Archived — Rachel McCabe

Year: 2003 – Province: Quebec

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

School: Trafalgar School for Girls
3495, rue Simpson
Montreal, Quebec H3G 2J7

Principal: Geoffrey Dowd
School Telephone: 514-935-2644
School Fax: 514-935-2359
School website: www.trafalgar.qc.ca
Teacher Email: rm@trafalgar.qc.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 8 and 11, English, history, multimedia

Teaching approach:

Helps students improve their communication and critical thinking skills.

Committed to improving teaching skills and sharing information with colleagues and students.

Outstanding achievements:

Ms. McCabe uses new technologies in the classroom to help students be more creative, independent and curious. An innovative multimedia project gives students a chance to explore popular media and to better understand its influence. During the first year of the program, students created a reality game show, and took on a number of roles, including TV hosts, contestants, producers, camera-people, editors, casting agents, and marketing officers.

Ms. McCabe's genuine enthusiasm to help students succeed is reflected in her commitment to exploring new approaches. She developed a student-centred approach to teaching European history class, focused on meeting the individual needs and abilities of each student. Some of her colleagues are now redesigning their courses based on her model.

She also infuses her love of learning into many extra-curricular activities, including the school's debating team. Ms. McCabe helps debaters prepare by providing them with guidance on researching issues and preparing arguments for and against resolutions. As a result of her coaching, many of the school's students consistently finish among the top debaters in local tournaments.

In Praise Of:

"As a practicing teacher, Rachel has combined all of this knowledge and superlative skills to create a learning environment that engages her students, that builds on their knowledge and that moves them to reach beyond their current level." - Collaborator on a published study

"It is not often that a student encounters a teacher who is not only excited about imparting their knowledge, but who is also eager to learn with her students." - Former student

Date modified:

Archivé — Rachel McCabe

Année : 2003 – Province : Québec

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

École : Trafalgar School for Girls
3495, rue Simpson
Montréal (Québec) H3G 2J7

Directeur : Geoffrey Dowd
Téléphone de l'école : 514-935-2644
Télécopieur de l'école : 514-935-2359
Site Web de l'école : www.trafalgar.qc.ca
Courriel de l'enseignante : rm@trafalgar.qc.ca
Années / Matières enseignées : 8e et 11e année / anglais, histoire, multimédias

Méthode d'enseignement :

Aider les élèves à améliorer leurs aptitudes en communications et pensée critique.

Engager à améliorer les méthodes d'enseignement et à partager l'information avec les collègues et les élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Mme McCabe se sert des nouvelles technologies dans sa salle de classe pour aider les élèves à faire montre de créativité, d'indépendance et de curiosité. Un projet innovateur en multimédias donne aux élèves l'occasion d'explorer les médias populaires et de mieux comprendre leur influence. Pendant la première année du programme, les élèves ont créé une émission de jeu réalité et ont emprunté divers rôles dont animateurs de télé, concurrents, producteurs, cameramen, monteurs, agents de distribution artistique et agents de promotion.

L'enthousiasme de Mme McCabe pour aider les élèves à réussir se reflète dans son engagement à explorer de nouvelles possibilités. Elle a élaboré une méthode axée sur l'élève pour enseigner l'histoire européenne, qui mise sur l'importance de répondre aux besoins et aux capacités personnels de chaque élève. Certains de ses collègues reconçoivent leurs cours en fonction de son modèle.

Elle insuffle également son amour de l'apprentissage dans de nombreuses activités parascolaires, y compris l'équipe de débat de l'école. Mme McCabe aide les débatteurs à se préparer en les guidant dans la recherche des questions et la préparation des arguments en faveur ou contre les résolutions. Grâce à son encadrement, de nombreux élèves de l'école terminent fréquemment dans les premiers rangs dans les tournois locaux.

Commentaires élogieux :

« En tant qu'enseignante, Rachel a su combiner toutes les connaissances et compétences afin de créer un milieu d'apprentissage qui encourage les élèves à participer, qui table sur leurs connaissances et qui fait en sorte qu'ils peuvent surpasser leur niveau actuel. » - Une collaboratrice à une étude publiée

« Cela n'arrive pas souvent qu'un élève rencontre une enseignante qui non seulement est des plus enthousiaste à partager ses connaissances mais qui désire également apprendre avec ses élèves. » - Une ancienne élève

Date de modification :