Archived — Carmen Gassi

Year: 2012 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Carmen Gassi

White Oaks Secondary School
1330 Montclair Drive
Oakville, Ontario L6H 1Z5

Principal: John Stieva
School Tel.: 905–845–5200
School email: stievaj@hdsb.ca
School website: http://wossweb.com

Video Profile

Subjects and grades taught: Music and computers for grades 11 to 12, and instrumental music for grades 9 to 12

"What's the point of practicing with a band if you never perform?"

Carmen Gassi

Caution: this music teacher's passion for all things musical is contagious. Question: In what parallel world do students line up to get to class before 7 am? Answer: In Carmen Gassi's magical world of music and performance! In addition to running over eight different school ensembles, Gassi dedicates himself to providing countless opportunities for his students to thrive.

Teaching Approach

Gassi maintains a professional atmosphere in his classroom. He regards his students as young adults who have something to offer and listens to their thoughts and ideas with respect. One of his trademarks is being able to critique himself and pinpoint his own mistakes. Gassi recognizes the importance of digital media, and incorporates it into his lessons to teach his students the skills they need to make music in and for the 21st century.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Many of Gassi's students go on to play in other ensembles or orchestras once they've completed his classes. With a mandatory ensemble performance as an integral part of his courses, new musicians learn to collaborate, play in small groups and play as part of a larger ensemble. Gassi's senior concert band is so good that they can play at level B500—the second highest academic level possible (www.youtube.com: search "Shattering Sparks by Tom de Haes Gassi").
  • Gassi has developed a practice model to ensure that musicians receive the attention they need to develop in their groups; in addition to individual practice, Gassi has sectional practices and full band practices. Under Gassi's direction, the music program at White Oaks Secondary School became the largest in the school board and his groups have earned standing at national festivals on a regular basis, including at Musicfest—the highest national high school competition in Canada.
  • In addition to ensemble and band practices, Gassi seamlessly integrates ICT into the music program and has students creating their own music for old commercials or movies.

Rave Reviews

"I am now aspiring to become a music teacher, and hope to influence students' lives as profoundly as Mr. Gassi influenced mine. Thanks to Mr. Gassi's outstanding example, it is now time that I begin to build and cross my own bridge."

Former student

"Mr. Gassi is a fantastic teacher because he truly believes in what he is teaching. He is a man who eats, sleeps and breathes music. For him to share this love with us is so motivating! (…) This is a man who changed my life, and the lives of many other students. He is a man that anyone would be blessed to know."

Student

Date modified:

Archivé — Carmen Gassi

Année : 2012 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un certificat d'excellence

Carmen Gassi

White Oaks Secondary School
1330, promenade Montclair
Oakville (Ontario) L6H 1Z5

Directeur : John Stieva
Téléphone de l'école : 905-845-5200
Courriel de l'école : stievaj@hdsb.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://wossweb.com (anglais seulement)

Portrait Vidéo

Années et matières : Musique et informatique pour les 11e et 12e années, et musique instrumentale, de la 9e à la 12e année

« À quoi bon répéter au sein d'un groupe de musique si vous ne vous présentez jamais sur scène?! »

Carmen Gassi

Attention : La passion de cet enseignant pour tout ce qui touche à la musique est contagieuse. Question : Dans quel monde parallèle les élèves font-ils la file pour arriver en classe avant 7 h? Réponse : Dans le monde magique de la musique et des prestations de Carmen Gassi! En plus de diriger plus de huit ensembles musicaux différents à l'école, M. Gassi s'emploie à offrir d'innombrables possibilités à ses élèves.

Méthode d'enseignement

M. Gassi crée une ambiance professionnelle dans sa classe. Il considère ses élèves comme de jeunes adultes qui ont quelque chose à offrir, et écoute leurs pensées et leurs idées avec respect. L'une de ses marques de commerce est sa capacité de s'autocritiquer et de relever ses erreurs. M. Gassi reconnaît l'importance des médias numériques et les intègre dans ses leçons pour enseigner à ses élèves les compétences qu'ils ont besoin pour faire de la musique au et pour XXIe siècle.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Une fois qu'ils ont terminé leurs études, un grand nombre des élèves de M. Gassi poursuivent leur route dans d'autres ensembles musicaux ou orchestres. Comme l'un des éléments essentiels de ses cours est l'obligation de donner une prestation, les nouveaux musiciens apprennent à collaborer, à jouer en petits groupes et à faire partie d'un plus grand ensemble musical. Les membres du groupe de musique de niveau supérieur de M. Gassi sont si bon qu'ils peuvent jouer au niveau B500, soit le deuxième niveau scolaire le plus élevé (www.youtube.com : entrer « Shattering Sparks by Tom de Haes Gassi ») - site en anglais seulement.
  • M. Gassi a élaboré un modèle de répétition pour s'assurer que les musiciens reçoivent l'attention dont ils ont besoin pour se perfectionner dans leurs groupes; en plus de répétitions individuelles, M. Gassi organise des répétitions par section et par l'ensemble de l'orchestre. Sous la direction de M. Gassi, le programme de musique à l'école secondaire de White Oaks est devenu le plus important au sein du conseil scolaire, et ses groupes ont mérité régulièrement des honneurs à des festivals nationaux, notamment au Musicfest — le plus grand concours national d'écoles secondaires au Canada.
  • Outre les répétitions des ensembles musicaux et des groupes, M. Gassi intègre de façon transparente les TIC dans le programme de musique et permet à ses élèves de créer leur propre musique pour de vieux films ou de vieux commerciaux.

Commentaires élogieux

« Je souhaite maintenant devenir professeur de musique et j'espère avoir une aussi grande influence sur la vie des élèves que M. Gassi en a eue sur la mienne. L'exemple exceptionnel de M. Gassi me motive aujourd'hui à poursuivre mes propres objectifs. »

Un ancien élève

« M. Gassi est un enseignant fantastique parce qu'il croit vraiment dans ce qu'il enseigne. C'est un homme qui ne vit que pour la musique. Ce qui le motive, c'est de partager cette passion avec nous! (…) C'est un homme qui a changé ma vie, et la vie de nombreux autres élèves. C'est un homme que tous auraient avantage à connaître! »

Un élève

Date de modification :