Jeffrey Dickson

Year: 2014 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Langley Secondary School
21405 56th Avenue
Langley, British Columbia V2Y 2N1

Principal: Mrs. Dawne Tomlinson
School telephone: 604-534-4171
School email: datomlinson@sd35.bc.ca
School website: www.langleysecondary.com

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 11-12, Plumbing, Piping Dual Credit Accelerated Credit Enrolment in Industry Training (ACE-IT) Program

Teaching approach

With 54% of the students entering the ACE-IT program considered at risk (learning disabled, behaviourally challenged, or at risk for dropping out of school), Mr. Jeffrey Dickson is tasked with making a very technical program accessible for students who have been disengaged with school. For him, teaching is about stepping back and overseeing his students' learning experience; his teaching style is about presenting the material in ways all learners find accessible.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Implemented Kurzweil Learning Assistance Reading program, a reading software for students with learning disabilities, into his classroom and shop class which allows students to self-direct their own learning and not rely on others to interpret lessons;
  • His high school program teaching materials and strategies have been adopted for the adult program at the British Columbia Institute of Technology;
  • Provided opportunities for his students to act as positive role models with their involvement in mentorship programs such Big Buddy and Trades in Action, which teaches younger students plumbing skills;
  • Contributed to plumbing section of the BC Ministry of Education's new course to get young people excited about careers in trades;
  • His program boasts a 96% graduation rate over the past five years.

Rave reviews

Because of the plumbing program, I'm actually working toward something. I went from Fs and skipping classes to being on the Honour Roll.

Plumbing Graduate

When you have a fancy computer with interactive software for each student, it is relatively easy to motivate students. When all you have is some steel piping and a few machines, it becomes much more dependent on the teacher to create a stimulating and innovative learning environment. I have observed these students transform into young men and women who believe in themselves and achieve beyond what anyone thought them capable of—including themselves.

Principal
Date modified:

Jeffrey Dickson

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie‑Britannique

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

Langley Secondary School
21405, 56e avenue
Langley (Colombie‑Britannique)  V2Y 2N1

Directrice : Dawne Tomlinson
Téléphone de l'école : 604-534-4171
Courriel de l'école : datomlinson@sd35.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.langleysecondary.com

Années et matières : 11e et 12e, plomberie, formation ACE‑IT en tuyauterie

Méthode d'enseignement

Avec 54 % des élèves entrant dans le programme ACE­IT et qui sont considérés à risque (en difficulté d'apprentissage, atteints de trouble de comportement ou à risque de décrocher de l'école), Jeffrey Dickson a la responsabilité de rendre un programme de très grande technicité accessible pour les élèves qui sont démotivés de l'école. Pour lui, enseigner signifie de prendre du recul et de superviser l'expérience d'apprentissage des élèves; il a comme méthode d'enseignement de présenter le matériel de façon à ce que tous les apprenants puissent y avoir accès.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A instauré le programme d'aide à la lecture Kurzweil, un logiciel de lecture pour les élèves ayant des troubles d'apprentissage, dans sa classe et dans son atelier qui permet aux élèves d'autogérer leur propre apprentissage et de ne pas se fier aux autres pour interpréter les leçons;
  • Son matériel et ses stratégies d'enseignement au niveau secondaire ont été adoptés pour le programme adulte offert à le British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT);
  • A donné à ses élèves l'occasion d'agir comme modèles positifs en participant à des programmes de mentorat comme Big Buddy et Trades in Action, qui enseignent aux plus jeunes élèves des connaissances en plomberie;
  • A contribué à la section sur la plomberie du nouveau cours du ministère de l'Éducation de la C.‑B. en vue d'encourager les jeunes à faire carrière dans le secteur des métiers;
  • Au cours des cinq dernières années, son programme affiche un taux d'obtention de diplôme de 96 %.

Commentaires élogieux

Grâce au programme de plomberie, j'ai maintenant un but. Auparavant, j'obtenais des F et je faisais l'école buissonnière; aujourd'hui, je suis inscrit au tableau d'honneur.

Un diplômé en plomberie

Lorsque vous avez un ordinateur dernier cri et des logiciels interactifs pour chaque élève, il est relativement facile de motiver les élèves. Lorsque tout ce que vous avez est quelques tuyaux et  machines, il revient à l'enseignant de créer un environnement d'apprentissage stimulant et novateur. J'ai observé ses élèves se transformer en jeunes hommes et en jeunes femmes qui croient en eux et dépassent les attentes de tout un chacun, et même leurs propres attentes.

La directrice
Date de modification :