Archived — Steven Hammel

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: Woodview Children's Centre
69 Flatt Road
Burlington, Ontario L7R 3X5

Principal: Jane Powell
School Telephone: 905-689-4727
School Fax: 905-689-2474
School email: wcc@woodviewchildrenscentre.com
School website: www.woodviewchildrenscentre.com
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 1- 4 / special education, literacy, numeracy, visual and creative arts

Teaching approach:

Teaching children with special needs encompasses many qualities including patience, empathy, and a sense of responsibility for each student's progress - both academically and socially.

Promotes students' thirst for knowledge by giving them the confidence they need to be all they want to be.

Stresses the importance of students' ability to function and adapt in their world.

Outstanding achievements:

Through individualized curricula, and by creating a stimulating learning environment, Mr. Hammel helps autistic students succeed. He puts a lot of time into developing resources to connect with students - such as artwork, caricatures, word searches, math activities and writing assignments. He also uses computers and other technologies in the classroom to spark students' interest. Most encouraging of all, many of his students go on to enter a regular school setting.

Mr. Hammel's concern for his students is matched by a passion for finding new ways to help his students learn and develop socially. He developed new methods for integrating academics and therapy into the classroom, as well as an instruction guide, based on the understanding that a child cannot be treated effectively in isolation. Today he is recognized as a leader in the field of research, literacy development, child development and special education.

Mr. Hammel has received numerous awards, including the Halton District School Board's Award of Distinction in recognition of his self-published book in support of literacy.

In Praise Of:

"Steve has an innate empathy for the young students with whom he works. He is always calm and reassuring while at the same time setting clear structure and consistent expectations." - Principal, Halton District School Board

"I have been impressed with the creative and original ideas that he has developed. He provides both a stimulating and innovative learning environment not only for the students but for other educators." - Teacher (1994/95 past PMA recipient)

Date modified:

Archivé — Steven Hammel

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : Woodview Children's Centre
69 Flatt Road
Burlington (Ontario) L7R 3X5

Directeur : Jane Powell
Téléphone de l'école : 905-689-4727
Télécopieur de l'école : 905-689-2474
Courriel de l'école : wcc@woodviewchildrenscentre.com
Site Web de l'école : www.woodviewchildrenscentre.com
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 1re à la 4e année en éducation spéciale / alphabétisation, calcul, arts visuels et créatifs

Méthode d'enseignement :

Enseigner aux enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux englobe de nombreuses qualités, dont la patience, l'empathie et un sens de responsabilité à l'égard du progrès de chaque élève - tant sur le plan scolaire que social.

Promouvoir la soif des élèves à apprendre en leur donnant la confiance qu'ils ont besoin pour atteindre leur plein potentiel.

Souligner l'importance de l'aptitude des élèves à fonctionner et à s'adapter dans leur monde.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Par le biais d'un programme individualisé et de la création d'un milieu d'apprentissage stimulant, M. Hammel aide des élèves autismes à réussir. Il consacre de nombreuses heures à élaborer des ressources afin de communiquer avec ses élèves, notamment par l'art, les caricatures, la recherche de mots, des activités de mathématiques et des exercices de rédaction. Il se sert également de l'informatique et d'autres technologies dans sa classe pour susciter l'intérêt des élèves. Fait encourageant pour tous, un grand nombre de ses élèves réussissent à entrer dans une école ordinaire.

Le dévouement de M. Hammel à l'égard de ses élèves n'a d'équivalent que sa passion pour trouver de nouvelles façons d'aider ses élèves à apprendre et à se développer sur le plan social. Il a élaboré de nouvelles méthodes pour intégrer les études et la thérapie dans la salle de classe, ainsi qu'un guide d'enseignement, qui se fonde sur le fait qu'un enfant ne peut pas être traité de façon efficace en étant isolé. Aujourd'hui, il est reconnu en tant que chef de file dans le domaine de la recherche, de l'apprentissage de l'écriture, du développement de l'enfant et de l'éducation spéciale.

M. Hammel a reçu de nombreux prix, dont le prix de distinction décerné par le conseil scolaire du district de Halton en reconnaissance de son livre publié à compte d'auteur sur l'alphabétisation.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Steve a un souci inné pour les jeunes élèves avec lesquels il travaille. Il est toujours calme et réassurant en ayant toutefois une structure claire et des attentes cohérentes. » - Directrice, conseil scolaire du district de Halton

« J'ai été impressionnée par ses idées créatives et originales qu'il a élaborées. Il assure un milieu d'apprentissage stimulant et novateur non seulement pour les élèves mais pour les autres enseignants. » - Une enseignante (ancienne lauréate des PPM - 1994-1995)

Date de modification :