Gordon Billard

Year: 2015 – Territory: Nunavut

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Gordon Billard

John Arnalukjuak High School
P. O. Box 450
Arviat, Nunavut X0C 0E0

Principal: Judy Connor
School telephone: 867-857-4223
School email: jconnor19@hotmail.com
School website: N/A

Subjects and grades taught: English, Drama, Photography, Audio Visual Production for Grades 9-12

Gordon Billard began his teaching career in Newfoundland, moving to Arviat, Nunavut in 2001. Fourteen years later, he is still there, still producing plays in one of Canada's most fascinating, and inspiring regions. Despite the many challenges that come with teaching in a remote, fly-in school in Northern Canada, he is praised by his colleagues for "achieving miracles" with his students. He helps them find their sense of belonging and their unique voice.

Teaching approach

Overall, holistic. Specifically, based on experiential learning, differentiation of instruction, cultural inclusion, linguistic and language-focused instruction.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Assisted in the creation of a community television station within the school under the auspices of the Arviat Film Society (founding member). Students plan, shoot, edit and upload video, cover local stories for broadcast and provide visiting filmmakers with production assistance;
  • Participated in national competitions such as Skills Canada (TV/Video Production), E-Spirit Aboriginal Business Plan Competition and the National Improv Games.
  • Facilitated the creation of a "Mac lab" with 11 iMacs and video-editing software despite geographical challenges such as low bandwidth and high shipping and freight charges;
  • Encouraged and facilitated the translation of scripts and materials from English to Inuktitut to provide greater access to information and to make theatre productions more accessible to more unilingual members of the community;
  • Directed and produced new plays responding to current social issues in the school and community. The plays received a public commendation on the floor of the Nunavut legislature by the presiding premier, Eva Aariak;
  • His students recently created 5 anti-bullying videos and 4 award-winning videos for NU Education Week.

Rave reviews

Not many teachers, especially in the North, see their students succeed like Mr. Billard has and still support them in their lives. It was clear when he moved to Arviat that he loved the community and its culture and people.

Former student

Through the local Film Society, the students have met people from around the world via video conferencing and through visits to the community. He helps foster imagination and creativity in students, helping them find their way in this modern era.

Colleague
Date modified:

Gordon Billard

Année : 2015 – Territoire : Nunavut

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Gordon Billard

John Arnalukjuak High School
Case postale 450
Arviat (Nunavut)  X0C 0E0

Directrice : Judy Connor
Téléphone de l'école : 867‑857‑4223
Courriel de l'école : jconnor19@hotmail.com
Site Web de l'école : N/A

Années et matières : Anglais, art dramatique, photographie et production audiovisuelle de la 9e à la 12e année

Gordon Billard a débuté sa carrière d'enseignant à Terre‑Neuve, se déplaçant à Arviat, au Nunavut en 2001. Quatorze ans plus tard, il est toujours là et continue de produire des pièces dans l'une des régions les plus fascinantes et les plus inspirantes du Canada. En dépit des nombreux défis que suscite l'enseignement dans une école éloignée, accessible uniquement par avion, du nord du Canada, il « accomplit des miracles » avec ses élèves, selon ses collègues. Il les aide à développer un sentiment d'appartenance et leur propre voix.

Méthode d'enseignement

Holistique, en général; fondée sur l'apprentissage expérimental, la différenciation de l'enseignement, l'inclusion culturelle et l'enseignement linguistique et axé sur la langue, en particulier.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a participé avec l'école à la création d'une station de télévision communautaire sous l'égide de la Arviat Film Society (membre fondateur). Les élèves planifient, filment, montent et téléchargent des vidéos, couvrent des événements locaux aux fins de diffusion et apportent aux cinéastes étrangers une aide à la production;
  • Il a participé à des concours nationaux, tels Compétences Canada (Production télé/vidéo), Concours de plans d'affaires pour les jeunes Autochtones E‑Spirit et National Improv Games;
  • Il a facilité la création d'un « Mac lab » équipé de 11 iMacs et d'un logiciel d'édition vidéo, malgré les défis géographiques comme la bande passante étroite et les coûts élevés d'expédition et de transport;
  • Il a encouragé et facilité la traduction de scripts et de documents de l'anglais à l'inuktitut afin d'accroître l'accès à l'information et de rendre les productions théâtrales plus accessibles à davantage de membres unilingues de la collectivité;
  • Il a dirigé et produit de nouvelles pièces traitant de questions sociales actuelles à l'école et dans la collectivité. Les pièces ont reçu des éloges publics à l'Assemblée législative du Nunavut de la part de la première ministre Eva Aariak;
  • Ses élèves ont récemment créé 5 vidéos de lutte contre l'intimidation et 4 vidéos primées pour la Semaine de l'éducation du NU.

Commentaires élogieux

Il y a peu d'enseignants, en particulier dans le Nord, qui, comme M. Billard, voient leurs élèves réussir. Et ils continuent de les appuyer dans leur vie. Il était évident lorsqu'il est arrivé à Arviat qu'il aimait la collectivité, sa culture et ses gens.

Un ancien élève

Grâce à la Société du film locale, les élèves ont rencontré des gens de partout dans le monde par vidéoconférence et dans le cadre de visites dans la collectivité. Il a contribué à favoriser l'imagination et la créativité chez les élèves, en les aidant à trouver leur voie dans cette ère moderne.

Une collègue
Date de modification :