Archived — Darwin Roscoe

Year: 2006 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Hunting Hills High School
150 Lockwood Avenue
Red Deer, Alberta
T4R 2M4

Principal: David MacLean
School Telephone: 403-342-6655
School Fax: 403-341-4335
School website: www.rdpsd.ab.ca/hhhs
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 9, 11, 12, Mathematics

Teaching approach:

  • Involves students in his use of a SMARTboard to bring learning to life.
  • Models the importance of lifelong learning.
  • Turns abstract mathematical equations into real life situations.
  • Regular communication with students and parents, with immediate feedback to students.
  • Uses student team work for problem-solving
  • Encourages moral education.
  • Celebrates student successes, big and small.
  • Takes interest and participates in student's lives outside the classroom.
  • Promotes problem solving and logical thinking rather than memorizing formulas.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Mr. Roscoe uses Webgrade and Micrograde daily to calculate each change in student's grades. He encourages them to check their marks frequently so that they are aware of progress or setbacks. Students and parents appreciate the ability to check grades on the Internet at their convenience. Mr. Roscoe has also made his email address available so that any questions regarding lessons, grades or other aspects of his classes may be sent directly to him.
  • In his last two schools, Mr. Roscoe has introduced an Advanced Placement program and the success rate of students has been outstanding.
  • As curriculum leader, Mr. Roscoe strives to cooperate with other colleagues and assist in any way he can. He has arranged an agreement with the science teachers who were finding it difficult to find the time to help students master particular concepts. Mr. Roscoe led his department through a discussion of how the math department could help, and an understanding was reached that math teachers could extend the teaching of some concepts to bridge and then include the science curriculum. The idea was embraced and Mr. Roscoe has been meticulous in checking that all math classes are consistent in covering the chosen science concepts.
  • In keeping with the research and focus on assessment, Mr. Roscoe has been implementing an innovative approach to grading one advanced placement class. Rather than each exam counting for marks, students receive a personal growth evaluation. Instead of grades on what they know, comments are delivered to help students discover how to amend mistakes. Fewer grades are given and all quizzes and assignments strive to reach mastery of all concepts so that midterm and final exams give students the opportunity to exercise skills.
  • Mr. Roscoe has written a standards document on Mathematics 9 outcomes. He has been involved for many years in writing math questions for Alberta Education diploma exams and also participates in the marking of these exams biannually.

Rave reviews:

"Students that were coached by Mr. Roscoe still take time for a visit though they are now in their mid-twenties. Still others email their teacher from university for help with math problems or formulas. All of these situations speak to the honest way in which Mr. Roscoe has his students' best interests at heart." - Principal, Hunting Hills High School

"This man took a kid who was accepting the fact that he could do no better than what he was doing. Mr. Roscoe believed, encouraged and took the time to actually teach not just be a teacher. He gave my son the confidence that no other has done, as well as gave him a personal challenge which he proudly conquered." - Parent of student

"Darwin is constantly finding ways to improve as a teacher, never settling for less than his best. As a result, all of the teachers that work with Darwin have caught his attitude and we too strive for excellence in our daily teaching. Therefore Darwin's enthusiasm has helped not only the students of his class, but all of the students at Hunting Hills." - Fellow teacher

Date modified:

Archivé — Darwin Roscoe

Année : 2006 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : École secondaire Hunting Hills
150, avenue Lockwood
Red Deer
(Alberta)
T4R 2M4

Directeur : David MacLean
Téléphone de l'école : 403-342-6655
Télécopieur de l'école : 403-341-4335
Site Web de l'école : www.rdpsd.ab.ca/hhhs
Année(s)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : 9e, 11e-12e années, mathématiques

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • Fait participer les élèves à son utilisation d'un tableau interactif SMART Board pour animer son enseignement.
  • Expose par des modèles l'importance de l'apprentissage continu.
  • Transforme des équations mathématiques abstraites en situations de la vie courante.
  • Communique régulièrement avec les élèves et parents, et répond sans tarder aux élèves.
  • Utilise le travail en équipe avec les élèves pour résoudre les problèmes.
  • Encourage l'éducation morale.
  • Célèbre les succès, petits et grands, des élèves.
  • S'intéresse à la vie des élèves en dehors de la classe et y participe.
  • Favorise la résolution de problèmes et la réflexion logique plutôt que la mémorisation de formules.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • M. Roscoe utilise quotidiennement Webgrade et Micrograde pour calculer chaque changement dans les notes des élèves. Il encourage ces derniers à vérifier souvent leurs notes pour connaître ainsi leurs progrès et leurs échecs. Les élèves et les parents apprécient de pouvoir vérifier à volonté les résultats sur Internet. M. Roscoe a aussi communiqué son adresse courriel afin qu'on puisse lui envoyer directement toutes les questions sur les leçons, les notes ou d'autres aspects de ses classes.
  • Dans les deux dernières écoles où il a enseigné, il a introduit un programme de reclassement à un niveau supérieur, où le taux de succès des élèves s'est révélé impressionnant.
  • À titre de directeur du programme scolaire, il s'efforce de coopérer avec ses collègues et de les aider autant que possible. Il a passé un accord avec les professeurs de science qui éprouvaient alors des difficultés à faire assimiler certains concepts par les élèves. Après une discussion sur ce sujet, tenue au département de mathématiques, on s'est entendu pour que les professeurs de maths étendent l'enseignement de certains concepts de manière à jeter un pont avec le programme des sciences et à inclure certains aspects de celui-ci. La suggestion a été adoptée et M. Roscoe se fait un devoir de veiller à ce que toutes les classes de mathématiques présentent les mêmes concepts scientifiques.
  • Dans un souci de recherche et d'évaluation, il se montre innovateur pour la notation d'une classe de reclassement à un niveau supérieur. Plutôt que d'attribuer un certain nombre de points aux examens, on évalue chaque élève selon sa croissance personnelle. Au lieu de coter les connaissances, on formule des commentaires pour aider les élèves à corriger leurs erreurs. Les notes proprement dites sont moins nombreuses et tous les questionnaires et devoirs visent à faire assimiler tous les concepts, de sorte que les examens de mi-session et finals donnent aux élèves l'occasion de mettre ces connaissances en application.
  • M. Roscoe a rédigé un document standard sur les résultats du cours de mathématiques 9. Depuis plusieurs années, il participe à la rédaction des questions de mathématiques pour les examens du ministère de l'Éducation de l'Alberta, ainsi qu'à la correction de ces examens deux fois par année.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Les élèves formés par M. Roscoe prennent encore le temps de le visiter, même s'ils sont actuellement dans la vingtaine. D'autres encore lui envoient des messages courriel à partir de l'université afin de lui demander son aide pour des problèmes ou formules mathématiques. Tout cela illustre l'honnêteté de M. Roscoe et montre qu'il a les intérêts de ses élèves à cœur. » - Le directeur, école secondaire Hunting Hills

« Cet homme a épaulé un garçon convaincu de ses faibles limites. Il a cru en lui, l'a encouragé et a pris le temps de vraiment enseigner et pas seulement de jouer au professeur. Il a donné à mon fils une confiance exceptionnelle, tout en lui proposant un défi personnel fièrement relevé par la suite. » - Un parent d'élève

« Darwin trouve constamment des moyens de s'améliorer comme professeur, toujours au mieux de ses capacités. Cette attitude déteint sur ses collègues, de sorte que nous visons tous l'excellence dans notre enseignement quotidien. Son enthousiasme s'est donc révélé bénéfique, non seulement pour sa classe, mais aussi pour tous les élèves de Hunting Hills. » - Un collègue professeur

Date de modification :