Archived — Rhonda Exner

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: Saskatchewan

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Canora Junior Elementary School
P.O. Box 1150
Canora, SK S0A 0L0

Principal: Rod Steciuk
School Tel.: 306-563-6511
School Fax: 306-563-4929
School Email: rsteciuk@mail.gssd.ca
School Website: www.cjes.gssd.ca

Subjects and grades taught: English Language Arts for Kindergarten to grade 4

Teaching approach

As you flip through a Saturday morning edition of the Canora Courier, it’s not unlikely that you’ll stumble upon an article written by one of Rhonda Exner’s students. Ms. Exner encourages independence but takes each student’s level and needs into consideration. Staff, students, parents and grandparents alike rally around Ms. Exner’s creativity and resourcefulness when it comes to literacy and writing.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Ms. Exner’s students regularly participate in the Saskatchewan Young Writers Contest and several have won to date. Ms. Exner also encourages students to write articles for the local paper. They seek out information, get their ideas on paper, self and peer edit before having her approve their work.
  • Ms. Exner teamed up with the public library and started an initiative whereby each family receives a library card. Many students, who never had access to the library and never planned to, now use it on a regular basis. Students from different grades learn together in Ms. Exner’s Cougar Literacy Club, which isn’t graded, but is based on levels.
  • Literacy doesn’t just end with the books. Ms. Exner guides her students through online resources like www.raz-kids.com and www.starfall.com. She also developed written and video components for grade four students applying to sit on the School Community Council.

Rave Reviews:

"This year my youngest son is blessed to work with Mrs. Exner in Kindergarten. She has a unique way to inspire students and hold their attention despite the large class sizes. (…) The students greatly admire her and respect her which is shown by the way they interact with her and praise her."

Parent

"Mrs. Exner has played a huge role in building relationships that create trust. She and her ideas are welcome in all classrooms Mrs. Exner encourages teachers to take risks and use classroom strategies outside of their comfort level. Teachers know they have Mrs. Exner there for support and are willing to try new things."

Colleagues

Date modified:

Archivé — Rhonda Exner

Année : 2010-2011 – Province : Saskatchewan

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Canora Junior Elementary School
Case postale 1150
Canora (Saskatchewan) S0A 0L0

Directeur : Rod Steciuk
Téléphone de l'école : 306-563-6511
Télécopieur de l'école : 306-563-4929
Courriel de l'école : rsteciuk@mail.gssd.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.cjes.gssd.ca (en anglais seulement)

Années et matières : Arts du langage, en anglais de la maternelle à la 4e année

Méthode d'enseignement 

En feuilletant l'édition du samedi matin du Canora Courier, il n'est pas rare de tomber sur un article écrit par les élèves de Rhonda Exner. Madame Exner encourage l'autonomie, mais tient compte du niveau et des besoins de chacun des élèves. Le personnel, les élèves, les parents et même les grands-parents se mobilisent autour de la créativité et de la débrouillardise de Madame Exner lorsqu'il est question de littéracie et d'écriture.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Les élèves de Madame Exner participent régulièrement au Saskatchewan Young Writers Contest et plusieurs ont déjà gagné. Madame Exner encourage également les élèves à rédiger des articles pour le journal local. Ils cherchent des renseignements, mettent leurs idées sur papier, mettent leurs textes en forme eux-mêmes ou le font faire par leurs pairs avant de lui faire approuver leur travail.
  • Madame Exner s'est associée à la bibliothèque publique et lancé une initiative qui permet à chaque famille de recevoir une carte de la bibliothèque. Plusieurs élèves, qui n'ont jamais eu ni l'occasion ni l'intérêt de l'obtenir, l'utilisent maintenant régulièrement. Les élèves des différents niveaux étudient ensemble au sein du Cougar Literacy Club de Madame Exner, un club qui n'est pas noté, mais fondé sur les niveaux.
  • La littéracie n'est pas seulement une question de livres. Madame Exner oriente ses élèves vers des ressources en ligne telles que www.raz-kids.com et www.starfall.com. Elle a également élaboré des volets écrits et vidéo pour les élèves de 4e année qui souhaitent siéger au conseil de la communauté scolaire.

Commentaires élogieux 

« Cette année, mon fils cadet a la chance de travailler avec Madame Exner en maternelle. Elle a une façon unique d'inspirer les élèves et de retenir leur attention malgré la taille des classes. (...) Les élèves l'admirent et la respectent beaucoup et cela transparaît dans leur façon d'interagir avec elle et de la louanger. »

- Un parent

« Madame Exner a joué un rôle déterminant dans l'établissement de relations qui favorisent la confiance. Elle et ses idées sont toujours les bienvenues dans toutes les classes. Madame Exner incite les enseignants à prendre des risques et à recourir à des stratégies d'enseignement hors de leur zone de confort. Les enseignants savent qu'ils ont son soutien et sont prêts à essayer de nouvelles choses. »

- Des collègues

Date de modification :