Archived — Daniel Kunanec

Year: 2006 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Don Mills Collegiate Institute
15 The Donway East
Toronto, Ontario
M3C 1X6

Principal: Cindy Browne
School Telephone: 416-395-3190
School Fax: 416-395-3429
School website: http://schools.tdsb.on.ca/donmillsci/
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 10-12, Technological Design

Teaching approach:

  • Focuses on the importance of the process of creation and creative discovery in all projects rather than simply the end-product and resulting grade.
  • Encourages students to recognize their "weaknesses" or lack of particular skills and experiences as opportunities for learning and expansion rather than limitations.
  • Treats the classroom as a multi-disciplinary design organization where individuals' varied skills and strengths are nurtured and shared both by the teacher and between students, fostering an atmosphere of cooperative learning.

Outstanding achievements:

Creator and facilitator of the unique Don Mills Collegiate Institute Gardens project, which began in the 2000-2001 school year and is a collaborative effort shared with students from conception to planning to actualization. This project has seen Mr. Kunanec and his students apply for and receive funding and grants for the "greening" of the school, for a total of 4 themed gardens, including one with a koi pond and functioning waterfall and another a "wild field" which can be used by science students in their nature and environment studies.

Rave reviews:

"Dan Kunanec is an exemplary and dynamic teacher whose passion for creation and discovery inspires his students to achieve incredible results. […] He loves to teach, loves to learn, and shares this joy with all of his students and colleagues. […] Dan is a compassionate professional who brings out the best in his students and his colleagues. We are thrilled to have him on our staff." - Principal, Don Mills CI

"Going to Mr. Kunanec's] class was never a chore, and I looked forward to it every day. The more time I spent as his student the more time I began to visit and talk with Mr. Kunanec even if I didn't have that period or semester with him. […] With Mr. Kunanec I felt I got more than a teacher when I joined his class. Thinking about him I realize I gained a mentor and a friend." - Former Student, Don Mills CI

On Mr. Kunanec's role as head coach for the Ontario Under 15 Rugby Team:
"Dan has demonstrated innovative goal setting and team building strategies that have successfully enabled his teams and the players themselves to perform to their potential. […] Dan is an excellent ambassador for the sport and a consistently excellent role model for youth. […] He sets high standards for everyone, including himself." - Past President, Rugby Ontario

Date modified:

Archivé — Daniel Kunanec

Année : 2006 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : Don Mills Collegiate Institute
15 The Donway East
Toronto (Ontario)
M3C 1X6

Directrice : Cindy Browne
Téléphone de l'école : 416-395-3190
Télécopieur de l'école : 416-395-3429
Site Web de l'école : http://schools.tdsb.on.ca/donmillsci/
Année(s)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : 10e-12e années, Conception technologique

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • Se concentre sur l'importance du processus de création et de la découverte créatrice dans tous les projets plutôt que sur le produit fini et la note accordée.
  • Encourage les étudiants à reconnaître leurs " faiblesses " ou leur manque d'habiletés particulières et les expériences comme des occasions d'apprentissage et d'enrichissement plutôt que des limites.
  • Traite les classes comme un organisme de conception multidisciplinaire où les diverses habiletés et forces des personnes sont nourries et partagées par l'enseignant et les étudiants, ce qui favorise une atmosphère d'apprentissage coopératif.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

Créateur et animateur du projet unique Don Mills Collegiate Institute Gardens, qui a débuté pendant l'année scolaire 2000-2001, et est un effort de collaboration entre les étudiants de sa conception à sa planification à sa réalisation. Ce projet a amené M. Kunanec et ses étudiants à faire des demandes et recevoir du financement et des subventions pour " verdir " l'école, pour un total de 4 jardins thématiques, dont un avec un étang koi et une cascade active et un autre, un " champ sauvage " qui peut servir aux étudiants en sciences dans leurs études de la nature et de l'environnement.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Dan Kunanec est un enseignant exemplaire et dynamique dont la passion pour la création et la découverte inspire ses étudiants à obtenir des résultats incroyables. […] Il adore enseigner, il adore apprendre et il partage sa joie avec tous ses étudiants et collègues. […] Dan est un professionnel généreux qui sait faire appel au meilleur chez ses étudiants et ses collègues. Nous sommes ravis de le compter parmi notre personnel. » - Directeur, Don Mills CI

« Assister aux cours de M. Kunanec n'était jamais une tâche et je les attendais chaque jour avec impatience. Plus je passais de temps dans sa classe, plus je le visitais et parlais avec lui, même si je n'étais pas dans une de ses périodes ou que je ne passais pas le semestre avec lui. […] Avec M. Kunanec, je sentais que j'avais plus qu'un professeur quand je m'inscrivais à ses cours. À bien y penser, je me rends compte que j'avais un mentor et un ami. » - Ancien étudiant, Don Mills CI

À propos de M. Kunanec dans son rôle d'instructeur de l'équipe Under 15 Rugby de l'Ontario :
« Dan s'est montré innovateur dans l'établissement des buts et les stratégies de formation de l'esprit de corps qui ont permis à ses équipes et aux joueurs eux-mêmes de donner leur plein rendement. […] Dan est un excellent ambassadeur de ce sport et toujours un excellent modèle pour les jeunes. […] Il place la barre haut pour tous, y compris lui-même. » - Ancien président, Rugby Ontario

Date de modification :