Archived — Megan Webster

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: Québec

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

St. George's School of Montreal
3100 The Boulevard
Montréal, QC H3Y 1R9

Principal: James Officer
School Tel.: 514-937-9289
School Fax: 514-933-3621
School Email: james.officer@stgeorges.qc.ca
School Website: www.stgeorges.qc.ca/

Subjects and grades taught: English and Ethics for grades 7 and 8

Teaching approach

“The world is their textbook,” says Megan Webster of her students and her approach to teaching. Passionate about community development, Ms. Webster does not limit her teaching to the classroom. She gets students involved in real issues and real organizations and with unwavering enthusiasm and positive energy, she shows them ways to identify problems, find solutions, take initiative and work safely. Students end up having thought extensively about helping out, positions of power and how to use it, leadership and teamwork.

Outstanding achievements:

  • In 2009, Ms. Webster led her grade 9 class in the creation of a documentary film called Life in the Open Prison. Students interviewed survivors of the Cambodian genocide and the intent of the film was to post it as content to the www.Citizenshift.org, a website devoted to the creation of media for social activism. Public screenings of the film were held at schools, cegeps and universities around Montreal, as well as at the National Film Board. Check it out at: www.citizenshift.org
  • Ms. Webster developed and coordinates the Community Service Learning Pods as part of the volunteering requirement for students. In multi-grade ‘pods’ of 5-10 members, students participate in the life of a community organization. They are led by a trained parent-volunteer and have the opportunity to engage with organizations as workers, educators and advocates.

Rave reviews

"In this, my 39th year of working in schools, I must say that Ms. Webster is amongst the most effective and innovative teachers with whom I have had the pleasure to work."

Principal

"Ms. Webster taught me English last year in Grade 10, and the Grade 7s and 8s lucked out and got her this year. We had hoped we’d get her in Grade 11… What I liked best about how she teaches is that she is very clear but, also, she loves what she is teaching. Ms. Webster is a very special teacher."

Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Megan Webster

Année : 2010-2011 – Province : Québec

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

St. George's School of Montreal
3100, The Boulevard
Montréal (Québec) H3Y 1R9

Directeur : James Officer
Téléphone de l'école : 514-937-9289
Télécopieur de l'école : 514-933-3621
Courriel de l'école : james.officer@stgeorges.qc.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.stgeorges.qc.ca/ (en anglais seulement)

Années et matières : Anglais et éthique en 7e et 8e années

Méthode d'enseignement 

« Leur manuel, c'est le monde » affirme Megan Webster lorsqu'elle parle de ses élèves et de sa méthode d'enseignement. Passionnée de développement communautaire, Madame Webster ne se limite pas à sa classe pour enseigner. Elle fait participer les élèves à de véritables enjeux et à de véritables organisations et, avec son enthousiasme inébranlable et son énergie positive, elle leur montre des moyens de cerner les problèmes, de trouver des solutions, de prendre l'initiative et de travailler en toute sécurité. Les élèves finissent par réfléchir longuement à la façon d'apporter leur aide, aux situations de pouvoir et à la façon de s'en servir, au leadership et au travail d'équipe. 

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • En 2009, Madame Webster a amené sa classe de 9e année à créer un film documentaire fondé sur des entrevues avec des survivants du génocide cambodgien et intitulé Life in the Open Prison. Les élèves visaient à mettre le contenu du film sur le site www.Citizenshift.org, un site Web consacré à la création de médias sur l'activisme social. Des projections publiques du film ont eu lieu dans des écoles, des cégeps et des universités de la région de Montréal, de même qu'à l'Office national du film. Pour le voir : www.citizenshift.org
  • Madame Webster a élaboré et coordonné le Community Service Learning Pods dans le cadre du volet de bénévolat obligatoire des élèves. Des groupes de 5 à 10 élèves de différents niveaux ont participé à la vie d'un organisme communautaire. Les élèves qui étaient dirigés par un parent bénévole expérimenté ont ainsi eu l'occasion de participer à ces organismes comme travailleurs, éducateurs et porte-parole.

Commentaires élogieux 

« Je dois dire que Madame Webster fait partie des enseignants les plus efficaces et innovateurs avec qui j'ai eu le plaisir de travailler au cours de mes 39 années de carrière dans des écoles. »

- Le directeur

« Madame Webster m'a enseigné l'anglais l'an dernier en 10e année et, cette année, ce sont les élèves de 7e et de 8e années qui ont la chance de l'avoir. Nous espérions l'avoir en 11e année… Ce que j'ai le plus aimé de son enseignement, c'est qu'elle est très claire, mais aussi qu'elle aime sa matière. Madame Webster est une enseignante très spéciale. »

- Un élève

Date de modification :