Archived — Todd Ablett

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Todd Ablett

Gladstone Secondary School
4105 Gladstone Street
Vancouver, BC V5N 4Z2

Principal: Kevin Land
School Tel.: 604–713–8288
School Fax: 604–713–8287
School Email: ldhalford@cbe.ab.ca
School Website: http://go.vsb.bc.ca/schools/gladstone/Pages/Default.aspx

Video Profile

Subjects and grades taught: Engineering for grades 11/12, Electronics for grades 9/12, Technology for grade 8 and Drafting for grades 10/12

The lights still burn brightly on a soggy November evening in Todd Ablett's robotics shop. About two dozen students are hard at work sharing ideas to optimize their robot's performance. And it's not hard to understand why; the minute students enter the shop, they know they're in a special place.

Teaching approach

In a school on Vancouver's East Side, a jurisdiction not favoured by circumstance, Mr. Ablett has worked tirelessly to ensure that his students have all the advantages that technology can provide. His class and workshop are open to all. But when a student comes to ask Mr. Ablett for help, they don't often get an answer directly from him. By putting students of all levels together, Mr. Ablett creates an informal mentoring program where junior students don't always have to rely on the teacher, and where seniors can take pride in becoming the experts.

Outstanding achievements

  • The VEX robotics program at Gladstone Secondary is an expression of Mr. Ablett's passion for teaching. While learning code, students also come together and learn to work as a team. They then have the opportunity to show off their skills at various robotics competitions.
  • Under Mr. Ablett's guidance the "Pink Sparkle Fairy Unicorns " became the first all girl VEX team in BC. They got off to a rough start in their first competition, but qualified only six months later for the World Championships where they took home fifth place.
  • Mr. Ablett's students have been winning international robotics competitions over the past five years.
  • Over the past ten years, Mr. Ablett has garnered over $10,000 in community support for the robotics program, which has enabled his students to represent their school at both the local and international level. Understanding that parents want to see their children compete, Mr. Ablett also created a robotics competition in Gladstone, which students dubbed The Gladstone Open.
  • And his teaching doesn't stop there. Mr. Ablett also hosts robotics professional development courses for teachers from across British Columbia.

Rave reviews

"Mr. Ablett's hands-off approach to teaching, coupled with his subtle hints, encouraged me to actively think about ways to solve my problems, and was perfect for developing thinking and problem-solving skills. In Mr. Ablett's classroom, I felt free to express myself and to move about as I pleased, something that I would not be comfortable doing in other classes."

Former student

"Mr. Ablett taught me the most important skill of engineering: problem solving. I changed my thinking from simply 'It does not work' to 'Why doesn't it work?' Now I am in my fourth year of engineering. Without this set of problem solving skills, I could not have made it this far."

Former student

Date modified:

Archivé — Todd Ablett

Année : 2010-11 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréat d'un certificat d'excellence

Todd Ablett

Gladstone Secondary School
4105, rue Gladstone
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V5N 4Z2

Directrice : Kevin Land
Téléphone de l'école : 604-713-8288
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-713-8287
Courriel de l'école : ldhalford@cbe.ab.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://go.vsb.bc.ca/schools/gladstone/Pages/Default.aspx (en anglais seulement)

Portrait Vidéo

Années et matières : Génie des 11e et 12e années, électronique de la 9e à la 12e année, technologie de la 8e année et le dessin de la 10e à la 12e année

Les lumières de l'atelier de robotique de Todd Ablett sont encore allumées en cette soirée pluvieuse de novembre. Environ deux douzaines d'élèves s'efforcent d'échanger des idées sur la façon d'optimiser le rendement de leur robot. Et il est facile de comprendre pourquoi : la minute où les élèves mettent le pied dans l'atelier, ils savent qu'ils sont dans un endroit spécial.

Méthode d'enseignement

Dans une école de la partie est de Vancouver, un quartier peu favorisé, Monsieur Todd travaille sans relâche à s'assurer que ses élèves tirent pleinement parti de la technologie. Tous sont bienvenus dans sa classe et dans son atelier. Mais lorsqu'un élève vient demander l'aide de Monsieur Todd, la réponse vient rarement directement de lui. En regroupant les élèves de tous les niveaux, il crée un programme de mentorat informel où les élèves de cycle intermédiaire n'ont pas toujours à se fier à l'enseignant et où les élèves de cycle supérieur peuvent s'enorgueillir de devenir les experts.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Le programme VEX Robotics de l'école secondaire Gladstone témoigne de la passion de Monsieur Ablett pour l'enseignement. Tout en étudiant le code, les élèves se regroupent et apprennent à travailler en équipe. Ils ont ainsi l'occasion de démontrer leurs compétences dans le cadre de différentes compétitions de robotique.
  • Sous la direction de Monsieur Ablett, les « Pink Sparkle Fairy Unicorns » sont devenues la première équipe VEX entièrement féminine de la Colombie-Britannique. Elles ont connu un début difficile lors de leur première compétition, mais se sont qualifiées six mois plus tard pour les championnats mondiaux où l'équipe s'est classée cinquième.
  • Les élèves de Monsieur Ablett ont remporté des compétitions internationales de robotique ces cinq derrières années.
  • Au cours de la dernière décennie, Monsieur Ablett a amassé plus de 10 000 dollars au sein de la collectivité pour le programme de robotique, ce qui a permis à ses élèves de représenter leur école à l'échelle locale et internationale. Sachant combien les parents souhaitaient voir leurs enfants compétitionner, Monsieur Ablett a également mis sur pied une compétition de robotique à Gladstone, que les élèves ont baptisée le Gladstone Open.
  • Et son enseignement va encore plus loin. Il anime aussi des cours de perfectionnement en robotique partout en Colombie-Britannique.

Commentaires élogieux :

« La démarche d'enseignement pratique de Monsieur Ablett conjuguée à ses conseils subtils m'ont encouragé à réfléchir à des moyens de résoudre mes problèmes, et ont contribué à développer ma capacité à raisonner et à résoudre un problème. Dans la classe de Monsieur Ablett, je me sentais libre de m'exprimer et de circuler, ce que je n'aurais pas été à l'aise de faire dans d'autres classes. »

Un ancien élève

« Monsieur Ablett m'a enseigné la compétence technique la plus importante en génie : la résolution de problème. Plutôt que de me dire que ça ne fonctionne pas, je me demandais pour quelle raison ça ne fonctionne pas. J'en suis maintenant à ma quatrième année de génie. Je n'y serais jamais arrivé sans cette aptitude à résoudre un problème. »

Un ancien élève

Date de modification :