Archived — Erin Walsh

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: Newfoundland and Labrador

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

St. Peter’s Junior High School
100 Munden Drive
Mount Pearl, NL A1N 2T5

Principal: Stella Greenslade
School Tel.: 709-368-0189
School Fax: 709-368-4806
School Email: stellagreenslade@esdnl.ca
School Website: http://www.spjh.k12.nf.ca/main.asp

Subjects and grades taught: English Language Arts for grades 7 to 9

Teaching approach

Collaboration is the name of the game for Erin Walsh. Partnering with teachers from other disciplines, Ms. Walsh makes sure that students find consistency throughout their studies. If they’re studying Romeo and Juliet in English, they’ll be learning about musical theatre through the West Side Story. Ms. Walsh doesn’t just teach a book to her students, she teaches them how and why they should love it.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Ms. Walsh’s students can choose to create multimedia projects during in-depth novel studies. Students have recorded themselves portraying characters from novels like The Pearl, After the War and Forbidden City which sometimes even include animation.
  • Ms. Walsh designed and implemented a public speaking unit for her department and has boosted student participation at public speaking events with the Eastern School District and the Lion’s Club. Students who participated in the Lion’s Club event place first, second or third every year.
  • Ms. Walsh is a founding member of the School Development Team, which developed activities to foster students’ abilities to interact and collaborate with each other. She was also a member of the Guidance Advisory Team and had collaboratively developed a student orientation program, a mentoring program and a tragic events response policy and plan.

Rave reviews:

"There are so many things in my life that I owe to Ms. Walsh. She has been something in my life that is constant, always there, to listen, help, inspire and support, and for that I am so grateful. Her kind nature, generosity and passion for what she does are amazing; she is a beautiful person and a tremendous teacher."

Student

"Ms. Walsh was not only a teacher and an expert in her area of Language Arts, she was a motivator, a mentor and a confidant for [my daughter]. (…) If someone like Ms. Walsh hadn’t been in her life, I’m not quite sure what the outcome may have been."

Parent

Date modified:

Archivé — Erin Walsh

Année : 2010-2011 – Province : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

St. Peter’s Junior High School
100, promenade Munden
Mount Pearl (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) A1N 2T5

Directrice : Stella Greenslade
Téléphone de l'école : 709-368-0189
Télécopieur de l'école : 709-368-4806
Courriel de l'école : stellagreenslade@esdnl.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.spjh.k12.nf.ca/main.asp (en anglais seulement)

Années et matières : Arts du langage, en anglais en 7e, 8e et 9e années

Méthode d'enseignement 

La collaboration, c'est le plus important pour Erin Walsh. En collaborant avec des enseignants d'autres disciplines, Madame Walsh assure une certaine uniformité aux élèves tout au long de leurs études. S'ils étudient Roméo et Juliette en anglais, ils seront initiés à la comédie musicale en étudiant West Side Story. Madame Walsh ne se contente pas de faire connaître un livre à ses élèves, elle leur enseigne comment et pourquoi ils devraient l'aimer.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Les élèves de Madame Walsh peuvent choisir de créer un projet multimédia dans le cadre de l'étude approfondie d'un roman. Ils se sont filmés alors qu'ils personnifiaient des personnages de romans tels The Pearl, After the War et Forbidden City, y ajoutant même parfois des animations.
  • Madame Walsh a conçu et mis en œuvre une unité d'art oratoire pour son département et renforcé la participation des élèves à des événements d'art oratoire avec le district scolaire de l'Est et le Club Lions. Les élèves qui participent à l'événement du Club Lions se classent chaque année parmi les trois premiers.  
  • Madame Walsh est membre fondatrice du School Development Team, qui a mis sur pied des activités pour aider les élèves à développer des capacités d'interaction et de collaboration. Elle était également membre du Guidance Advisory Team et a contribué à l’élaboration d'un programme d'orientation des élèves, d'un programme de mentorat ainsi que d'un plan et d'une politique d'intervention à la suite d'événements tragiques.

Commentaires élogieux 

« Il y a tellement de choses dans ma vie que je dois à Madame Walsh. Elle représente la constance dans ma vie, elle est toujours là afin d’écouter, d’ aider, d’inspirer et d’appuyer et pour cela je lui en suis extrêmement reconnaissant. Sa gentillesse, sa générosité et sa passion pour ce qu'elle fait sont extraordinaires; c'est une belle personne et une formidable enseignante. »

- Un élève

« Madame Walsh n'était non seulement une enseignante et une spécialiste dans son domaine de l’art oratoire, elle était une motivatrice, une mentore et une confidente pour [ma fille]. (…) S'il n'y avait pas eu quelqu'un comme Madame Walsh dans sa vie, je ne sais pas ce qu'elle serait devenue. »

- Un parent

Date de modification :