Archived — Shirley Dalrymple

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Shirley Dalrymple

Thornhill Secondary School
167 Dudley Avenue
Thornhill, ON L3T 2E5

Principal: Isabel Schnapp
School Tel.: 905–889–5453
School Fax: 905–889–0360
School Email: thornhill.ss@yrdsb.edu.on.ca
School Website: Thornhill Secondary School

Video Profile

Subjects and grades taught: Applied Math for grade 9, Data Management for grade 12, College Math for grade 12

YouTube meets the calculator in this teacher's classroom. Shirley Dalrymple has teaching math down to a science and her formula isn't that complicated. Mrs. Dalrymple's success lies in her ability to relate to her students through technology to help them write math into a story. After 20 years in the field, she is a source of information and inspiration for her colleagues, who regularly visit her classroom hoping to learn by example.

Teaching approach

A collective agreement hangs on the wall of her classroom. Developed and signed by students, it documents their pledge to take risks, ask questions and be respectful of others. It is also a testament to Mrs. Dalrymple's no-nonsense, but creative and compassionate teaching style, which she re-evaluates and adjusts to suit each student and each class.

Outstanding achievements

  • Mrs. Dalrymple's Counting Stories Project gets creative juices flowing. Students quickly turn abstract formulas into exciting story lines that include probability and counting concepts and principles. Taking the idea one step further, Mrs. Dalrymple entered the student stories in a Math Festival Website, where stories get evaluated by non-math celebrities like Alanis Morrisette.
  • Mrs. Dalrymple was on the team that began the development of online math resources called CLIPS (www.mathclips.ca). Critical Learning Instructional Path Supports (CLIPS) provides teachers with tailored ideas and structured lessons based on research that keep students of all abilities interested and engaged as they develop conceptual understanding.
  • Mrs. Dalrymple is also extremely active in other teacher-development capacities and her impact has been felt at a national level, with her dedication to the Canadian Math Education Study Group—a network of math teachers that researches and discusses math education at all levels.
  • Since Mrs. Dalrymple became head of the math department, student scores in provincial math testing have increased from the 70% range to the 90% range.

Rave reviews

"I am convinced that Mrs. Dalrymple helped me to be a high achieving student surpassing any expectation that I had set for myself. I consider myself extremely fortunate to have known her."

Former student

"We have rarely encountered a teacher with the level of enthusiasm and dedication that Shirley possesses. In all her endeavors she has an unmatched passion and follows projects through with precision, all the while motivating her students to get involved."

Thornhill Secondary School Parent Council

Date modified:

Archivé — Shirley Dalrymple

Année : 2010-11 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'excellence

Shirley Dalrymple

Thornhill Secondary School
167, avenue Dudley
Thornhill (Ontario) L3T 2E5

Directrice : Isabel Schnapp
Téléphone de l'école : 905-889-5453
Télécopieur de l'école : 905-889-0360
Courriel de l'école : thornhill.ss@yrdsb.edu.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : Thornhill Secondary School (en anglais seulement)

Portrait Vidéo

Années et matières : Mathématiques appliquées en 9e année, gestion de données et mathématiques collégiales en 12e année

Dans la classe de cette enseignante, les élèves utilisent autant YouTube que la calculatrice. Shirley Dalrymple est une experte en enseignement des mathématiques et sa formule n'est pas si compliquée. Le succès de Madame Dalrymple repose sur sa capacité à entretenir des rapports avec ses élèves en utilisant la technologie pour les aider à aborder les mathématiques comme une histoire. Après 20 ans dans le domaine, elle est devenue une source d'information et d'inspiration pour ses collègues qui viennent régulièrement dans sa classe en espérant tirer profit de son exemple.

Méthode d'enseignement

Une convention collective est affichée au mur de sa classe. Développée et signée par les élèves, elle documente leur engagement à prendre des risques, à poser des questions et à se respecter les uns les autres. Elle témoigne également du style sérieux, quoique créatif et sympathique, de l'enseignement de Madame Dalrymple, style qu'elle réévalue en fonction de chaque élève et de chaque cours.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Le projet Counting Stories (contes et comptes) de Madame Dalrymple fait appel à la créativité. Les élèves convertissent rapidement des formules abstraites en récits palpitants qui intègrent des concepts et principes de probabilité et de calcul. En partant de cette idée, Madame Dalrymple a conçu un concours de mathématiques où les récits sont évalués par des célébrités qui n'ont rien à voir avec les mathématiques, comme Alanis Morrisette.
  • Madame Dalrymple a participé au développement d'un outil mathématique en ligne appelé CLIPS (www.mathclips.ca (en anglais seulement)). L'outil Critical Learning Instructional Path Supports (CLIPS) offre aux enseignants des idées personnalisées et des leçons structurées pour tenir les élèves de tous les niveaux intéressés tandis qu'ils développent leur compréhension conceptuelle.
  • Madame Dalrymple est également extrêmement active dans d'autres activités de formation d'enseignants et son influence s'est fait ressentir à l'échelle nationale grâce à son dévouement pour le Groupe canadien d'étude en didactique des mathématiques — un réseau d'enseignants en mathématiques qui étudient diverses questions relatives à l'enseignement des mathématiques à tous les niveaux.
  • Depuis que Madame Dalrymple a été nommée responsable du département de mathématiques, les notes des élèves aux examens de mathématiques provinciaux sont passées d'une moyenne de 70 % à une moyenne de 90 %.

Commentaires élogieux

« Je suis convaincu que Madame Dalrymple m'a aidé à devenir un élève très performant surpassant toutes les attentes que j'avais à mon égard. Je me considère extrêmement chanceux de l'avoir connue. »

Un ancien élève

« Nous avons rarement rencontré une enseignante aussi enthousiaste et dévouée que Shirley. Elle met tellement de passion dans tout ce qu'elle entreprend et poursuit des projets avec une telle précision, tout en réussissant à motiver les élèves à participer. »

Le comité de parents de l'école secondaire Thornhill

Date de modification :