Archived — Mark Robbins

Year: 2003 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: Madawaska Valley District High School
341 John Street South
Hwy. 62, R.R. #1
Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0

Principal: Mike Shulist
School Telephone: 613-756-3048
School Fax: 613-756-1783
School email: mvdhs_office@renfrew.edu.on.ca
School website: www.renfrew.edu.on.ca/sec/mvd/index2.htm
Teacher Email: mark_robbins@fc.renfrew.edu.on.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 9-12 / music

Teaching approach:

Music is an important part of young people's development, whether they are gifted musicians or not.

Music programs should be designed to give all students the chance to succeed by focusing on listening to, praising and encouraging all students regardless of ability.

Outstanding achievements:

Mr. Robbins shares his passion for music with his students. His innovative approach to teaching ensures that all students feel they are integral to the overall success of the group. One outstanding program is his peer-tutoring initiative, in which senior students' coach younger music students. This approach has helped young students gain more confidence and become better listeners.

He also uses new technologies to give students more opportunities to experiment with music. He was the first teacher to bring music instrument digital interface technology to Renfrew County schools, and has raised thousands of dollars to improve the school's music program and facilities.

Today, the school's music lab has state-of-the-art equipment capable of recording, mixing and producing compact discs. As a result of these efforts, students can explore the way music is being composed and manipulated in today's world. They also learn how to play pieces of music, adapt and arrange music, and even to compose new pieces.

Mr. Robbins also invites professional musicians into the school to share their gifts and love of music with the whole school community.

In Praise Of:

"The wide scope and variety of the music program combined with Mark's nurturing and encouraging manner, provides a place for any pupil regardless of skill or background to become involved and have an opportunity to experience personal success and growth." - Principal

"From Mark Robbins, my daughter and many, many other students have learned the value of living with passion. He has passion for music, passion for education and passion for people. He does not teach about it, he merely lives it." - Head of Science (retired)

Date modified:

Archivé — Mark Robbins

Année : 2003 – Province : Ontario

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : Madawaska Valley District High School
341 John Street South
Hwy. 62, R.R. #1
Barry's Bay (Ontario) K0J 1B0

Directeur : Mike Shulist
Téléphone de l'école : 613-756-3048
Télécopieur de l'école : 613-756-1783
Courriel de l'école : mvdhs_office@renfrew.edu.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.renfrew.edu.on.ca/sec/mvd/index2.htm
Courriel de l'enseignante : mark_robbins@fc.renfrew.edu.on.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : De la 9e à la 12e année / musique

Méthode d'enseignement :

La musique est une partie importante du développement des jeunes, qu'ils soient des musiciens accomplis ou non.

Les programmes de musique devraient être conçus pour donner à tous les élèves la chance de réussir en misant sur l'écoute, des éloges et l'encouragement de tous les élèves, sans égard à leur capacité.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

M. Robbins partage sa passion pour la musique avec les élèves. Grâce à son approche novatrice à l'enseignement, tous les élèves sentent qu'ils font partie de la réussite globale du groupe. Un programme qui se démarque est son initiative d'enseignement par les pairs, où les élèves du cycle supérieur encadrent les plus jeunes élèves en musique. Cette approche a aidé les jeunes élèves à acquérir de la confiance et à mieux écouter.

Il se sert également des nouvelles technologies pour offrir aux élèves plus d'occasions d'expérimenter avec la musique. Il a été le premier enseignant à introduire la technologie numérique d'instruments de musique dans les écoles du conté de Renfrew et a recueilli des milliers de dollars afin de raffiner le programme de musique de l'école et les installations.

Aujourd'hui, le laboratoire de musique de l'école compte de l'équipement à la fine pointe de la technologie qui peut enregistrer, mixer et produire des disques compacts. Grâce à ses efforts, les élèves peuvent explorer la façon dont la musique est composée et manipulée dans le monde d'aujourd'hui. Ils apprennent également à jouer des pièces de musique, à adapter et à faire les arrangements de pièces musicales, et même à composer de nouvelles pièces.

M. Robbins invite également des musiciens professionnels à l'école afin de partager leur talent et leur amour de la musique avec l'ensemble de l'école.

Commentaires élogieux :

« La grande variété et portée du programme de musique combinée au soutien et aux encouragements de Mark permettent d'offrir à tous les élèves sans égard à leur capacité ou à leurs antécédents la possibilité de participer et de vivre des moments personnels enrichissants. » - Un directeur

« Ma fille, de même que de nombreux autres élèves, ont appris de Mark Robbins la valeur de vivre avec passion. Il a la passion de la musique, la passion de l'enseignement et la passion des gens. Il ne l'enseigne pas, il la vit tout simplement. » - Directeur des sciences (à la retraite)

Date de modification :