Archived — James Robert Chambers

Year: 2006 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: La Salle Secondary School
773 Highway 15
Kingston, Ontario
K7L 5H6

Principal: Emily Taylor
School Telephone: 613-546-1737
School Fax: 613-545-9220
School website: http://lasalle.limestone.on.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 9-12, Manufacturing Technology, Technical Design

Teaching approach:

  • Teaches theory in cooperation with practical applications.
  • Blends hands-on practical learning with the latest integration technology and exemplary practices.
  • Encourages students to expand their skills and knowledge of computer programs.
  • Challenges students to think on their feet and adapt when problem-solving.
  • Involves students as project leaders and designers, and engages students what their skill or ability level is.
  • Class motto is "Prepared for the Workplace".
  • Continuous personal professional development.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Mr. Chambers is one of the founding members of the Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program Committee for the Limestone District School Board. As a member of the committee, Mr. Chambers is actively involved in the trades and constantly looking for more career pathways for his students. He developed an Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program Millwright Machinist Program at La Salle Secondary School which regularly receives recognition from other school boards, community colleges and private corporations. Over the past four years, Mr. Chambers has tripled the sections of Manufacturing Technology at La Salle to six sections of Manufacturing, and also introduced a program in Design Technology.
  • Mr. Chambers has applied for and been granted funding for four innovative projects under the Limestone District School Board's Learning Foundation. The first was a universal carving duplicator, which was designed using Inventor 3D software and built by his students and then donated to the wood working class for their use. The second was a portable bandsaw mill designed using AutoCad software. This too was built by his students and donated to the woodworking class. The third grant was awarded to Mr. Chambers for his students to design and build a large pig roasting gas barbeque, which was then given to the school's hospitality course for students to learn techniques for catering large outdoor venues. The fourth grant is for a solar car project which is being built by his students. Mr. Chambers engages community partners for all projects and also ties them into other curriculum areas such as physics, math, English and so on.
  • In line with the class motto, "Prepared for the Workplace," Mr. Chambers makes preparing a portfolio to take to job interviews a priority for his students. Many of Mr. Chambers students have been placed into apprenticeships with well-known companies, while others find themselves well-prepared for college programs.
  • Mr. Chambers emphasizes health and safety in the shop and includes in the program a St. Johns Ambulance First Aid program as well as a full Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System course for students to receive certification.
  • Mr. Chambers has been part of the writing team for the Province of Ontario's Curriculum Course Profiles, ARMS Documents and Safe Documents for the Ontario Council of Technology Education and has written the Limestone District School Board's Technical Safety Manual for Technology Teachers. He was also on the review team for Pearson's textbook, "Integrated Technologies," and was the recipient of the provincial 2005 Dick Hopkins Award for Excellence in Teaching Technological Education given jointly by Skills Canada Ontario and the Ontario Council of Technology Education.

Rave reviews:

"Mr. Chambers is an exceptional classroom teacher. His leadership and commitment to technical education and his students are outstanding. His hard work, positive attitude and disposition is greatly appreciated by staff and students alike." - Vice Principal, La Salle Secondary School

"It is obvious that Mr. Chambers has developed an innovative curriculum that equips his students to meet the growing needs of business and industry, but, more importantly, he has done so in a fashion that engages his students and a supporting community with great success." - Manager, Maintenance and Reliability Engineering, INVISTA Kingston site

"Many doors have been opened to me and many new opportunities have become available to me as a direct result of Mr. Chambers' incredible and one of a kind Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program. I am now a first year apprentice with a millwright company who even took me on as a summer student last July due to Mr. Chambers' recommendation. I have great hopes for my future and furthering my career and education in the millwright field and I owe all of my success to Mr. Chambers." - Former student

Date modified:

Archivé — James Robert Chambers

Année : 2006 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : La Salle Secondary School
773, route 15
Kingston (Ontario)
K7L 5H6

Directrice : Emily Taylor
Téléphone de l'école : 613-546-1737
Télécopieur de l'école : 613-545-9220
Site Web de l'école : http://lasalle.limestone.on.ca
Année(s)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : 9e-12e années, technologie de fabrication, conception technique

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • Enseigner la théorie à l'aide d'applications pratiques.
  • Combiner l'apprentissage pratique à la dernière technologie d'intégration et aux pratiques exemplaires.
  • Encourager les étudiants à élargir leurs compétences et leurs connaissances des programmes informatiques.
  • Inciter les étudiants à agir sur le moment et à s'adapter lorsque ils doivent résoudre un problème.
  • Mettre à contribution les étudiants en leur donnant le rôle de chefs de projet et de concepteurs, et les persuader de leurs compétences ou de leur calibre.
  • Avoir comme devise " Préparés pour le milieu de travail ".
  • Perfectionnement professionnel personnel continu.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • M. Chambers est l'un des membres fondateurs du Comité du Programme d'apprentissage pour les jeunes de l'Ontario pour le conseil scolaire de l'arrondissement de Limestone. En tant que membre du comité, M. Chambers joue un rôle actif quant aux métiers et il cherche constamment des cheminements de carrière pour ses étudiants. Il a mis sur pied un programme de mécanique d'entretien et d'usinage dans le cadre du Programme d'apprentissage pour les jeunes de l'Ontario à la La Salle Secondary School, qui reçoit régulièrement la reconnaissance d'autres conseils scolaires, de collèges communautaires et de sociétés privées. Au cours des quatre dernières années, M. Chambers a triplé le nombre de sections de technologie de fabrication à La Salle, qui a atteint six sections dans le département de fabrication, et il également lancé un programme en technologie de la conception.
  • M. Chambers a présenté une demande de financement, qui a été acceptée à l'égard de quatre projets innovateurs dans le cadre de la fondation pour l'apprentissage du conseil scolaire de Limestone. Le premier était une machine universelle de ciselage de reproduction, qui a été conçue à l'aide du logiciel Inventor 3D et fabriquée par ses étudiants; elle a ensuite été donnée aux étudiants du cours de travail du bois. Le deuxième projet était une scie à ruban portative conçue avec le logiciel AutoCad. Cet outil a aussi été fabriqué par ses étudiants et donné aux étudiants du cours de travail du bois. La troisième subvention a été accordée à M. Chambers pour permettre à ses étudiants de concevoir et construire un gros barbecue au gaz pour rôtir le porc; il a ensuite été donné aux étudiants du cours d'accueil de l'école, afin qu'ils apprennent les techniques de préparation de repas sur de grands sites extérieurs. La quatrième subvention a été accordée au projet d'une voiture solaire, qui est construite par ses étudiants. M. Chambers fait participer les partenaires de la collectivité à tous les projets et il les lie également à d'autres domaines d'enseignement comme la physique, les mathématiques, l'anglais, etc.
  • Dans la perspective de la devise " Préparés pour le milieu de travail ", M. Chambers fait de la préparation d'un portfolio servant aux entrevues d'emploi une priorité pour ses étudiants. Bon nombre des étudiants de M. Chambers ont été placés dans des stages auprès d'entreprises bien connues, tandis que les autres se trouvent bien préparés pour des programmes collégiaux.
  • M. Chambers met l'accent sur la santé et la sécurité dans l'atelier et il intègre dans le cours un programme de premiers soins de l'Ambulance Saint Jean ainsi qu'un cours complet sur le Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail, afin que les étudiants reçoivent leur attestation.
  • M. Chambers a fait partie de l'équipe de rédaction des profils de cours des programmes d'enseignement de la province de l'Ontario, des documents sur l'ARMS et des documents sur la sécurité pour le conseil de l'enseignement de la technologie de l'Ontario et il a rédigé le manuel de sécurité technique du conseil scolaire de l'arrondissement de Limestone à l'intention des enseignants des technologies. Il a également fait partie de l'équipe d'examen du livre de cours de Pearson, " Integrated Technologies ", et il a été récipiendaire du prix d'excellence provincial Dick Hopkins en enseignement des technologies en 2005, décerné conjointement par Compétences Canada-Ontario et le conseil de l'enseignement des technologies de l'Ontario.

Commentaires élogieux :

« M. Chambers est un enseignant exceptionnel. Son leadership et son engagement à l'égard de la formation technique et de ses étudiants sont exceptionnels. Son travail acharné, son attitude positive et son tempérament sont très appréciés par le personnel et les étudiants. » - Vice-directeur, La Salle Secondary School

« Il est évident que M. Chambers a élaboré un programme d'enseignement innovateur qui aide ses étudiants à répondre aux besoins croissants des entreprises et de l'industrie, mais, plus important encore, il l'a fait de façon à faire participer ses étudiants et l'action communautaire avec un grand succès. » - Gestionnaire, Maintenance and Reliability Engineering, site d'INVISTA Kingston

« De nombreuses portes m'ont été ouvertes et j'ai eu de nouvelles possibilités en conséquence directe du Programme pour les jeunes de l'Ontario incroyable et sans pareil de M. Chambers. Je suis maintenant apprenti de première année dans une entreprise de mécanique d'entretien qui m'a même offert un emploi d'été en juillet dernier selon la recommandation de M. Chambers. J'ai de grands espoirs pour mon avenir et la poursuite de ma carrière et de mes études en mécanique d'entretien et je dois tout mon succès à M. Chambers. » - Ancien étudiant

Date de modification :