant reconnu comme un apprenant passionné et de communiquer sa passion aux autres. C'est la base de ce que nous tentons d'accomplir. Mme McBride a su réaliser cet idéal pour des générations d'élèves tout au cours de sa vie. » - Enseignante adjointe, à la retraite

« Elle enseigne la vie et comment la vivre pleinement. Pour ce faire, Mme McBride s'est rendue disponible à ses élèves afin de discuter non seulement de leurs devoirs mais également de la vie quotidienne et ce, de façon conviviale. Sa capacité de communiquer avec ses élèves à ce niveau est vraiment remarquable! » - Un parent

Date de modification :