Archived — John Robinson

Year: 2006 – Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: St. John's-Ravenscourt School
400 South Drive
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3T 3K5

Principal: David Howie
School Telephone: 204-477-2485
School Fax: 204-477-2429
School website: www.sjr.mb.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 8, S1-S4, Public Speaking and Debate, Economics

Teaching approach:

  • Promotes independent thought and critical reasoning.
  • Tailors his teaching style to each student.
  • Creates the potential for leadership and builds confidence in students.
  • Teaches the skills of collaboration and being a team player.
  • Uses examples of everyday life in lessons, as well as innovative teaching methods such as board games, to model production dynamics in economics.
  • Gets to know students on a personal level and dedicates time to helping students with both academic and personal issues.
  • Organizes and gives professional development courses for teachers in Manitoba schools and also trains new teachers to be speech and debate coaches.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Mr. Robinson has set up a website that his students may access for research, information on future debates, and links to other debate sites worldwide. Coaches across Canada and their students also use this site for information on how to host a tournament, scripts, resolution topics and dates for tournaments.
  • He has created a database for assessment of students and has spreadsheets to use for tabulation at tournaments that he shares with schools across the country. He has also created several spreadsheets to make the draw for a debate tournament for all combinations of teams entered and to overcome all contingencies, so the tournament director may change the draw instantly to save time and to relieve stress.
  • For his own students, he makes a film of each of their debates and gives a critique assessment. As well, he makes a CD of each debate and gives it to each student so that they may take it home to study the debate to see how to improve.
  • The tabulation programme he created to give accurate results quickly to coaches, students and parents has become the standard for national and international tournaments in debate. It is common for Mr. Robinson to be called to tournaments, such as the World Public Speaking Championships, a few days in advance to install and explain his tabulation programme and his methods of creating the draw and allotting judges in the room.
  • Mr. Robinson's classes host many debate and public speaking events each year. They judge younger students and give critiques, they organize and run the rooms as speakers and timers, and for senior debates, the students help find adult judges - for some tournaments, that can mean as many as 140 judges.
  • The students also help other schools to host tournaments by helping judge, time, critique and tabulate results. Mr. Robinson's classes have hosted the Pan-American Debate Championships, the Provincial qualifier for the Senior National Debate Championships, the Provincial qualifier for the Western Debate Championships, several junior tournaments, and the Can West Global National Public Speaking Championships, to be held in February 2007.
  • Mr. Robinson holds in-services for schools for their staff, acts as a resource for most schools in Manitoba, and holds training sessions for students in the Faculty of Education at the University of Manitoba to produce more coaches and debate opportunities throughout the province. He has created a set of School Initiated Courses that has been accepted for credit by the Department of Education in Manitoba. Other Manitoba schools and a school in Nova Scotia have copied these course outlines for use in their classrooms.
  • Mr. Robinson is President of the Manitoba Speech and Debate Association, a Past President of the Canadian Speech and Debate Association, a board member of the World Individual Debate and Public Speaking Championships, and a board member of the Senior National Debate Championship. He founded the Can West National Public Speaking Championship, co-founded the World Individual Debate and Public Speaking Championships, and co-founded the Canadian Junior National Debate Championships. He convened the 1990 World High School Debate Championships, coached the Canadian Team at the World High School Debate Championships, and has been a judge at these championships.

Rave reviews:

"The ultimate culmination of my education from Mr. Robinson was my winning of the World Public Speaking Championship in England in my final year of high school. I must say that the large trophy should have had the words "John Robinson: #1 Coach" written on it, not my name. It was his dedication to education that empowered me to achieve that success." - Former student

"I cam to SJR already imbued with a love of learning, but it was Mr. Robinson who pushed me to expand my academic interests and broaden my horizons." - Former student

"I will be graduating high school this year, and there is no question in my mind about what aspect of my school life I will miss the most: my interactions with Mr. John Robinson, who has been a teacher, a mentor and a friend to me for six years. He is a remarkable teacher in both his skill and his compassion. But the even more extraordinary fact is that I am not alone in this evaluation. It seems that every student Mr. Robinson meets feels a personal connection with him, a sense that he truly cares about their well-being and growth." - Student

"I am sure Henry Adams had a teacher like John in mind when he wrote in his famous autobiography that 'a teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops." - Director of Studies, St. John's-Ravenscourt School

Date modified:

Archivé — John Robinson

Année : 2006 – Province : Manitoba

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : St. John's-Ravenscourt School
400 South Drive
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
R3T 3K5

Directeur : David Howie
Téléphone de l'école : 204-477-2485
Télécopieur de l'école : 204-477-2429
Site Web de l'école : www.sjr.mb.ca
Année(s)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : 8e année, 1ère, 2e, 3e et 4e années du secondaire / art oratoire et débats, économie

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • John Robinson favorise les idées originales et le raisonnement critique.
  • Il adapte son style d'enseignement à chaque élève.
  • Il met en valeur les qualités potentielles de leadership et il renforce la confiance chez les élèves.
  • Il enseigne les techniques de la collaboration et de la participation dans une équipe.
  • Il utilise des exemples de situations courantes dans ses leçons, et il a recours à des méthodes d'enseignement novatrices comme des jeux de société, pour illustrer la dynamique de la production en économie.
  • Il apprend à connaître les élèves sur le plan personnel et il prend le temps de les aider à résoudre des difficultés scolaires et personnelles.
  • Il organise et donne des cours de perfectionnement professionnel à l'intention des enseignants des écoles du Manitoba, et il donne une formation de conseiller en art oratoire et en débats aux nouveaux enseignants.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • M. Robinson a créé un site Web que peuvent consulter ses élèves pour effectuer des recherches ou obtenir des renseignements sur les débats à venir. Ce site contient aussi des liens avec d'autres sites de débats dans le monde entier. Les conseillers de partout au Canada et leurs élèves visitent également ce site pour avoir de l'information sur la façon de procéder pour accueillir un tournoi, sur les scripts, sur les sujets de résolution et les dates des tournois.
  • Il a mis au point une base de données pour l'évaluation des élèves et il se sert de chiffriers, qu'ils partagent avec les écoles de tout le pays, pour établir des tableaux lors des tournois. Il a aussi créé plusieurs chiffriers pour effectuer le tirage de toutes les combinaisons possible d'équipes inscrites aux tournois de débats et pour parer à toutes les situations imprévues de sorte que le directeur puisse modifier instantanément le tirage pour gagner du temps et diminuer le stress.
  • Il filme les débats auxquels participe chacun de ses élèves et il leur donne une évaluation critique. Il fait également un disque compact du débat pour que l'élève le regarde chez lui et voit comment il pourrait s'améliorer.
  • Le programme de disposition en tableaux qu'il a créé pour donner rapidement des résultats aux conseillers, aux élèves et aux parents, est devenu le programme standard utilisé pour les tournois nationaux et internationaux de débats. M. Robinson est fréquemment invité à des tournois comme aux championnats mondiaux d'art oratoire, quelques jours à l'avance pour installer son programme de tableaux et expliquer son fonctionnement ainsi que ses méthodes de tirage et de désignation des juges dans la salle.
  • Les classes de M. Robinson accueillent chaque année un grand nombre de débats et d'activités d'art oratoire. Les élèves de ses classes jugent et critiquent les élèves plus jeunes. Ils organisent et dirigent des débats à titre d'orateurs et de chronométreurs, et pour les débats entre adultes, ils aident à trouver des juges adultes, et cela peut aller jusqu'à 140 juges dans le cas de certains tournois.
  • Les élèves aident aussi d'autres écoles à accueillir des tournois en qualité de juge, de chronométreur, de critique et de préposé à l'établissement des résultats. Les classes de M. Robinson ont accueilli le Pan American Debate Championships (championnat panaméricain de débats), les tournois provinciaux de qualification en vue du Senior National Debate Championships (championnat national de débats seniors), les tournois provinciaux de qualification en vue du Western Debate Championships (championnat de débats de l'Ouest), plusieurs tournois juniors, et ils accueilleront le CanWest Global National Public Speaking Championships (championnat national d'art oratoire CanWest Global), qui aura lieu en février 2007.
  • M. Robinson offre aux écoles des formations sur place pour le personnel, il agit en tant que personne ressource pour la plupart des écoles du Manitoba, et il offre des séances de formation aux élèves de la Faculté de l'éducation à l'Université du Manitoba afin de former plus de conseillers et de favoriser la tenue de débats dans l'ensemble de la province. Il a créé une série de « cours de formation élaborés par l'école » que le ministère de l'Éducation au Manitoba a accepté de créditer. D'autres écoles du Manitoba et une école de la Nouvelle Écosse ont copié les plans de cours pour offrir cette formation.
  • M. Robinson est président de la Manitoba Speech and Debate Association, ancien président de la Canadian Speech and Debate Association, membre du conseil d'administration des World Individual Debate and Public Speaking Championships, et membre du conseil d'administration du Senior National Debate Championship. Il a fondé le CanWest National Public Speaking Championship, cofondé les World Individual Debate and Public Speaking Championships, et les Canadian Junior National Debate Championships. Il a convoqué les World High School Debate Championships de 1990, il a conseillé l'équipe canadienne aux World High School Debate Championships, et il a été juge lors de ces championnats.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Le point culminant de l'enseignement que j'ai reçu de M. Robinson a été ma victoire au championnat mondial d'art oratoire en Angleterre durant ma dernière année de secondaire. Je dois dire qu'au lieu de mon nom, on aurait dû graver l'inscription suivante sur le grand trophée : "John Robinson : le meilleur conseiller". » - Ancien élève

« J'aimais déjà apprendre quand je suis arrivé à SJR, mais M. Robinson m'a incité à diversifier mes intérêts scolaires et à élargir mes horizons. » - Ancien élève

« J'aurai mon diplôme d'études secondaires cette année, et je n'ai aucun doute quant à l'aspect de la vie à l'école qui me manquera le plus : mes rapports avec M. John Robinson, qui a été un enseignant, un mentor et un ami pour moi pendant six ans. C'est un enseignant remarquable à la fois en raison de ses compétences et de sa compassion. Mais ce qui est vraiment extraordinaire, c'est que je ne suis pas le seul à penser cela. Il semble que chaque élève que connaît M. Robinson sent qu'il a des rapports particuliers avec lui et a l'impression que son bien être et son épanouissement sont importants pour ce professeur. » - Élève

« Je suis sûr que Henry Adams avait un enseignant comme John à l'esprit lorsqu'il a écrit dans sa célèbre autobiographie : "a teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops." (Un professeur influence l'éternité : il ne peut jamais dire où son influence s'arrête) » - Directeur des études, St. John's-Ravenscourt School

Date de modification :