Archived — Louis Laroche

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: Québec

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Louis Laroche

École Lanaudière
4300 de Lanaudière Street
Montréal, QC H2J 3M9

Principal: Nancy Fortin
School Tel.: 514–596–5835
School Fax: 514–596–6931
School Email: fortinna@csdm.qc.ca
School Website: École Lanaudière (in French only)

Video Profile

Subjects and grades taught: French, Math, History, Science, Ethics and Religion, English for grades 5 and 6

Whether in the classroom, a cabinetmaking shop, a business or a film studio, regardless of the topic or the medium, Louis Laroche firmly believes that youth learn best through experience and that short cuts don't foster genuine understanding.

Teaching approach

Mr. Laroche is never short of projects. Armed with a catching passion (and occasionally a hammer!), he easily provides the support that offers youth a unique opportunity to custom-create their own educational projects using their own designs.

Outstanding achievements

  • Mr. Laroche's innovative projects, such as his class' organization of science camps and his use of Mexican jumping beans as a teaching tool, have twice earned him selection as Canada's delegate for Science on Stage, a prestigious European science educators' convention.
  • In order to carry out his projects, Mr. Laroche has raised nearly $120,000 in various grants for his class and his school. He uses the grant money to purchase computers, tools, novels and much more. His 2003 project Explor'ARTS alone earned him a $38,000 grant. The project was the exploration of all forms of the visual arts by establishing connections with professional artists and the places where they do their work in the community.
  • Every year since 2003, Mr. Laroche and his students have participated in the Concours québécois en entrepreneuriat. Firmly believing that starting a business in the school environment can provide students with a crucial experience, he dedicates himself to pointing the way. Thanks to his enthusiasm, Mr. Laroche's class won the 2009 regional excellence award.

Rave reviews

"Mr. Laroche has unquestionable professional qualifications. Above all, teaching is clearly a vocation for him. He loves what he does and children feel it, which motivates them."

Parents of a student

"Louis is a fantastic teacher. He's intelligent, understanding and very devoted. But we're forbidden to use anglicisms in his classroom!"

Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Louis Laroche

Année : 2010-11 – Province : Québec

Lauréat d'un certificat d'excellence

Louis Laroche

École Lanaudière
4300, rue de Lanaudière
Montréal (Québec) H2J 3M9

Directrice : Nancy Fortin
Téléphone de l'école : 514-596-5835
Télécopieur de l'école : 514-596-6931
Courriel de l'école : fortinna@csdm.qc.ca
Site Web de l'école : École Lanaudière

Portrait Vidéo

Années et matières : Français, mathématiques, histoire, sciences, éthique et culture religieuse, anglais en 5e et 6e années du primaire

Salle de classe … ou atelier d'ébénisterie, entreprise ou studio de cinéma? Peu importe le thème abordé ou les moyens utilisés, Louis Laroche est résolument d'avis que les jeunes apprennent mieux par l'expérience et que les raccourcis ne favorisent pas la vraie compréhension.

Méthode d'enseignement

Monsieur Laroche n'est jamais à court de projets. Armé d'une passion contagieuse (et parfois d'un marteau!), il crée avec aise des structures qui offrent une occasion unique aux jeunes de façonner à leur image des projets éducatifs conçus par eux et pour eux.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Les projets novateurs de Monsieur Laroche, tels que l'organisation de camps scientifiques par sa classe et l'utilisation pédagogique de pois sauteurs mexicains, lui ont valu d'être sélectionné à deux reprises en tant que représentant pour le Canada lors de Science on Stage, un prestigieux congrès d'éducateurs scientifiques européen.
  • Afin de mener à bien ses projets, Monsieur Laroche a réussi à récolter près de 120 000 $ en subventions diverses pour sa classe et son école. Il en profite notamment pour se procurer des ordinateurs, des outils, des romans … et bien plus encore. Son projet Explor'ARTS, déposé en 2003, lui a valu à lui seul une subvention de 38 000 $. Le projet consistait à explorer les arts visuels sous toutes ses formes, en établissant des liens avec des artistes professionnels et leurs lieux de création dans la communauté.
  • Chaque année depuis 2003, Monsieur Laroche participe avec ses élèves au Concours québécois en entrepreneuriat. Croyant fermement que démarrer une entreprise en milieu scolaire peut offrir une expérience déterminante aux élèves, il s'ermploie à leur tracer le chemin à suivre. Grâce à son enthousiasme, la classe de Monsieur Laroche remporta le prix régional d'excellence en 2009.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Monsieur Laroche a d'indéniables qualités professionnelles. L'enseignement est manifestement une vocation pour lui. Il aime ce qu'il fait et les enfants le ressentent, ce qui les motive. »

Les parents d'élève

« Louis est un professeur merveilleux, il est intelligent, compréhensif et très dévoué, par contre il est interdit d'utiliser des anglicismes en sa présence ! »

Un élève

Date de modification :