Corina MacDonald

Year: 2015 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Cremona School
206 3rd Street East
Cremona, Alberta T0M 0R0

Principal: Mrs. Joanna Harvey
School telephone: 403-637-3856
School email: jharvey@chinooksedge.ab.ca
School website: www.cremonaschool.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 8-12, Mathematics

Teaching approach

What do candy bars have to do with math? Mrs. Corina MacDonald teaches her students that math is relevant in all aspects of life. She demonstrates this theory with her fun and creative class projects like designing the perfect candy bar wrapper using geometry measurements and filtering statistics from government websites to determine how students can live the "Canadian dream".

Outstanding achievements:

  • Student achievement for her top-level math classes are consistently 10-15% higher than the provincial average;
  • Participant in the provincial team that set the standards for new Alberta Mathematics 30-2 curriculum;
  • Designed an "Information Processing" course that focuses on improving digital skills to prepare students for post-secondary employment.

Rave reviews

Mrs. MacDonald has a talent to demystify math concepts while working with her students and guiding them to approach problems from different angles. Her students feel valued, listened to and understand that there is no such thing as a 'stupid question' in her classroom.

Parent

A person's worth can often be measured by how easily they could be replaced within an organization and while it is a cliché to say that Corina MacDonald is irreplaceable, it is undoubtedly true that no single person would be able to take on the roles in Cremona School that Corina has filled over the last several years.

Principal
Date modified:

Corina MacDonald

Année : 2015 – Province : Alberta

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

Cremona School
206, 3e rue Est
Cremona (Alberta) T0M 0R0

Directrice : Joanna Harvey
Téléphone de l'école : 403‑637‑3856
Courriel de l'école : jharvey@chinooksedge.ab.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.cremonaschool.ca

Années et matières : de la 8e à la 12e année, mathématiques

Méthode d'enseignement

Quel rapport existe‑t‑il entre une tablette de chocolat et les mathématiques? Corina MacDonald enseigne à ses élèves que les mathématiques ont un lien avec tous les aspects de la vie. Elle fait la démonstration de cette théorie grâce à ses projets de classe amusants et créatifs, comme la conception de l'emballage idéal pour une tablette de chocolat à l'aide de mesures géométriques et de l'analyse de statistiques tirées de sites Web gouvernementaux pour déterminer comment les élèves peuvent vivre le « rêve canadien ».

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • La réussite scolaire de ses classes de mathématiques de haut niveau est constamment supérieure de 10 à 15 % à la moyenne provinciale;
  • Membre de l'équipe provinciale qui établit les normes du nouveau programme d'études en mathématiques 30‑2 en Alberta;
  • Elle a conçu un cours de traitement de l'information qui vise à améliorer les compétences numériques pour préparer les élèves au monde du travail.

Commentaires élogieux

Mme MacDonald a le don de démystifier les concepts mathématiques en travaillant étroitement avec ses élèves et en les guidant afin qu'ils abordent les problèmes sous différents angles. Ses élèves se sentent appréciés et écoutés et savent qu'il n'existe pas de « question stupide » à poser dans sa classe.

Un parent

La valeur d'une personne peut souvent être mesurée en fonction de la facilité avec laquelle elle peut être remplacée au sein d'une organisation. Bien qu'il puisse sembler cliché de dire que Corina MacDonald est irremplaçable, il est indéniable que personne ne pourrait assumer les divers rôles au sein de l'école Cremona comme la fait Corina au cours des dernières années.

La directrice
Date de modification :