Archived — Carolyn Wilson

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: St. Michael Catholic Secondary School
240 Oakdale Avenue
Stratford, Ontario N5A 7W2

Principal: Tim Doherty
School Telephone: 519-271-0890
School Fax: 519-271-8250
School website: smcss.hpcdsb.edu.on.ca
Teacher Email: carolyn_wilson@hpcdsb.edu.on.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 11-12 / media studies, Canadian and world issues

Teaching approach:

Helps students develop a thirst for learning throughout their lives.

Fosters respect and a sense of community with students.

Outstanding achievements:

Ms. Wilson helps students better understand world trends and issues by discussing events and critically examining how the different media convey messages about these events.

She has also pioneered an exciting interdisciplinary program in media studies and global education, which allows her students to get involved in community outreach and a billeting experience in the Dominican Republic. This "life-changing" experience broadens students understanding of the world, and they are often called upon to share their experiences with young people across the province.

Ms. Wilson is also president of the Association for Media Literacy in Ontario. She co-authored the best selling textbook, Mass Media and Popular Culture, Version 2, and prepares study guides for CHUM Television's classroom programming. She has given numerous workshops on a range of topics including global studies and the media, gender representation, and the role of media literacy in communications technology programs.

In Praise Of:

"Ms. Wilson is more to me than just a teacher. She is an inspiration and a hero. She has broadened my horizons and inspired me to do great things." - Student

"My daughter has taught in immigrant and refugee centres, jails, alternative schools, and international language schools B displaying the same creativity, passion, and cultural sensitivity which was modeled for her by Ms. Wilson." - Parent

Date modified:

Archivé — Carolyn Wilson

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : St. Michael Catholic Secondary School
240 Oakdale Avenue
Stratford
, Ontario N5A 7W2

Directeur : Tim Doherty
Téléphone de l'école : 519-271-0890
Télécopieur de l'école : 519-271-8250
Site Web de l'école : smcss.hpcdsb.edu.on.ca
Courriel de l'enseignante : carolyn_wilson@hpcdsb.edu.on.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : 11e et 12e année / études des médias, enjeux canadiens et mondiaux

Méthode d'enseignement :

Aider les élèves à développer une soif d'apprendre pendant toute leur vie.

Favoriser le respect et un sens aigu de communauté chez les élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Mme Wilson aide les élèves à mieux comprendre les tendances et les questions mondiales en discutant des événements et en examinant de façon critique comment les différents médias transmettent les messages au sujet des événements.

Elle a également été à l'origine d'un excitant programme interdisciplinaire dans le domaine des études des médias et de l'éducation interculturelle, qui permet aux élèves de prendre connaissance des outils de sensibilisation communautaire et de vivre une expérience d'échange en République dominicaine. Cette expérience « marquante pour la vie » aide les élèves à avoir une meilleure compréhension du monde, et ils sont souvent appelés à partager leur expérience avec des jeunes dans toute la province.

Mme Wilson est également présidente de l'Association for Media Literacy de l'Ontario. Elle a co-écrit le best-seller Mass Media and Popular Culture, Version 2 et préparé des guides d'étude pour les programmes en salle de classe de la télévision CHUM. Elle a également donné de nombreux ateliers sur divers sujets, notamment des études globales et des médias, la répartition hommes-femmes, et le rôle des connaissances des médias dans les programmes de la technologie des communications.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Mme Wilson est plus qu'une enseignante pour moi. Elle est une inspiration et une héroîne. Elle a élargi mes horizons et m'a inspirée à faire de grandes choses. » - Une élève

« Ma fille a enseigné dans des centres d'immigrants et de réfugiés, des prisons, des écoles parallèles et des écoles internationales de langue B faisant montre de la même créativité, passion et sensibilité culturelle qui lui ont été léguées par Mme Wilson. » - Un parent

Date de modification :