Archived — Virginia Winfield

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: St. Joseph High School
3333 Greenbank Road
Nepean, Ontario K2J 4J1

Principal: Greg Mullen
School Telephone: 613-823-4797
School Fax: 613-823-9573
School website: www2.occdsb.on.ca/sjh/index.php
Teacher Email: Virginia_Winfield@occdsb.on.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 12 / Writer's Craft, English Literature

Teaching approach:

Educators have to find ways to both inspire and connect with their students.

Students must be given an equal opportunity to learn, to rise to their potential and to celebrate success.

Outstanding achievements:

Mrs. Winfield brings literature, math and other subjects to life in surprising and exciting ways. For literature class, she often transforms the classroom into a scene from a novel, including dressing up as one of the main characters. She then encourages her students to get into the spirit of the novel.

She also looks to new media to find creative ways to reach her students. For example, she created a "survivor" program, based on the ideas from the television show, which has been replicated by other teachers in the school.

She also established a catering company so that students in the special education class can learn how to apply their math and English skills in the real world - following recipes, shopping for ingredients, preparing menus and serving meals at various meetings and other special events at the school.

Extra-curricular activities have always played a big role in Mrs. Winfield's career; she has been involved in activities such as debating, drama club, creative writing club, student council, and the Duke of Edinburgh. Through this program, she helps students reach out to their communities while developing practical skills.

In Praise Of:

"Mrs. Winfield has a gift - the joy of learning - which she readily and generously shares with her students and colleagues. Her good-natured approach and positive attitude are infectious." - Principal, Pathways for Success

"A genuine, supportive, energetic individual, Mrs. Winfield pours her whole heart into everything she does. Her zest for life is evident in every project she commits herself to, and I truly believe that Mrs. Winfield is one of the greatest teachers I have ever known." - Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Virginia Winfield

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : St. Joseph High School
3333 Greenbank Road
Nepean
(Ontario) K2J 4J1

Directeur : Greg Mullen
Téléphone de l'école : 613-823-4797
Télécopieur de l'école : 613-823-9573
Site Web de l'école : www2.occdsb.on.ca/sjh/index.php
Courriel de l'enseignante : Virginia_Winfield@occdsb.on.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : 12e année / rédaction, littérature anglaise

Méthode d'enseignement :

Les enseignants doivent trouver des façons d'inspirer leurs élèves et communiquer avec eux.

Les élèves doivent jouir du principe d'égalité des chances pour apprendre, atteindre leur potentiel et célébrer leur réussite.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Mme Winfield donne vie à la littérature, aux mathématiques et à d'autres sujets de façons surprenantes et excitantes. Dans sa classe de littérature, elle transforme la classe en une scène tirée d'un roman, se déguisant même comme l'un des principaux personnages. Elle invite ensuite ses élèves à se plonger dans l'esprit du roman.

Elle se tourne également vers les nouveaux médias pour trouver des façons créatives à faire contact avec ses élèves. Par exemple, elle a créé un programme de « survivant », basé sur les idées de l'émission de télévision, qui a été emprunté par d'autres enseignants de l'école.

Elle a également établi une entreprise de traiteur afin que les élèves dans la classe d'éducation spéciale puissent apprendre comment appliquer les mathématiques et l'anglais dans le vrai monde - en suivant des recettes, en magasinant pour les ingrédients, en préparant les menus et en servant des repas au cours de diverses réunions et autres événements spéciaux de l'école.

Les activités à l'extérieur des heures de l'école ont toujours fait partie intégrante de la carrière de Mme Winfield; elle consacre son temps au club de débat, au club d'art dramatique, au club de rédaction créative, au conseil étudiant, et au programme du Duc d'Édimbourg. Grâce à ce programme, elle aide les étudiants à participer dans leur collectivité tout en développant des compétences pratiques.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Mme Winfield a un don - la joie d'apprendre - qu'elle partage volontiers et généreusement avec ses élèves et collègues. Son bon caractère et son attitude positive sont contagieux. » - Directrice, Pathways for Success

« Une personne vraie, attentionnée et énergique, Mme Winfield met tout son cœur dans ce qu'elle fait. Son amour pour la vie est manifeste dans tous les projets auxquels elle participe et je crois fermement que Mme Winfield est l'une des meilleures enseignantes que j'aie connue. » - Une élève

Date de modification :