Archived — Brian MacKinnon

Year: 2006 – Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: RB Russell Vocational High School
364 Dufferin Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R2W 2Y3

Principal: Gary Comack
School Telephone: 204-589-5301
School Fax: 204-586-1817
School website: http://rbrussell.org
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 11, English and History

Teaching approach:

  • Employs transformative teaching methods, believing in the power of literature and creative writing to transform lives.
  • Believes literary study helps students tap into the imagination, creative writing is a tool through which students who have suffered abuse can access their pain and heal, and both help students develop literacy skills which are a form of self empowerment ultimately connected to democracy and social participation.
  • Integrates subject areas to reflect current issues and the needs of students.
  • Motivates students to achieve their personal best.
  • Believes teaching is a humanitarian act; his mission is to help a learner feel hopeful about their future and themselves.
  • Uses wit, enthusiasm, acting and entertaining to engage students.
  • Sees himself as a change catalyst, a facilitator, a counselor, a role model, and a mentor.
  • Takes time to understand the student as an individual.
  • Challenges students to become independent critical thinkers who can participate in Canada's democracy.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Mr. MacKinnon has published five anthologies of students writing. These books included notes on their writing experience from numerous city personalities, including writers Robert Kroetsch (Order of Canada), Carol Shields (Pulitzer Prize winner), Jake MacDonald (award winning journalist and fiction writer), Mayor Bill Norrie, and many others. Students contributed stories, poems, artwork, revealing their lives and substantial creative abilities. These books have been sold in Manitoba bookstores and have been used for teaching in schools throughout Manitoba.
  • As initiator and Chairperson, Mr. MacKinnon has conducted complex and multi-faceted Remembrance Day services at R.B. Russell for the past twenty-three years. These services have involved readings of student poetic responses to war, readings by students of international poetry and reflections on war and peace by famous authors and guest speakers from the community, Canadian military, as well as Metis and native veterans.
  • Mr. MacKinnon initiated the Urban Sports Camp R.B. Russell Karate Program and launched it with the help of the Manitoba Justice Department Urban Sports Camp program and the full support of local R.C.M.P.
  • Mr. MacKinnon initiated and actively runs the R.B. Russell Downtown Y Program to foster students' social, emotional, physical and intellectual growth. The program funds inner-city students to go to the Y, ensuring a lack of funds do not prevent students from selecting positive lifestyle choices, and taking positive steps that lead to great possibilities for self development, including education and literacy. Mr. MacKinnon has instituted a literacy component to the program by having students apply by writing their reasons for wanting to be part of the program. Students also write T program journal entries and testimonials with their observations on what regular exercise is doing for their health and well-being, and the impact it is having on their lives.
  • He has helped many students cope with the circumstances of poverty so that they can become involved in and benefit from the program. He also cares, listens, gives advice and networks to get students the help that they need when dire problems arise in Y testimonials.
  • There is a unique integration of information and communications technology involved in the Y program. The program promotes media literacy - and understanding of the media - through student participation in print and television media. Each of these media avenues has taken an interest in the Y program, and through this, students have gained first hand experience in the power of the media. Students promote the program through the media and how it is an effective antidote to poverty and gangs. Mr. MacKinnon's Y program led to extensive coverage by The Winnipeg Free Press which led to Winnipeg's Mayor committing to a $7 million recreation center for Winnipeg's inner city.

In Praise Of:

"As students have observed the tremendous coverage of the R.B. Russell Downtown Y Program, with their own teacher, Brian MacKinnon, as a focus, they see that there has been a great coming together of the community with R.B. Russell. They see that taking an active socially compassionate role can have results." - Nominator

"Brian has had the ability to motivate and cajole the most unlikely, stubborn and unenthusiastic student to produce and hand in a multitude of poems and personal essays." - Fellow Teacher

"Brian epitomizes caring. He 'sees' the whole person, affirms strengths and helps meet challenges head on." - Fellow Teacher

Date modified:

Archivé — Brian MacKinnon

Année : 2006 – Province : Manitoba

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : RB Russell School
364 Dufferin Avenue
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
R2W 2Y3

Directeur : Gary Comaek
Téléphone de l'école : 204-589-5301
Télécopieur de l'école : 204-586-1817
Site Web de l'école : http://rbrussell.org
Année(e)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : 11e année, Anglais et histoire

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • A recours aux méthodes d'enseignement transformatif, fondées sur le pouvoir de la littérature et de l'écriture créatrice de transformer les vies.
  • Convaincu que les études littéraires aident les étudiants à accéder à l'imagination, l'écriture créatrice est un outil par lequel les étudiants dont on a abusé peuvent renouer avec leur douleur et en guérir, et les deux aident les étudiants à développer des habiletés littéraires qui sont des formes d'autohabilitation ultimement branchée à la démocratie et à la participation sociale.
  • Intègre les disciplines qui tiennent compte des sujets d'actualité et des besoins des étudiants.
  • Motive les étudiants à devenir ce qu'ils sont de mieux.
  • Convaincu que l'enseignement est un geste humanitaire, sa mission est d'aider l'apprenant à retrouver l'espoir en son avenir et en lui-même.
  • A recours à l'esprit, aux jeux de rôle et au divertissement pour impliquer les étudiants.
  • Se perçoit comme un catalyseur du changement, un animateur, un conseiller, un modèle d'identification et un mentor.
  • Prend le temps de comprendre l'étudiant en tant qu'individu.
  • Motive les étudiants à devenir des penseurs critiques indépendants qui peuvent participer à la démocratie du Canada.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • M. MacKinnon a publié cinq anthologies des œuvres de ses étudiants. Ces livres comportent des notes sur leur expérience de l'écriture par plusieurs personnalités de la ville, dont les écrivains Robert Kroetsch (Ordre du Canada), Carol Shields (Prix Pulitzer), Jake MacDonald (journaliste primé et romancier) le maire Bill Norrie et plusieurs autres. Les étudiants ont fourni des histoires, des poèmes, des œuvres d'art qui révèlent leur vie et leurs grandes habiletés créatrices. Ces livres ont été vendus dans les librairies du Manitoba et servent à l'enseignement dans les écoles partout au Manitoba.
  • En tant qu'instigateur et président, M. MacKinnon a animé des services complexes et à multiples facettes du jour du Souvenir à l'école R. B. Russell pendant les dernières vingt-trois années. Ces services comportaient la lecture de réactions poétiques des étudiants à la guerre, des lectures des étudiants de poésie internationale et de réflexions sur la guerre et la paix par des auteurs célèbres et des conférenciers invités de la collectivité, de soldats canadiens ainsi que d'anciens combattants métis et autochtones.
  • M. MacKinnon a lancé le programme Urban Sports Camp R.B. Russell avec l'aide du programme Urban Sports Camp du ministère de la Justice du Manitoba et le plein appui de la GRC locale.
  • M. MacKinnon a lancé et dirige activement le programme R.B. Russell Downtown Y qui favorise la croissance sociale, émotionnelle, physique et intellectuelle des étudiants. Ce programme finance les visites des étudiants au Y , et fait en sorte que le manque d'argent n'empêche pas les étudiants de choisir un style de vie positif, et comporte des mesures positives qui ouvrent de grandes possibilités de développement personnel, dont l'éducation et l'alphabétisation. M. MacKinnon a ajouté un volet littéraire à ce programme qui demande aux étudiants de mettre par écrit les raisons qu'ils ont de vouloir en faire partie. Les étudiants écrivent également des notes dans le carnet de bord du Y et des témoignages de leurs observations sur les bienfaits de l'exercice pour leur santé et leur bien-être et sur les effets qu'il a sur leur vie.
  • Il a aidé plusieurs étudiants à faire face à des circonstances comme la pauvreté de façon à ce qu'ils puissent s'engager et tirer profit du programme. Il prend soin, écoute, donne des conseils aux étudiants et crée des réseaux pour obtenir pour eux l'aide dont ils ont besoin lorsque des problèmes difficiles sont révélés dans les témoignages du carnet de bord du Y .
  • Le programme du Y comporte une intégration unique de l'information et des technologies de communication. Le programme favorise l'initiation aux médias, leur compréhension, par l'entremise de la participation des étudiants à la presse écrite et électronique. Chacun des ces médias s'est engagé dans le programme du Y et a permis aux étudiants de faire une expérience directe du pouvoir des médias. Les étudiants font la promotion du programme grâce aux médias et témoignent que c'est un antidote efficace à la pauvreté et aux gangs de rue. Le programme Y de M. MacKinnon a suscité une couverture approfondie par la The Winnipeg Free Press, ce qui a amené le maire de Winnipeg à créer un centre récréatif de 7 millions de dollars pour le centre-ville de Winnipeg.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Les étudiants ont observé la grande couverture du programme R.B. Russell Downtown Y, avec leur propre enseignant, Brian MacKinnon comme centre, et ont constaté que la collectivité s'est rassemblée autour de l'école R.B. Russell. Ils constatent qu'un engagement social actif et compassionnel peut avoir des résultats. » - Nominator

« Brian a su motiver et apprivoiser les étudiants les moins avenants, les moins enthousiastes et les plus entêtés à produire et à soumettre une multitude de poèmes et d'écrits personnels. » - Collègue enseignant

« Brian incarne la compassion. Il voit l'ensemble de la personne, affirme ses forces et l'aide à surmonter carrément ses défis. » - Collègue enseignant

Date de modification :