Archived — Michael O'Toole

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: New Brunswick

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Sugarloaf Senior High School
201 Dover Street
Campbellton, NB E3N 1R3

Principal: Gilbert Cyr
School Tel.: 506-789-2125
School Fax: 506-789-2108
School Email: shs@nbed.nb.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Digital Technologies, CAD, Technical Support and Media Productions in grades 11 and 12

Teaching approach

Take over the air waves and make history happen … it’s all in a day when Michael O’Toole is your high school teacher. Mr. O’Toole’s students live-broadcast from their own in-house radio station, create videos and brochures that raise awareness about drinking and driving, racism and Aboriginal history and learn to support themselves while doing it.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Mr. O’Toole and his students made history in 2009 when they live-streamed the Canadian National Speed Skating Championships which were held in Campbellton. As a result, anyone with an internet connection was able to view the feed and now most sporting events at the school are regularly recorded and streamed by students.
  • Mr. O’Toole’s class received the Microsoft Innovation Award for their project that used Marvin software to highlight the history of First Nation’s people.
  • Through partnerships with local businesses and community groups, Mr. O’Toole’s students create publicity and income generated from the projects is used to purchase new equipment for the technology lab.
  • Mr. O’Toole regularly forges partnerships with federal and provincial programs, which expose his students to real life issues and simultaneously enable access to state of the art equipment. 

Rave reviews:

"Mike is an innovative teacher who is highly motivated and teaches with a very high level of technological expertise. Students are engaged and encouraged to tackle an issue and use technology to create and find a solution. Mike provides a fun and challenging class environment where students thrive and wish to participate in new activities."

Principal

"I have been fortunate to know Mike as a colleague and a friend. Mike is a well-rounded individual whose enthusiasm is contagious. He is an ambitious teacher yet always finds the time to offer support to his fellow teachers."

Colleague

Date modified:

Archivé — Michael O'Toole

Année : 2010-2011 – Province : Nouveau-Brunswick

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Sugarloaf Senior High School
201, rue Dove
Campbellton (Nouveau-Brunswick) E3N 1R3

Directeur : Gilbert Cyr
Téléphone de l'école : 506-789-2125
Télécopieur de l'école : 506-789-2108
Courriel de l'école : shs@nbed.nb.ca

Années et matières : Technologies numériques, conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO), soutien technique et production médiatique en 11e et 12e années

Méthode d'enseignement 

Prendre les ondes et écrire l'histoire… c'est le programme de la journée lorsque Michael O’ Toole est votre enseignant. Les élèves de Monsieur O'Toole diffusent en direct de leur propre station de radio, créent des vidéos et des brochures qui aident à sensibiliser les gens à l'alcool au volant, au racisme et à l'histoire des Autochtones et apprennent à subvenir à leurs besoins en le faisant.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Monsieur O'Toole et ses élèves ont écrit l'histoire en 2009 lorsqu'ils ont retransmis en direct les Championnats canadiens de patinage de vitesse qui ont eu lieu à Campbellton. Ainsi, toute personne ayant accès à Internet a pu visionner la transmission, et la plupart des événements sportifs à l'école sont désormais régulièrement enregistrés et retransmis par les élèves. 
  • La classe de Monsieur O'Toole a reçu le Microsoft Innovation Award pour son projet utilisant le logiciel Marvin afin de souligner l'histoire des peuples des Premières Nations.
  • Grâce à des partenariats avec des entreprises locales et des groupes communautaires, les élèves de Monsieur O'Toole ont fait de la publicité et les recettes tirées des projets servent à acheter du nouveau matériel pour le laboratoire de technologie.  
  • Monsieur O'Toole conclut régulièrement des partenariats avec des programmes fédéraux et provinciaux afin d'exposer ses élèves à des aspects de la vie réelle, tout en leur donnant accès à de l'équipement de pointe. 

Commentaires élogieux 

« Mike est un enseignant innovateur qui est hautement motivé et qui enseigne avec un niveau très élevé d'expertise technologique. Les élèves sont engagés et encouragés à s'attaquer à un problème et à utiliser la technologie pour élaborer une piste de solution. Mike crée un milieu amusant et stimulant où les élèves réussissent et visent à participer à de nouvelles activités. »

- Le directeur

« J'ai eu la chance de côtoyer Mike en tant que collègue et ami. C'est un être entier à l'enthousiasme contagieux. C'est un enseignant ambitieux, mais il trouve le temps d'aider ses collègues enseignants. »

- Un collègue

Date de modification :