Rick Hubert

Year: 2014 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Rick Hubert

Smithers Secondary School
4408 3rd Avenue
Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0

Principal: Mr. Jaksun Grice
School telephone: 250-847-2231
School email: jaksun.grice@sd54.bc.ca
School website: Smithers Secondary School

Subjects and grades taught: Metal Work for Grades 8-12

Rick Hubert's reputation as an energetic and charismatic teacher is one reason students flock to his classroom. Whether they are newbies or shop veterans, they know they will be exposed to a variety of rewarding and challenging school projects.

Teaching approach

In Mr. Hubert's classroom, the learning experience is always personalized to cater to the needs and skill set of each student. By exposing them to the wider community, he has shown his students the importance and the benefits of helping those in need and of improving the world around them.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Received $11,000 in grants from BC Hydro, Northern Healthy Living, TD Friends of the Environment Foundation, and School District #54 to build a year round geodesic dome greenhouse and biomeiler (120 cubic meter composting heater).
  • Received $1,000 from Ground Breakers, a local garden group that supports students' gardening projects during the summer such as selling their produce at local farmers' markets;
  • Designed and built a Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) plasma cutter/milling machine with recycled materials which allows students to cut their own designs in the classroom;
  • Involved staff in school-wide projects (e.g., promoting the growing of microgreens in classrooms and presenting to colleagues on how to use them);
  • Participated in professional development activities by sharing his expertise with other groups (e.g., collaborating on soil analysis samples with Amish scientists in Middleton, Ohio, and presenting at Northwest Community College Green Initiatives).

Rave reviews

What really makes Mr. Hubert a unique educator is that he has a very progressive vision, and he possesses the skills and knowledge to pursue his ideas and educate others about improvements that can and should be made.

Colleague

Mr. Hubert's Metalwork classes were the few classes that kept our son attending school when he might have otherwise quit high school altogether. He supported and encouraged our son's enthusiasm for metal fabrication and welding.

Parent
Date modified:

Rick Hubert

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie‑Britannique

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Rick Hubert

Smithers Secondary School
4408, 3e avenue
Smithers (Colombie‑Britannique)  V0J 2N0

Directeur : M. Jaksun Grice
Téléphone de l'école : 250‑847‑2231
Courriel de l'école : jaksun.grice@sd54.bc.ca">jaksun.grice@sd54.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.sd54.bc.ca

Années et matières : Ferronnerie de la 8e à la 12e année

La réputation d'enseignant énergique et charismatique de Rick Hubert est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles les élèves affluent pour être dans sa classe. Qu'ils soient novices ou chevronnés, ils savent qu'ils auront droit à une panoplie de projets scolaires enrichissants et stimulants.

Méthode d'enseignement

Dans la classe de M. Hubert, l'expérience d'apprentissage est toujours personnalisée pour répondre aux besoins et aux compétences de chacun des élèves. En les exposant à l'ensemble de la communauté, il a montré à ses élèves l'importance d'aider les gens dans le besoin et d'améliorer le monde qui les entoure, et les bienfaits qui en découlent.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a reçu 11 000 $ en subventions de BC Hydro, de Northern Healthy Living, de la Fondation TD des amis de l'environnement et du district scolaire 54 pour construire un dôme géodésique quatre saisons abritant une serre et un biomeiler (un récupérateur de chaleur de compostage de 120 mètres cubes);
  • Il a reçu 1 000 $ de Ground Breakers, un groupe de jardinage local qui appuie les projets de jardinage des élèves durant l'été, notamment en vendant leurs produits dans des marchés fermiers locaux;
  • Il a conçu et construit avec des matériaux recyclés une fraiseuse-coupeuse au plasma à commande numérique par ordinateur qui permet à ses élèves de couper leurs propres créations en classe;
  • Il a fait participer le personnel aux projets de l'école, notamment en promulguant la culture de verdurettes dans les classes et en présentant aux collègues des façons de les utiliser;
  • Il a participé à des activités de perfectionnement professionnel en partageant son expérience avec d'autres groupes, notamment en collaborant à l'échantillonnage d'analyse de sol avec des scientifiques amish à Middleton, en Ohio, et en faisant des présentations dans le cadre des Northwest Community College Green Initiatives.

Commentaires élogieux

Ce qui fait de M. Hubert un éducateur unique, c'est sa vision très progressiste et le fait qu'il possède les compétences et les connaissances pour aller au bout de ses idées et pour enseigner aux autres les améliorations qui peuvent et devraient être apportées.

Une collègue

N'eut été des cours de ferronnerie M. Hubert, notre fils aurait sans doute quitté l'école prématurément. Il a encouragé et appuyé l'enthousiasme que notre fils avait pour la transformation de métaux et la soudure.

Un parent
Date de modification :