Archived — Brent Cameron, Kathleen Forsythe and Micheal Maser

Year: 2006 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: SelfDesign Learning Community
PO Box 74560, Kitsilano
Vancouver, British Columbia
V6K 4P4

Principal: Brent Cameron
School Telephone: 604-224-3640
School Fax: 604-224-3662
School website: www.selfdesign.org, www.wondertree.org
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades K-9 ungraded, each learner on an individual path

Teaching approach:

  • Children learn naturally.
  • Learning is not necessarily dependent on teaching and can emerge as a legitimate activity based on the interests, curiosity and enthusiasm of any learner.
  • Learning communities that empower self-responsible, entrepreneurial learning in an information age.
  • Look at human behaviour and work with how individuals learn, with why individuals learn, and then design meaningful learning relationships and environments that optimize each individual's learning process in a collaborative context.
  • Use technology to support human interactions.

Outstanding achievements:

  • The SelfDesign Learning Community is the collaborative vision of Kathleen Forsythe, Michael Maser, and program founder Brent Cameron. It has grown out of the work begun at the Wondertree Learning Centre in Vancouver, which Mr. Cameron created in 1983. The SelfDesign Learning Community currently has almost 40 learning consultants (B.C. Certified Teachers) working with approximately 450 learners and their families from around the entire province of B.C. There are no courses, no teachers and no curriculum taught to the 450 learners.
  • When learners, parents and learning consultants enter the SelfDesign Learning Village on the Internet, they find themselves sitting at their own virtual office. They can read their email, and participate in their favourite conferences. They can track their activities using the calendar on the wall, and the learners, parents and consultants collaborate to create individualized SelfDesign Learning Plans for each learner. With this learning plan as a base, they track and observe each learner's learning on a weekly basis throughout the year.
  • This program introduces a new paradigm, learning beyond schooling and learning beyond home schooling. The program is called a learning community because of the belief that, in a post-industrial world, children learn through collaboration, conversation and interaction within a world of information resources.
  • By clicking on the door of the office, learners, parents, mentors and learning consultants enter the learning village. Here, by entering any of the main buildings, learners find focused conferences containing conversations such as music, wellness, nature and science, village life, strategies for success, math, dance and philosophy.

In Praise Of:

"I learned that learning itself is rewarding, and this has greatly influenced how I approach my life and my work." - Former student

"No singular curriculum could achieve this dramatic result in our culture, as these young people contribute their ethically directed, self-motivated, and innovative ideas to our society." - Adjunct Professor, Royal Roads University; Board, Canada Research Chair; Board, American Society for Cyberetics

"From the teachers (Learning Consultants) at Wondertree Learning Centre my son learned that you don't have to be a certain age to strive for excellent. He learned that when other people set your goals the standards are way too low. He learned how to follow his own dreams." - Parent of student and professional Counselor and Educational Consultant

"Brent Cameron, along with the support of Kathleen Forsythe and Michael Maser, has formed the foundation and brain trust to turn novel educational ideas and ideals into practical and meaningful schools and projects consistently for the past twenty-three years." - Parent of former student

Date modified:

Archivé — Brent Cameron, Kathleen Forsythe et Micheal Maser

Année : 2006 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréats d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : SelfDesign Learning Community
Kitsilano CP 74560
Vancouver
(Colombie-Britannique)
V6K 4P4

Directeur : Brent Cameron
Téléphone de l'école : 604-224-3640
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-224-3662
Site Web de l'école : www.selfdesign.org, www.wondertree.org
Année(e)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : Maternelle à 9e décloisonnée, chque apprenant suit son propre programme

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • Les enfants apprennent naturellement.
  • L'apprentissage ne dépend pas nécessairement de l'enseignement et peut provenir d'une activité légitime fondé sur les intérêts, la curiosité, l'enthousiasme de tout apprenant.
  • Les communautés d'apprentissage qui permettent l'apprentissage autonome et entreprenant dans une ère de l'information.
  • Observer les comportements humains et utiliser la manière d'apprendre des personnes, leur raison d'apprendre, puis élaborer des relations et un milieu d'apprentissage significatifs qui optimisent le processus d'apprentissage dans un contexte de collaboration.
  • Utiliser la technologie à l'appui des interactions humaines.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • La SelfDesign Learning Community est la vision coopérative de Kathleen Forsythe, Michael Maser et du fondateur du programme, Brent Cameron. Elle est issue du travail entrepris au Wondertree Learning Centre de Vancouver que M. Cameron a créé en 1983. La SelfDesign Learning Community compte présentement près de 40 conseillers en apprentissage (enseignants diplômés de C.-B.) qui travaillent avec environ 450 apprenants et leur famille à la grandeur de la province. Il n'y a pas de cours, pas d'enseignants et pas de programme à enseigner aux 450 apprenants.
  • Lorsque les apprenants, les parents et les conseillers en apprentissage entrent dans le SelfDesign Learning Village sur l'Internet, ils se retrouvent assis à leur propre bureau virtuel. Ils peuvent lire leurs courriels et participer à leurs conférences préférées. Ils peuvent faire le suivi de leurs activités à l'aide du calendrier sur le mur et les apprenants, les parents et les conseillers collaborent à concevoir des plans d'apprentissage SelfDesign individuels pour chaque apprenant. Avec ce plan d'apprentissage comme point de départ, ils font le suivi et observent hebdomadairement l'apprentissage de chaque apprenant tout au long de l'année.
  • Ce programme introduit un nouveau paradigme, l'apprentissage au-delà de l'enseignement et l'apprentissage au-delà de l'enseignement des parents à domicile. Le programme est intitulé communauté d'apprentissage à cause de la conviction que dans un monde post-industriel, les enfants apprennent par l'entremise de la collaboration, de la conservation et de l'interaction dans un monde d'info-ressources.
  • En cliquant à la porte du bureau, les apprenants, les parents, les mentors et les conseillers en enseignement entrent dans le village de l'apprentissage. Ici, en entrant dans n'importe quel édifice, les apprenants trouvent des conférences ciblées contenant des conversations comme la musique, le bien-être, la nature et les sciences, la vie du village, les stratégies de la réussite, les mathématiques, la danse et la philosophie.

Commentaires élogieux :

« J'ai appris que l'apprentissage même est gratifiant, ce qui a beaucoup influencé mon attitude à l'égard de ma vie et de mon travail. » - Ancien étudiant

« Aucun programme unique n'aurait pu donner de tels résultats dans notre culture, alors que ces jeunes gens offrent à notre société et de leur propre initiative leurs idées éthiques et innovatrices. » - Professeur adjoint, Université Royal Roads; membre, Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, membre, American Society for Cybernetics

« Des enseignants (conseillers en enseignement) du Wondertree Learning Centre, mon fils a appris qu'il ne faut pas attendre un certain âge pour chercher l'excellence. Il a appris que lorsque d'autres personnes vous fixent des buts, les normes sont beaucoup trop basses. Il a appris à suivre ses propres rêves. » - Parent d'étudiant et conseiller professionnel et conseiller pédagogique

« Brent Cameron, avec l'appui de Kathleen Forsythe et Michael Maser, a formé une fondation et un groupe d'experts pour transformer de nouvelles idées et idéaux pédagogiques en écoles et projets pratiques et significatifs pendant les dernières vingt-trois années. » - Parent d'ancien étudiant

Date de modification :