Doug David

Year: 2015 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

École Puntledge Park Elementary School
401 Willemar Avenue
Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 3L3

Principal: Mr. Kevin Reimer
School telephone: 250-334-4495
School email: kevin.reimer@sd71.bc.ca
School website: http://www.ecolepuntledge.ca/

Subjects and Grades Taught: Grades 5-6, Elementary Curriculum

Teaching approach

Mr. Doug David doesn't teach "outside the box". Instead he rebuilds the box and creates a curriculum that emphasizes developing compassion and student engagement. He stresses that no matter how you start off in life, everyone can take action to make the world a better place.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Helped develop the I CAN project where students identify a real-world problem in their community and then find ways to resolve it. Projects included visiting seniors homes, community clean ups and volunteering at local soup kitchens. The popularity of the projects culminated in a district wide showcase;
  • Invited to be the founding Partner for Design for Change Canada to provide support and information for school districts to develop their own I CAN projects;
  • Represented Canada at the "Be The Change" Conference in India during September 2013, where he shared his ideas and experiences with educators and students on creating positive change in the world;
  • Collaborated with a team of teachers to develop a "Curriculum for Caring" as a Professional Learning Community at his school. The curriculum's focus is to provide opportunities in day-to-day lessons to teach the value of service, empathy and compassion to youth;
  • Regularly asked to speak on his projects at conferences (e.g., keynote speaker at the Vancouver Island University Educational Leadership Research Conference).

Rave reviews

What stands out about Doug is his sensitivity. It goes beyond empathy. Doug possesses a deep understanding of his students' need to feel connected, to find their place at school and to feel deeply rooted.

School Counsellor

Too often excellence is limited or quarantined by fellow teachers, who find themselves threatened by a colleague's success. But in this case, school and district colleagues have been attracted to Doug's work, open to learning with him side by side, willing to jump in and share professional vulnerability to become successful collaborators in the adaptation of new learning methodologies and student assessment.

Professor
Date modified:

Doug David

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie‑Britannique

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

École Puntledge Park Elementary School
401, avenue Willemar
Courtenay (Colombie‑Britannique) V9N 3L3

Directeur : Kevin Reimer
Téléphone de l'école : 250‑334‑4495
Courriel de l'école : kevin.reimer@sd71.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.ecolepuntledge.ca/

Années et matières : 5e et 6e année, toutes les matières

Méthode d'enseignement

Doug David ne sort pas des sentiers battus. Au lieu, il réinvente de nouveaux sentiers et crée un programme d'études qui met l'accent sur la compassion et l'engagement des élèves. Il souligne que quelle que soit la façon que vous commencez dans la vie, on peut tous participer à la création d'un monde meilleur.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A aidé à développer le projet « I CAN » les élèves choisissent un problème concret au sein de leur collectivité pour ensuite trouver des solutions. Ainsi, parmi les projets, on comptait  des visites à des foyers pour personnes âgées, des nettoyages communautaires et du bénévolat dans des soupes populaires. Les projets ont même gagné en notoriété à l'échelle du district;
  • A été invité à être membre fondateur de « Design for Change Canada » pour offrir du soutien et de l'information afin que les districts scolaires puissent élaborer leurs propres projets  « I CAN »;
  • A représenté le Canada à la conférence « Be The Change » en Inde en septembre 2013, il a fait part de ses idées et expériences avec les enseignants et les élèves sur la création d'un changement positif au sein du monde;
  • A collaboré avec une équipe d'enseignants à établir un « programme axé sur l'empathie » en tant que communauté d'apprentissage professionnelle (CAP) à son école. Le programme vise à offrir des occasions au cours des leçons quotidiennes pour enseigner aux jeunes la valeur d'un service, de l'empathie et de la compassion;
  • Est régulièrement demandé pour parler de ses projets à des conférences (p. ex., conférencier à la Vancouver Island University Educational Leadership Research Conference).

Commentaires élogieux

Ce que l'on remarque chez Doug est sa sensibilité, qui ne se limite pas seulement à l'empathie. Doug comprend très bien le besoin de ses élèves de tisser des liens, de trouver leur place au sein de l'école et de se sentir fortement enracinés.

Un conseiller scolaire

Trop souvent, l'excellence est limitée ou confinée par les collègues enseignants, qui se sentent menacés par la réussite d'un collègue. Cependant, dans le cas présent, les collègues de l'école et du district ont été attirés par ce qu'accomplit Doug, tout en étant ouverts à apprendre à ses côtés, à faire le saut et à faire part de leur vulnérabilité sur le plan professionnel pour devenir de bons collaborateurs dans l'adaptation de nouvelles méthodologies d'apprentissage et d'évaluation des élèves.

Un enseignant
Date de modification :