Archived — Arlene Anderson

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Arlene Anderson

Rockridge Secondary School
5350 Headland Drive
West Vancouver, BC V7W 3H2

Principal: Marne Owen
School Tel.: 604-981-1300
School Fax: 604-981-1301
School Email: info@sd45.bc.ca
School Website: http://go45.sd45.bc.ca/schools/rockridge/Pages/default.aspx

Video Profile

Subjects and grades taught: All subjects for grades 8 to 12 as the teacher-librarian

If you have a vague idea, but you're not sure where to start, Arlene Anderson is your teacher. Call on Rockridge Secondary's techno-wiz teacher-librarian and your project is bound to come to life. If the school is an atom, Ms. Anderson's library is its nucleus where energy and enthusiasm fuel ideas.

Teaching approach

Ms. Anderson's impact is widespread and resonates beyond the walls of the school. She shows students the bigger picture and teaches them the relevance of what they learn at school by creating links with community organizations. When students and teachers ask for help, Ms. Anderson fuels the quest in the how and the where. And when Ms. Anderson runs a field trip, students will eagerly attest that you never just go places, you get involved in places.

Outstanding achievements

  • Ms. Anderson has taken the school library to a whole new level and makes sure that it belongs to the students. She established an acquisitions committee, guiding students through a comprehensive review of the many possibilities and charging them with the responsibility of selecting periodicals for the library.
  • Ms. Anderson has balanced books with magazines and set aside computer areas. Students have also learned how to use the various online databases and journals that she has acquired.
  • She spearheaded an initiative in the school that taught students to learn and research online, teaching them to cite sources properly and avoid plagiarism.
  • Championed an environmental club bringing students and staff together to create awareness of environmental issues. The club has successfully introduced a composting program, reducing school waste by nearly fifty percent.
  • Forever the innovator, Ms. Anderson designed a broadcast studio. From the beginning, students were involved and their efforts culminated in shows like the Rockridge Files, where they picked issues that concerned them … from garbage to peer pressure, the themes were created by students for students.

Rave reviews

"The other thing that he really admired is that she never told them how to do things; instead she facilitated the realization of their ideas. She organized the most amazing field trips to places like the British Columbian Institute of Technology, BCTV, and the Electronic Arts Games. (…) I think that my son, now a computer engineer, found his passion for technology because of Arlene."

Parent on behalf of student

"In all my years in high school, she has been a constant point of support for me, and has allowed me to make my goals and dreams reality. High school can be a scary place, and Ms. Anderson has helped me along with many other students find somewhere to belong, a 'niche'."

Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Arlene Anderson

Année : 2010-11 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréate d'un certificat d'excellence

Arlene Anderson

Rockridge Secondary School
5350, promenade Headland
Vancouver Ouest (Colombie-Britannique) V7W 3H2

Directrice : Marne Owen
Téléphone de l'école : 604-981-1300
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-981-1301
Courriel de l'école : info@sd45.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://go45.sd45.bc.ca/schools/rockridge/Pages/default.aspx (en anglais seulement)

Portrait Vidéo

Années et matières : Tous les sujets de la 8e à la 12e année, à titre de bibliothécaire scolaire

Si vous avez une vague idée, mais que vous ne savez pas par où commencer, Arlene Anderson est l'enseignante qu'il vous faut. Faites appel à l'experte professeure-bibliothécaire en technologie de Rockridge et votre projet prendra vie. Si l'école est un atome, la bibliothèque de Madame Anderson en est le noyau d'énergie et d'enthousiasme qui alimente les idées.

Méthode d'enseignement

L'influence de Madame Anderson est généralisée et s'étend au-delà des murs de l'école. Elle brosse une vue d'ensemble aux élèves et leur enseigne la pertinence de ce qu'ils apprennent à l'école en tissant des liens avec des organismes communautaires. Lorsque des élèves et des enseignants demandent de l'aide, Madame Anderson alimente la recherche du comment et du où. Et lorsqu'elle organise une excursion, les élèves confirmeront avec empressement que vous ne vous contentez pas de vous rendre à un endroit, vous vous y engagez.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Madame Anderson a porté la bibliothèque de l'école à un tout autre niveau et s'est assurée de la rendre aux élèves. Elle a mis sur pied un comité des acquisitions, guidant les élèves à travers un examen exhaustif des nombreuses possibilités, et leur confiant la tâche de sélectionner les périodiques à abonner la bibliothèque.
  • Madame Anderson offre autant de livres que de magazines et a aménagé des zones informatiques. Les élèves ont également appris à utiliser les différentes bases de données et revues en ligne qu'elle a acquises.
  • Elle est à la tête d'une initiative à l'école qui initie les élèves à l'apprentissage et à la recherche en ligne, qui leur enseigne comment citer des sources et éviter le plagiat.
  • Elle a fondé un groupe écologique réunissant élèves et employés afin de sensibiliser autrui aux problèmes environnementaux. Le groupe a lancé avec succès un programme de compostage, réduisant de moitié les ordures produites à l'école.
  • Toujours innovatrice, Madame Anderson a conçu un studio de radiodiffusion. Les élèves y ont participé dès le début et leurs efforts ont mené à la diffusion d'émissions telles les Rockridge Files, axées sur des sujets qui les concernent… des ordures ménagères à la pression des pairs, les thèmes ont été choisis par les élèves pour les élèves.

Commentaires élogieux :

« L'autre chose qu'il admirait réellement, c'est qu'elle ne leur disait jamais comment faire les choses, elle les aidait à réaliser leurs idées. Elle organisait les excursions les plus sensationnelles dans des endroits tels l'Institut de technologie de la Colombie-Britannique, la BCTV et les Electronic Arts Games. […] Je crois que mon fils, aujourd'hui ingénieur informatique, a découvert sa passion pour la technologie grâce à Arlene. »

Un parent au nom d'un élève

« Tout au long de mon secondaire, elle a été pour moi un point d'appui constant et elle m'a permis de réaliser mes objectifs et mes rêves. L'école secondaire peut être effrayante et Madame Anderson m'a aidée, ainsi que beaucoup d'autres élèves, à trouver ma place, une 'niche'. »

Une élève

Date de modification :