Glyn Davies

Year: 2015 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Glyn Davies

Anderson Elementary School
9460 Alberta Road
Richmond, British Columbia V6Y 1T6

Principal: Mrs. Pamela Essex
School telephone: 604-668-6355
School email: anderson@sd38.bc.ca
School website: Anderson Elementary School

Subjects and grades taught: All subjects for Grades 6-7

Glyn Davies' goal is to make each school year the "best ever". He accomplishes his goal by making learning enjoyable for his students and by passionately presenting topics of study that relate to students' personal interests and passions.

Teaching approach

Mr. Davies' teaching style comprises a combination of leadership and hands-on education; students facilitate the learning in his classroom, which allows them to be empowered and invested in their education experience.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Sole Canadian recipient of the 2013 Amgen Award for Science Teaching Excellence, one of nine awards given out in North America;
  • His students have transformed empty rooms into international space stations, solar systems, aquariums, jungles, dragster racing arenas, and more. They take on roles such as marine biologists, astronauts, astrophysicists and engineers and proceed to passionately teach countless visitors;
  • Invited to tour schools in Beijing, China to share inspirational messages to thousands of students;
  • He was chosen by the BC government to write lessons about Terry Fox for elementary students and received the Plaque of Recognition for service rendered to the Terry Fox 2014 Humanitarian National Award Program;
  • Recipient of the Richmond Outstanding Community (U-ROC) Award;
  • Used technology and social media to teach and reach the larger community. Via Skype, Davies' students gave a virtual tour of a coral reef to a Grade 4 class and used Twitter to invite the public to visit educational projects hosted at local malls.

Rave reviews

Mr. Davies' philosophy is to inspire and enable students to go beyond confined learning—to purposefully research, design, create, share, and make the world a better place! Thirty years ago, Glyn Davies chose to set a goal of becoming a master teacher to inspire, value, and empower students to passionately become experts at whatever subject they study, to live with purpose, and share the thrill of bringing learning to life.

Colleague

As an ambassador for education, and the pedagogical care for children, Mr. Davies, is by any measure, a master teacher.

Administrator

When I displayed interests in writing, drawing and making films, and other different ways of doing assignments, Mr. Davies encouraged them all and built new assignments around them. Those lessons about responsibility, self-discipline and compassion have stayed with me.

Former student
Date modified:

Glyn Davies

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie‑Britannique

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Glyn Davies

Anderson Elementary School
9460, rue Alberta
Richmond (Colombie‑Britannique)  V6Y 1T6

Directrice : Mme Pamela Essex
Téléphone de l'école : 604‑668‑6355
Courriel de l'école : anderson@sd38.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : Anderson Elementary School

Années et matières : Toutes les matières en 6e et 7e années

Glyn Davies vise à faire de chaque année scolaire la « meilleure qui soit ». Il atteint son but en rendant l'apprentissage agréable pour ses élèves et en présentant avec passion des sujets d'étude qui intéressent et passionnent personnellement les élèves.

Méthode d'enseignement

Le style d'enseignement de M. Davies est une combinaison de leadership et d'enseignement pratique. Ce sont les élèves qui facilitent l'apprentissage dans sa classe, ce qui leur permet de se sentir libre d'agir et de s'engager dans leur propre éducation.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il est le seul lauréat canadien du 2013 Amgen Award for Science Teaching Excellence, l'un des neuf prix remis en Amérique du Nord;
  • Ses élèves ont transformé des locaux vides en stations spatiales internationales, en systèmes solaires, en aquariums, en jungles, en pistes d'accélération, etc. Ils ont joué des rôles de biologistes marins, d'astronautes, d'astrophysiciens et d'ingénieurs et ont enseigné avec passion à d'innombrables visiteurs;
  • Il a été invité dans des écoles à Beijing, en Chine, pour transmettre des messages inspirants à des milliers d'élèves;
  • Il a été retenu par le gouvernement de la C.‑B. pour rédiger des leçons sur Terry Fox à l'intention des élèves du primaire et a reçu une plaque de reconnaissance pour services rendus dans le cadre du Programme du Prix Humanitaire Terry Fox de 2014;
  • Il a reçu le prix Richmond Outstanding Community (U­ROC);
  • Il s'est servi de la technologie et des médias sociaux pour enseigner et pour atteindre l'ensemble de la collectivité. Grâce à Skype, les élèves de M. Davies ont présenté à une classe de 4e année une visite virtuelle d'un récif de corail et utilisé Twitter pour inviter le public à venir voir des projets éducatifs présentés dans des centres commerciaux locaux.

Commentaires élogieux

La philosophie de M. Davies consiste à inciter et à habiliter les élèves à dépasser les limites de l'apprentissage – à délibérément chercher, concevoir, créer, partager et rendre le monde meilleur! Il y a trente ans, Glyn Davies s'est fixé pour objectif de devenir un expert pédagogue qui inspire, valorise et habilite les élèves à devenir des spécialistes passionnés à quelque matière qu'ils choisissent d'étudier, à vivre leur vie en se donnant un but et à partager le plaisir de donner vie à l'apprentissage.

Un collègue

En sa qualité d'ambassadeur de l'éducation, et de l'encadrement pédagogique des enfants, M. Davies est en tous points un expert pédagogue.

Un administrateur

Lorsque j'ai manifesté de l'intérêt pour l'écriture, le dessin et le film, et pour d'autres moyens de faire mes devoirs, M. Davis m'a toujours encouragé et a conçu de nouveaux devoirs en fonction de ces champs d'intérêt. Ces leçons sur la responsabilité, l'autodiscipline et la compassion ne m'ont jamais quitté.

Un ancien élève
Date de modification :