Archived — Bernhard Joseph Neuhofer

Year: 2006 – Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Major Pratt School
403 Russell Street East
Russell, Manitoba
R0J 1W0

Principal: Michael Totté
School Telephone: 204-773-2133
School Fax: 204-773-3470
School website: www.pwsd.ca/MPSweb/
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 10-12, Computer Applications, Pre-Calculus, Physics

Teaching approach:

  • Uses real world applications in lessons and elements of the world of interest to students.
  • Students earn marks by asking good "why" questions, whether related to the topic at hand or not.
  • Integrates different disciplines in lessons.
  • Allows students to choose areas of particular interest for a project in order to develop wide-ranging skills.
  • Encourages collaboration among students.
  • Makes performance standards and timeframes clear for project criteria and students know they are 100% accountable.
  • Encourages leadership and innovation.
  • Helps students visualize how they can surmount a goal by breaking it down into manageable bits.
  • Holds voluntary evening and weekend classes.
  • Believes strongly in the use of technology in the classroom.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Mr. Neuhofer manages to change the status quo at Major Pratt. When he was put in charge of yearbook, he not only led students in producing a quality keepsake, he completely changed the process through which the yearbook was created. The yearbook is now created in an electronic format. The yearbook committee no longer purchases reams of film - instead, all the pictures are taken with a digital camera. In the long run, this has saved money and improved the creative process.
  • When Manitoba Education re-introduced standardized testing of high school students in the late 90s, Mr. Neuhofer held a parent information night. While quite unusual for a teacher to hold an evening parent meeting about a specific course, he felt the pacing of the Mathematics 40S and difficulty of the material warranted the extra effort. The student and parent commitment that came from this meeting was critical to later success.
  • Mr. Neuhofer was invited by the Superintendent to join the Pelly Trail Teachers Training Institute. He led a session for other teachers on computer usage. He has led inservices for the entire division on Global Information Systems and its use in the education setting.
  • Mr. Neuhofer was instrumental in getting an email server established at Major Pratt. He not only promoted the idea, but volunteered a great deal of time in helping set up the system. He then created tutorials and help guides for users.

In Praise Of:

"…when he took a leave from Major Pratt to return to Austria for a year, our students missed him so much that he was asked to be the guest speaker at Graduation ceremonies via video." - Business Education Instructor, Major Pratt School

"Mr. Neuhofer is a teacher I will never forget and I hope his current and future students appreciate how privileged they are to have someone so committed, not to his career, but to his students." - Former student

"Mr. Neuhofer was always there as someone more than a teacher, someone who these young adults could talk to, and learn from in so many different aspects." - Parent of former student

"He genuinely cares for his individual students and makes person sacrifices to see them succeed. Teachers work with our most important resource, kids, and Bernhard definitely recognizes this." - Former student

Date modified:

Archivé — Bernhard Joseph Neuhofer

Année : 2006 – Province : Manitoba

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : Major Pratt School
403 Russell Street East
Russell
(Manitoba)
R0J 1W0

Directeur : Michael Totté
Téléphone de l'école : 204-773-2133
Télécopieur de l'école : 204-773-3470
Site Web de l'école : www.pwsd.ca/MPSweb/
Année(e)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : 10e-12e, Applications sur ordinateur, pré-calculus

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • Exploite dans ses leçons des applications du monde réel et des éléments du monde qui intéressent les étudiants.
  • Les étudiants ont des points pour les bonnes questions « pourquoi », liées ou non au sujet étudié.
  • Intègre à ses leçons diverses disciplines.
  • Permet aux étudiants de choisir des secteurs d'intérêt pour un projet afin de développer chez eux une vaste gamme d'habiletés.
  • Encourage la collaboration entre étudiants.
  • Précise les normes de rendement et les calendriers des projets et les étudiants savent qu'ils sont responsables à 100 pour cent.
  • Encourage le leadership et l'innovation.
  • Aide les étudiants à visualiser le moyen d'atteindre un but en le fractionnant en éléments gérables.
  • Tient des classes volontaires du soir et de fin de semaine.
  • Croit fermement à l'utilisation de la technologie en classe.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • M. Neuhofer a changé la situation à l'école Major Pratt. Quand il a assumé la charge de l'annuaire, il a non seulement aidé les étudiants à produire un souvenir de qualité, il a complètement changé le processus de création de l'annuaire. L'annuaire est maintenant produit par informatique. Le comité de l'annuaire n'achète désormais plus de pellicule au kilomètre, toutes les photos sont maintenant numériques. À long terme, cela a économisé de l'argent et amélioré le processus de création.
  • Lorsque le ministère de l'Éducation du Manitoba a réintroduit les tests normalisés pour les étudiants du secondaire à la fin des années 1990, M. Neuhofer a tenu une soirée d'information pour les parents. Bien qu'il soit inhabituel qu'un enseignant organise une soirée pour les parents sur un cours particulier, il jugeait que le rythme des Mathematics 40S et la difficulté de la matière justifiait cet effort supplémentaire. L'engagement des étudiants et des parents suscité par cette soirée a été essentiel à la réussite ultérieure.
  • M. Neuhofer a été invité par l'inspecteur à se joindre au Pelly Trail Teachers Training Instituter. Il a animé une session sur l'utilisation de l'ordinateur pour d'autres enseignants. Il a animé des ateliers sur place pour toute la division sur le Système d'information mondial et son utilisation dans un cadre didactique.
  • M. Neuhofer a joué un rôle clé dans l'obtention d'un serveur de courriel à Major Pratt. Il a non seulement fait la promotion de l'idée, mais a consacré beaucoup de temps à aider à sa mise en œuvre. Il a ensuite créé des didacticiels et des systèmes d'aide à l'intention des usagers.

Commentaires élogieux :

« … lorsqu'il a pris congé de Major Pratt pour retourner en Autriche pendant un an, nos étudiants le manquaient tant qu'on lui a demandé d'être orateur invité par vidéo lors des cérémonies de graduation. » - Instructeur en études commerciales, école Major Pratt

« M. Neuhofer est un enseignant que je n'oublierai jamais et j'espère que ses étudiants présents et à venir apprécieront la chance qu'ils ont d'avoir quelqu'un d'aussi dévoué, non pas à sa carrière, mais à ses étudiants. » - Ancien étudiant

« M. Neuhofer était toujours plus qu'un enseignant, une personne à qui ces jeunes adultes pouvaient parler et de qui apprendre sur tant de sujets. » - Parent d'ancien élève

« Il se soucie vraiment de chacun de ses étudiants et fait des sacrifices personnels pour les aider à réussir. Les enseignants travaillent avec notre ressource la plus précieuse, les enfants, et Bernhard est très conscient de cela. » - Ancien étudiant

Date de modification :